SeatGeek Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
84%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
SeatGeek Founder Jack Groetzinger
Jack Groetzinger
75 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "All that glitters"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SeatGeek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Broadly speaking, the staff was quite nice and the job came with all the perks you'd expect from a startup.

    Cons

    Dysfunctional culture led by mostly inept bros in senior positions with zero strategic vision HR team valued friendships and being liked over making difficult decisions and actually doing their jobs Used "being scrappy" as a consistent means of problem solving, often ignoring the inefficient cycle of decision making that resulted

    Continue reading
    SeatGeek2019-09-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SeatGeek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Empowering work environment, notion that you're making an impact and owning the work that you do - incredible perks - respectful of time - collaborative - work is fun and challenging on its own, but if you love live events, it's incredibly motivating to support this company - autonomy

    Cons

    - typical startup growing pains

    SeatGeek2019-05-16
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Not the most inclusive atmosphere"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SeatGeek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Originally, the company seemed hyperfocused on a mission I believed in.

    Cons

    As time progressed, the mission got more and more diluted. The diversity and inclusivity work the company recently undertook was half-hearted, putting most of the work on those in protected groups to figure out. That seemed unfair and kind of like a cop out, and didn't seem to have a lot of buy in from the execs. Everyone is burning the candle at both ends.

    Continue reading
    SeatGeek2019-05-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "The best startup I've worked at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SeatGeek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The company has been growing at an amazing rate. Our product is really making an impact in the ticketing, live event space. - A true product driven company. - Culture is amazing. Everyone is smart, driven, and easy to get along with. Very cross-functional team - A lot of opportunities to step up and own projects that will make an impact - A strong leadership team, which has been growing. Transparent and steers the company in the right direction the majority of the time. - You work hard, but there is a good work life balance. Ex: Flexible WFH

    Cons

    - As with every "hyper growth" startup, some growing pains. - Lack of processes, which is being worked on and optimized - Need more middle management

    Continue reading
    SeatGeek2019-04-18
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Racist/Sexist Environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SeatGeek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All the bells and whistles of a start-up atmosphere.

    Cons

    No diversity whatsoever. Leadership is an absolute inept joke, full of Caucasian men in senior customer service positions who enjoy speaking in condescending tones. As a non-white woman, I’ve been consistently disrespected to an abhorrent level. I’ve reported racist remarks to HR with no resolution, because the white male who said them is a 5 star worker. I should be management and am held back by caucasity.

    Continue reading
    SeatGeek2019-05-09
  6. Helpful (3)

    "New Enterprise leadership is promising but well overdue"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SeatGeek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing people that are really fun to work with -Plenty of people willing to help out and collaborate towards goals -Snacks and swag galore! - New office at the end of 2019 looks amazing!

    Cons

    - Work life balance is very lacking -Due to expansion, they've separated the HQ office into 2 offices temporarily the optics of this have been bad from the get go that the less "important" employees are in their ancillary office around the block. Having this separation takes a toll on employee wellbeing. - 2 separate products - SRO and SeatGeek core - there's a major, very problematic disconnect with SRO and our overseas teams communications - The primary ticketing software is incredibly tough to work with and unreliable - customers are always finding bugs and issues that QA should have - Lack of definition on roles and responsibilities - no accountability - Development, product are all stretched very thin - making many deliverables uncertain sprints to the finish line

    Continue reading
    SeatGeek2019-04-07
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Successful company but a also victim of that success"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SeatGeek full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Rare opportunity to see a startup successfully expand its business, essentially non-stop. - Interesting business and technical problems. Real-time, at scale. Ticketing industry is pretty fascinating. - Product is sleek. User-focused, something you'd be proud to share with friends. - Coworkers are smart and hard-working. Marketing and CX are kickass. - No lack of work - many opportunities to take full individual ownership on projects. Self-starters very welcome.

    Cons

    - I wish I could give SG two sets of ratings, one for <75 headcount when actually operating like a startup, and one for afterwards. SG did great on that initial push, building a successful product, user base, and business strategy. However, because of that velocity and the lack of experience at mature orgs that many higher ups have, they did not focus early enough on critical self-health areas - management, career growth, mentorship, cross-team communication, product ownership, etc. These are all sorely lacking. - Every company goes through growing pains, so the above might have been fine if that was it - we can learn and grow together, no worries. But in addition, there is a sense of denial about these problems that becomes very frustrating and hard to comprehend after you keep bringing up the same issues over and over again. - Immature processes, lack of accountability - it shouldn't be weird to talk about things that are going poorly that you want to improve, but that's what it often feels like. See 'denial' above. - It's something like 1% female (at best) on the engineering team, which is insane. Frustrating, because it's another example of something that could have been proactively course corrected.

    Continue reading
    SeatGeek2019-03-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and exciting times from a product and business standpoint"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SeatGeek full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are truly special. I feel grateful for how many of my colleagues are down to earth, smart, open-minded, and passionate. From a product and business standpoint the past couple years have been incredibly exciting. We are now official ticketing partners with some of the largest names in sports. It's not only helping us grow our business, but more importantly it's helping us provide a better experience to fans.

    Cons

    There are some gaps when it comes to having experienced managers and leaders across the entire org. However, this is something that is actively being worked on and has improved recently. At times I think the company and various teams could be more focused.

    SeatGeek2019-03-12
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Amazing culture and perks but lack of upper management and mentorship"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SeatGeek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone is very welcoming and friendly. SeatGeek feels like family, even after I have left. There is no bro-culture or feeling of anyone trying to advance themselves/be on top at all. - Perks: membership to Spotify, Headspace, CitiBike, OneMedical insurance, frequent team-building activities and outings, and employee -led sports and hobby clubs - Very flexible working from home policy; everyone more or less manages themselves to a degree and have a lot of autonomy. - Well stocked office kitchen - Tradition is kept since the beginnings of the company, there are Thursday presentations and free lunch each week, regular "general attendance meetings", and holiday week events. - Engineers are given a lot of ownership of the product, and take part in scoping and requirement gathering for new projects.

    Cons

    - Lack of engineering management. SeatGeek does not have many engineering managers, and sometimes it is unclear who manages who within product/engineering. - Severe lack of UX team: SeatGeek places UX decisions on the shoulders of Product Managers, Product Designers, and front-end developers. It is unclear who gets the final say in design decisions and how some design decisions are made in the first place. - Poor communication between Product Design and Engineering. - We have great product designers, but all of them work remotely, which may contribute to the poor communication. Half of the front-end development team is remote as well, and it does not seek like SeatGeek is making effort to bring product design or more of front-end engineering to the NYC office. - Too much activity in Slack/communication seems more centered around Slack than in-person. This is very subjective though. The office is very quiet as a by-product, but subjectively speaking, I prefer more in-person communication. - Lack of diversity (but it seems like they are very aware of this and working on it), especially in engineering (currently less than 5 female engineers in a department of 60. - Lack of mentorship for junior software engineers, too much of a "learn everything on your own" mentality. Senior engineers are not expected (and often do not have time) to be mentors (junior engineers have to explicitly seek out time, and it sometimes feel like it's not very encouraged). I personally don't think SeatGeek is ready to take on any junior engineers based on the stage of growth that it is currently at and the amount of resources available. - SeatGeek is definitely experiencing lots of growing pains, and takes on more than it can chew sometimes.

    SeatGeek2019-01-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Culture is great, but overall needs improvement with compensation"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Expert in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SeatGeek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with, and the energy in the Portland office are very inviting and fun. You can work overtime if wanted. $120/month ticket stipend. Food/drinks in the office. Really great team. Flexibility.

    Cons

    The pay is pretty low for Portland, especially for the high caliber work that is expected and executed. The perks are geared toward the NYC office more so than the Portland office.

    Continue reading
    SeatGeek2018-12-08
Found 117 reviews