Second Street Reviews | Glassdoor

Second Street Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Second Street CEO Matt Coen & Doug Villhard (no image)
Matt Coen & Doug Villhard
7 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Email Success 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Second Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An incredibly transparent and dynamic company, ethical and inspiring leadership, and a humane approach to benefits and work-life balance.

    Cons

    There are minor quibbles, but none worth mentioning.

    Second Street2019-09-06
  2. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Back End Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Second Street full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Second Street is a fantastic place to work as a developer; laid back atmosphere, unlimited PTO, free healthcare for employees, laptop of your choice, cool downtown workspace a short walk from a grocery store and many restaurants, 401k match, bonuses, office gym, free snacks/drinks, monthly events, and 2 company weeks a year. They always work to improve employee life. On the product side we have a great product... and every single person in the company contributes to making it better. We have weekly feedback meetings where everyone has a voice. We are always learning and improving.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's not really any con's worth noting. The owners and team work hard at addressing feedback.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you to the owners for everything they've done for their employees. They are 2 wonderful people.

    Second Street2019-01-22
  3. "Declining Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Second Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Established as an industry leader

    Cons

    Culture and innovation steadily declined over the years. Long established employees often fair well, but employees hired in the last few years lack proper pay and treatment. Long term leadership decisions are questionable. Advised to look elsewhere if seeking a company that will provide growth potential and basic treatment of all employees.

    Second Street2019-01-23
  4. "Small company with lots of energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Second Street for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment, small startup energy

    Cons

    Located in St. Louis

    Second Street2018-12-13
  5. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Second Street full-time

    Pros

    Amazing company in Saint Louis to work for with tons of growth potential. Absolutely no down sides,.

    Cons

    There are no cons to working here.

    Second Street2017-07-19
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Second Street

    Pros

    Company Culture - Fun people and fun place to work

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    Second Street2017-03-13
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Second Street full-time

    Pros

    Ownership is smart and progressive Hire smart people and let them do their job Great culture and positive work environment Fun product to work with

    Cons

    Few opportunities available for promotion

    Second Street2017-03-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Second Street for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are the best, they're so kind and helpful and it's an awesome environment.

    Cons

    It was hard for me to do work totally aimed at helping people advertise better, but that's just personal cause I've never been into advertising. I was in the computer programming department.

    Second Street2016-09-28
  9. "Great place to intern - real opportunity to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Second Street for less than a year

    Pros

    - Access to all employees, including CEOs. Really creates opportunities for mentorship. - Welcoming, positive, fun culture. Serious focus on transparency - Awesome people. Co-workers have become good friends, even though I only interned there for 1 summer - Given hands on responsibility. Learned how a company works

    Cons

    - Somewhat limited interaction between sales/marketing & dev, due largely to physical layout of office

    Second Street2016-04-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place That Cares About Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Second Street full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere with a strong focus on building a positive culture within the workplace.

    Cons

    Some minor growing pains here and there but nothing that you wouldn't find anywhere else that was on the up and up.

    Second Street2015-11-05
Found 12 reviews