Seaspan Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Seaspan Corporation Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Seaspan Corporation CEO Bing Chen
Bing Chen
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good salary good benefits for rejoining(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Procurement Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Seaspan Corporation

    Pros

    Good work environment and friendly people!

    Cons

    The work was sometimes slow

    Seaspan Corporation2018-06-21
  2. "Great envirionment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Client Happiness Builder in Atlanta Downtown Post Office, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at Seaspan Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Too formal environment. communication just via email

    Cons

    Nice people and nice environment

    Seaspan Corporation2017-10-19
  3. "Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seaspan Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefit and nice employees

    Cons

    Changing management can be destabilizing

    Advice to Management

    Stabilize management for continued growth

    Seaspan Corporation2019-09-02
  4. "Plenty of Learning Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Administrator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Seaspan Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are fun to work with, internal processes are becoming more modern and efficient, convenient office location

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance, minimal job recognition, lack of communication at times

    Advice to Management

    There are excellent people working for this company, continue to find ways to motivate them and improving the office culture.

    Seaspan Corporation2019-08-26
  5. "Motivated for overhaul growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vessel Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Seaspan Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good team leader and always looking for growth

    Cons

    Expect all my direct reports to perform as I want

    Advice to Management

    Asset to management

    Seaspan Corporation2019-08-15
  6. "Good company to start your career in shipping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Seaspan Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Good work culture, good ships, industry standard wages

    Cons

    slow promotion to next rank

    Seaspan Corporation2019-07-16
  7. "Seaspan Ship Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Seaspan Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Seaspan Ship Management Ltd was a great company to work under the previous executive leadership team, the employees were respected and treated very well

    Cons

    Under the new CEO, CFO and recently appointed CHRO, this company has gone down the drain and employees are treated very badly. All loyal and long-serving employees have been either removed or frustrated to leave and seek employment elsewhere. This company is not recommended for employment and they are looking for low-cost inexperienced employees with an expectation to work long hours and even on weekends for the... financial services team

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shareholders and investors should conduct an independent investigation to look into the management style of the CEO and CFO, they are doing harm to the company by trying to cut costs and prove their worth.

    Seaspan Corporation2019-06-17
  8. "They dont care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Victoria, BC
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Seaspan Corporation

    Pros

    Nothing at all they dont care

    Cons

    Everything they will drain you mentally

    Advice to Management

    Stop running a company on ego and treat your workers right

    Seaspan Corporation2019-06-14

    Seaspan Corporation Response

    June 20, 2019Corporate Communications Officer

    Good day, I believe you're employed with Seaspan Marine, as Seaspan Corporation does not have an entity in Victoria, BC. https://www.glassdoor.ca/Reviews/Seaspan-Marine-Reviews-E483016.htm

  9. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Material Planner 

    I have been working at Seaspan Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Big projects, More exposure if you are starting your career

    Cons

    Minimum growth, Office politics, Management structure

    Seaspan Corporation2019-04-10

    Seaspan Corporation Response

    April 23, 2019Corporate Communications Officer

    Good day, I believe you're employed with Seaspan Marine, as Seaspan Corporation does not hire for the role of Material Planner. https://www.glassdoor.ca/Reviews/Seaspan-Marine-Reviews-E483016.htm

  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seaspan Corporation full-time

    Pros

    HR was very good at helping employees. THe HR Director was a real mentor. She cared about employees and always helped them. The salaries were good, benefits were fantastic.

    Cons

    Long working hours and too much travel for many

    Seaspan Corporation2019-03-01
Found 53 reviews