Seattle Children's Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Seattle Children's CEO Jeff Sperring
Jeff Sperring
172 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Tons of political talk, high turnover within the hospital upper management, Don’t always feel supported or appreciated as an RN(in 21 reviews)

  • "I no longer have good work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Two Thumbs Up"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seattle Children's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Policy driven atmosphere, great health insurance, nice commute bonus, friendly coworkers. Also loved the "time away" system

    Cons

    sometimes difficult to change shifts or PTO

    Seattle Children's2019-09-20
  2. "So far, so great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Children's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the mission of the company and the people I work with!

    Cons

    I haven't run into any outstanding problems in my time working here.

    Seattle Children's2020-05-07
  3. "Depends on department"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Seattle Children's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, fair pay, good values from the research institute as a whole

    Cons

    Lack of unity between departments, culture issues within certain teams, management issues within teams

    Seattle Children's2020-05-26
  4. "Great coworkers, poor management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Children's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Collaborative bedside staff Good benefits that improve with years of service Easy movement between departments

    Cons

    Communication between teams Peristnent and evolving devaluation of bedside staff under current CEO - Jeff Sperring & last two CNOs - Maddie Murray and Bonnie Fryzlewicz Upper management out of touch with bedside care model Only promotion from within leading to systemic problems without innovation Poor support/ guidance of bedside staff during challenging times

    Continue reading
    Seattle Children's2020-05-31
  5. "Good benefits and working environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Children's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good working environment and benefits

    Cons

    slow pace and pay is not competitive

    Seattle Children's2020-05-14
  6. "Good Org When I left"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seattle Children's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission, healthcare benefits, work with some great teams

    Cons

    Lower pay than other industries, commute is a pain, no WFH policy

    Seattle Children's2020-05-12
  7. "This is a good place to start"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Children's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It really depends on what lab you work in but there are a lot of resources in the institute.

    Cons

    The research institute is run like the hospital when it is a very different system.

    Seattle Children's2020-05-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It’s alright"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scheduler 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Children's full-time

    Pros

    They are quick to communicate from the top down. They support team efforts and lean into celebrations.

    Cons

    They talk a lot about managing stress or making a good balance and reaching out for help but when you do reach out for help often get reprimanded or told to basically figure it out for yourself.

    Continue reading
    Seattle Children's2020-05-21
  9. "Benefits strong"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Seattle Children's full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are strong and increase over time with service

    Cons

    PTO more limited, confusing to work alongside UW employees with different expectations and benefits

    Seattle Children's2020-05-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "SCH Insurance Processing Coordinator"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Proccessing Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Seattle Children's full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, transportation bonus, lots of ability to move around.

    Cons

    Management doesn't understand the actual work or how long it takes. Only thinks about the numbers.

    Seattle Children's2020-05-01
Found 442 reviews