SeaChange Reviews | Glassdoor

SeaChange Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 159 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Ed Terino
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 11 reviews)

  • "Commute to work, Nice people, state of the art facility, in house gym with showers(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management before made some drastic investment on new tech that eventually failed to capture the market resulting in sever losses(in 8 reviews)

  • "Smaller but agile company with HQ in Acton, US(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Revitalized company with a clear vision and strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Acton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SeaChange full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -A clear strategy and vision that eliminates the complexities legacy SeaChange was known for -A strong leadership team that understands the current state of the market and how to effectively deploy our solutions -Great teams that pride themselves on solving complex challenges and have a tremendous passion for the business and its success -Infusion of new talent with significant years of industry experience...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Location can be a challenge -Need more people to help build on our momentum -Highly Competitive Market

    Advice to Management

    Continue growing and investing in the people and products here at SeaChange. Our new vision and message are resonating loudly with our customer and prospects. We have a tremendous opportunity to get back on the map as a trusted vendor, partner, and industry leader in video management and monetization.

    SeaChange2019-06-18
  2. "Employee beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Acton, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SeaChange full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company been downsizing & restructuring, so no Pros

    Cons

    Lack of leadership & stability

    SeaChange2019-04-18
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Past it’s prime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ex Employee in Acton, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SeaChange full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There were some wonderfully talented and dedicated people there, and over the years I had the opportunity to learn much from my mentors and peers.

    Cons

    The products are very slow to market, and SeaChange quite simply cannot keep up with the competition. Frequent changes in strategy to compensate for this have failed. Most of the senior level management left there seem to have their own best interests at heart, often putting them at odds with each other. This cost the company many chances to advance, and as a result, many hard working people lost their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Do what’s right for the employees that are left with you. Treat them well for working hard. It’s aggravating for them to see 6 figure bonuses being issued to executives at a failing company while employees are languishing.

    SeaChange2018-12-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Was great, now tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at SeaChange full-time

      Pros

      "Doing the right thing" had always been what was valued. Co-workers in software development always worked together to provide the best features possible with very aggressive deadlines and with weak product management. There was teamwork to meet the challenges.

      Cons

      Several attempts to cut costs moved jobs oversees. The decade in Manila, the most successful, but that was shut down. Current effort is to make the Warsaw office the software development "center for excellence". So likely not much future for new SW jobs in US (Acton, MA).

      SeaChange2018-11-19
    • "Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at SeaChange full-time

      Pros

      good place to work, they use lot of new Big Data Technologies like Casandra, NoSql

      Cons

      Too many changes in the management.

      SeaChange2018-11-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company going down the drain"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SeaChange full-time

      Pros

      The people are great. No age discrimination (everyone is over 40 yo)

      Cons

      Market shrinking by the minute. Upper management clueless. Benefits eroding.

      SeaChange2018-10-25
    • Helpful (2)

      "So sad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at SeaChange full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Some truly great, professional and smart people.

      Cons

      Some truly inept, shortsighted and inconsiderate management.

      Advice to Management

      Wouldn't help.

      SeaChange2018-10-09

      SeaChange Response

      October 15, 2018HR Director

      I want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am really sorry that your experience at SeaChange did not match our intention of being a great place to work.

    • "Nice place to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Acton, MA

      I have been working at SeaChange full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      nice people, high cooperation, good and competitive products,

      Cons

      thanks to management, clearing all one by one,,

      SeaChange2018-08-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Poor upper management."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service in Acton, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SeaChange full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good pay, good benefits (used to be better, they changed it without notice a couple of years back).

      Cons

      Toxic atmosphere, departments clawing at each other, upper management continually making same mistakes, sales promising things the company cannot deliver (unchecked), constant hirings and layoffs with no rhyme or reason, training on their own products is extremely poor.

      Advice to Management

      Pull the plug. You're circling the drain, and upper management constantly making the same mistakes is evident to every employee around the world. Hand the tech off to someone that has a clue. Sell.

      SeaChange2018-09-11

      SeaChange Response

      October 15, 2018HR Director

      Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are always trying to adjust our strategy to ensure the success of SeaChange and appreciate your honesty.

    • Helpful (5)

      "Could have been a contender!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at SeaChange full-time

      Pros

      Used to be a pretty good place to work. Now it doesn't know what it wants to be when it grows up. Anybody that had any vision is long gone!

      Cons

      The people that are still here stay due to convenience or familiarity. They are always looking over their shoulder for when they are on the chopping block or their job goes to the latest off-shore fantasy.

      Advice to Management

      You seem to forget that people are your best asset.

      SeaChange2018-02-09
    Found 159 reviews