Scytl Reviews | Glassdoor

Scytl Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Sílvia Caparrós
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Ghost town"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Scytl

    Pros

    I'm sure there are some. I know there used to be. Now, I'm not so sure.

    Cons

    No job security. They have had three massive layoffs in the past several months. Each time we were told it wouldn't happen again. Now no one believes anything management says. The office was growing as any place that is developing new stuff should. But they decided to lay off staff, send jobs to another country (Lima) with sub-par staff with minimal knowledge (we still have to do most of their work for them, or at the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn what a long-term strategy is. Always looking to squeeze every penny where you can and cut corners on products and services is NOT a way to run a company. No wonder the company is being SUED by a client.

    Scytl2015-09-18
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scytl

    Pros

    They hire good people to do the grunt work. Some of the most intelligent people I have ever worked with.

    Cons

    Horrible Management. Verbally abusive and unprofessional.They recently laid off over 40% of U.S. staff. They have no direction and are operating on a hope and a prayer. The benefits are very poor and are not in line with competitors.

    Advice to Management

    Get signed contracts before you staff up.

    Scytl2015-09-16
  3. Helpful (6)

    "good people, questionable management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Scytl full-time

      Pros

      They seem able to bring in good people Interesting work The office is pretty nice and they try to do things for morale

      Cons

      They can't keep people Most people in the U.S. have been with the company 12-18 months or less. The U.S. office had problems with headquarters trying to run things from long distance, so they said that in 2015 the US would have more autonomy but that has not held true.

      Scytl2015-08-06
    • Helpful (5)

      "Disaster."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Scytl full-time

      Pros

      Decent work/life balance but even that has been threatened.

      Cons

      Everything else should be listed here.

      Advice to Management

      Chose a few things and do them well instead of trying to be everything to everyone and failing.

      Scytl2015-08-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "New CEO is amazing!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Barcelona
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Scytl full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Scytl is a hectic company where things happen. Great colleagues and all are very committed. The company is open to new initiatives and I feel I get my voice heard in my position. The managers are very busy, but always with good intentions and you can always count on them when needed. The new CEO is very passionated about Scytl's mission, vission and it's people.

      Cons

      Intensive peaks can be difficult to cope with. Stressful environment at times. Not as agile as we would want to be, but probably getting better with the new CEO in charge.

      Advice to Management

      Communication and having a good company culture is always tricky. Make sure people in Operations feel they are being heard, recognized and being part of the same journey as you are. It's all about engagement and team work in the end.

      Scytl2019-04-16

      Scytl Response

      June 4, 2019General Manager

      Many thanks for such a positive review and your suggestions, we will take them into consideration. We also feel that we are in the right path, mainly because we have the right people and the best technology. More communication is indeed a must to convey the culture we want. We count ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "Integration is key"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Analyst in London, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Scytl full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - interesting market - global customer base

      Cons

      - too many acquisitions at once without proper integration plans - undersold the product - a self proclaimed product company that continually does projects

      Advice to Management

      have folks work IN the business while you work ON the business

      Scytl2019-05-01

      Scytl Response

      June 4, 2019General Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our company. All suggestions and advices are welcome and take into consideration.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Very Good Product, hurt by mismanagement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Scytl full-time

      Pros

      Leading product in an emerging market

      Cons

      Former CEO hurt the brand and the overall health of the workforce, but not his pocketbook. Financial health was poor resulting in inability to meet payroll some weeks - it is terrible for an employee to live week to week not knowing if his/her paycheck would be deposited. Commission structure for sales is terrible. Sell million$, make a few hundred. For a company that sells integrity, it isn't something they offer...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hopefully the new CEO (former counsel) will be a step in the right direction. She seems to have the right attitude and integrity, but it's probably too little, too late. The damage was already done by the former CEO and his senior team. The market is waiting in North America, just find real leadership (hint: start in Tampa).

      Scytl2019-04-30

      Scytl Response

      June 4, 2019General Manager

      Indeed, North America is a strategic market for us and the opportunity is just out there. Thanks for your advice.

    • Helpful (4)

      "Brilliant place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Scytl full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It is a company with a lot of talented people and a great working atmosphere in an international environment.- Nice offices in one the best streets of Barcelona city center.- It has really interesting and innovative products which allow you to work in challenging projects related to election management and e-voting solutions.- Gives you the chance to work in a variety of projects and clients around the world, with...

      Show More

      Cons

      It is a demanding environment but you learn a lot. Communication between some departments is sometimes complicated although it has improved.

      Advice to Management

      Keep aiming high. and maitaining the values that have brought this company to life.

      Scytl2019-03-08

      Scytl Response

      April 17, 2019General Manager

      Many thanks for your review, which proves that we are on the right path.

    • Helpful (2)

      "New CEO is killing the company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Scytl full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      not sure there are any , most of these reviews are accurate

      Cons

      CEO, communication, product (not what it used to be), public image

      Advice to Management

      You do not know everything, you have bright people on staff that you overlook and disregard regularly, if you continue to treat staff like they are disposable you will never change the problems in the company.

      Scytl2019-04-15

      Scytl Response

      April 17, 2019General Manager

      We are very sorry to hear this; since actually we have recently promoted internal employees to management positions who are really working hard and adding value to the organization. We are very fond and proud of our team and we try to listen to all suggestions. It is a pity you ...

      Show More
    • "Good place to progress professionally"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Barcelona
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Scytl full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Work-life balance / Flexibilty Good teamwork environment Multiple technologies Meaningful mission

      Cons

      Very difficult market Lots of maintenance tasks Company IT infrastructure is quite bad

      Advice to Management

      Humbly I have nothing to advice

      Scytl2019-02-28

      Scytl Response

      April 17, 2019General Manager

      Thanks for your comments, all opinions are taken into account to keep improving.

    Found 89 reviews