Seattle University Reviews | Glassdoor

Seattle University Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Seattle University CEO Father Stephen V. Sundborg
Father Stephen V. Sundborg
93 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance is great if your direct report respects it(in 17 reviews)

  • "Give you flexible hours which works well while being a student(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Extremely low pay with no upward mobility(in 9 reviews)

  • "there were no cons about working here(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Student Work Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrician's Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seattle University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours to accommodate studying and a wonderful environment to work at (Facilities)

    Cons

    There really ain't any if you work with the Electrical Shop. Grounds has a bunch of tough requirements and minimum hours but Electrical Shop is cool.

    Continue reading
    Seattle University2019-09-10
  2. "Being Catholic not necessary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Instructional Designer 

    I have been working at Seattle University part-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Jesuit education is high quality

    Cons

    Budget cuts, some professors entrenched in old school teaching styles

    Seattle University2019-10-16
  3. "Avoid IT Services at all costs!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Every interaction I have had with Seattle University in my time here outside of my own organization has been positive. * Work-life balance is great if your direct report respects it * Lots of time off, tuition reimbursement is a huge perk. * Staff and faculty really do take their educational mission and commitment to diversity (as opposed to just wielding it as a buzzword, I've very rarely seen an environment where all are truly offered a voice and a seat at the table) seriously. * If you like opportunities for volunteer work and community outreach, there are plenty for you here.

    Cons

    * This is mainly targeted at my own organization. Sorry. IT Services is a disaster full of leadership with no management skills or training, management that refuses to take responsibility for issues that arise from decisions made at a higher level. People at the director level and below that seem to be more concerned with appeasing people with titles than actually executing service improvements that align with our stated goals. * Project management that refuses to get out of its own way and seems to only be concerned with project elements as line items that have to be powered through, and don't have the vision to look at things in a holistic manner. Project management that refuses to account for necessary resources. Project management that does not know how to plan. * An alarming abundance of micromanagement as well as as a lack of respect for employees' time. * A key cultural behavior here: scheduling multiple people for hour-long meetings to address issues that require maybe 5-10 minutes of focus from individual contributors. Many of these meetings could just be replaced with an email. * Pay/compensation are well below market rate but it's a non-profit and the educational sector so I'm not sure what to expect here. * Certain employees have carved out little fiefdoms and partake in inappropriate behavior that has been reported to upper management and HR, yet the behavior persists.

    Continue reading
    Seattle University2019-09-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great mission, pay just isn't there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Seattle University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful mission, dedicated employees, good culture, amazing time off

    Cons

    Staff salaries are below market

    Seattle University2019-09-23
  5. "Great place to work, Amazing staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writing Center Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Seattle University part-time

    Pros

    super friendly and inviting environment

    Cons

    there were no cons about working here!

    Seattle University2019-09-09
  6. "Everyone is extremely nice in my department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Library Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Supportive environment - Very flexible - Very diverse

    Cons

    - Job sometimes feel super repetitive

    Seattle University2019-08-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seattle University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Faculty, staff and students with easy schedule and supportive co-workers.

    Cons

    Some Faculty can be difficult to work around.

    Continue reading
    Seattle University2019-07-28
  8. "Great benefits & culture, low pay, still worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Operations Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture, work life balance, lovely campus, amazing benefits (10% retirement, free tuition)

    Cons

    Pay is roughly 10-20% below market for the area. Leadership disconnected from the mission. Lowest level staff continue to be underpaid and overloaded with work. Academic bureaucracy make change nearly impossible.

    Continue reading
    Seattle University2019-08-08
  9. "AP Controllers' Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AP Student Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seattle University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful people and you get to learn a lot. They also have free snacks/candy (which is amazing)

    Cons

    No cons really. It's a good stepping stone for a student looking to become a professional.

    Seattle University2019-07-16
  10. "A Constantly Evolving Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Seattle University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They had a good environment with a lot of inner department support.

    Cons

    Not a lot of support from other departments

    Seattle University2019-07-29
Found 219 reviews