Seaboard Transport Reviews | Glassdoor

Seaboard Transport Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Seaboard Transport CEO Mark Shannon (no image)
Mark Shannon
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Consistent work, challenging work environment, supportive management(in 3 reviews)

  • "Dispatch is overall friendly and for the most part give good miles(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Owner operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Owner Operator in Shawnee Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seaboard Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company..can't say anything bad about the operation.. All the office people are great to work with pay is fair and on time.. Always keep me moving..

    Cons

    It's a little hard for me to get home because of where I live. Knew this when I signed on.. n other consp

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Seaboard Transport2019-03-09
  2. "Overall good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Driver in Shawnee Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seaboard Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice equipment. Dispatch is overall friendly and for the most part give good miles. Reefers on trailers are all great equipment and kept well

    Cons

    Not the best home time. Pay isn't great. Lots of time in the ports for exports. No detention pay. No home terminal

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the drivers and their needs more

    Seaboard Transport2017-12-11
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Seaboard Transport

    Pros

    pays well, bennifts not to bad

    Cons

    They need to let managers manage,to much micor managing. If you don't succed then replace. They take you for your knowledge then dump you

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employee's ,they make you successful ,hire the right people then you don;t have the revoloving door stigma

    Seaboard Transport2017-01-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Company Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Truck Driver in Shawnee Mission, KS

    I have been working at Seaboard Transport

    Pros

    Very simple job dispatch very helpful no problem getting money for lumpers and when i have to call always someone there to help have yet to hear anyone say that its not my job

    Cons

    This is Refrigerated transportation long waits to get loaded and unloaded some of this not seaboard but backhaul customers

    Advice to Management

    No real advice only maybe payroll could use a little help lot of mistakes last 2 months.

    Seaboard Transport2016-05-15
  5. "cuts to loads,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supervisor 

    I have been working at Seaboard Transport full-time

    Pros

    good mid managers, good co workers

    Cons

    bad VP's, layoffs for employees with 20 years of experience, the Shannons just want to cut employee benefits

    Seaboard Transport2019-08-27
  6. "Environment is not good for older workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seaboard Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary is above average and there is a good apprenticeship program

    Cons

    They do not follow through on training commitments

    Advice to Management

    Do what you promise

    Seaboard Transport2019-08-02
  7. "Awful Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Seaboard Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job Stability is the only thing guaranteed

    Cons

    Toxic culture No training Severe lack of communication

    Seaboard Transport2019-07-09
  8. "Good place to enjoy work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seaboard Transport full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment, lovely company culture.

    Cons

    more career opportunities be available

    Advice to Management

    More career opportunities should be given.

    Seaboard Transport2019-03-07
  9. "Driver Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver Coordinator in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seaboard Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Consistent work, challenging work environment, supportive management. I enjoyed my time at Seaboard however left the industry. If not I would have been very happy to work with this company and grow my career.

    Cons

    Quick growth which sometimes leads to periods of confusion.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support and develop your mid-level management.

    Seaboard Transport2019-02-15
  10. "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Seaboard Transport full-time

    Pros

    Great West Benefits are not to bad since they've changed them. Up to 50,000 on drugs and dental, 1500 massage chrio, ect

    Cons

    Management will always blame the driver even if its the company's fault. Management will lie just so they can be right and you be wrong Management is poor and argumentative Management here are bullies and will harass you until you quit CEO's preach if you have an issue come straight to us. Try getting a hold of one! It isn't an easy task. "Safety is there #1 priority" is a lie. If your unsure of... something they tell you not to do it, better safe than sorry. That's a lie. You get suspended for doing the right thing. Safety personal aren't even educated in HSE, They're the ones who made the most mistakes but the company couldn't fire. Equipment is always braking down, drive it till she dies they say. Equipment is old and outdated Pay is horrible for delivering dangerous goods you should be making well over there median wage. They say you should be paid no less than 23/hr but your paid by the load and the tri standards they have don't include traffic, loading issues, off loading issues, road conditions ect.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't know where to begin.. get new jobs you belong in your position

    Seaboard Transport2019-02-02
Found 50 reviews