Secureworks Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Secureworks Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Secureworks President and CEO Mike Cote
Mike Cote
3 Ratings
  1. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Feel empowered to grow, create and add value. Good managers, great culture and no big egos so far

    Cons

    Need to be a self leader to thrive otherwise you may feel lost and unmotivated

    Advice to Management

    Continue to look for ways to motivate team members who aren't great a self leadership. Establish buddy systems for newbies

    Secureworks2020-01-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Principal Software Engineer in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Use of new and leading technologies.

    Cons

    Not much to say here

    Secureworks2017-03-27
  3. "An internet security service company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Teams work together to get things done

    Cons

    Not much career advancement if stay several years

    Advice to Management

    Encourage career advancement

    Secureworks2017-03-03
  4. "Dell SecureWorks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer/Co-op in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    can work from home almost everyday

    Cons

    no individual projects for co-ops. tons of junit tests, automation tests, ui bugs

    Advice to Management

    more individual projects for co-ops

    Secureworks2016-10-04
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Not a place for professionals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Secureworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They may pay for you to travel. If you spend enough time there, you will be promoted, but people who do not deserve promotions will also receive them. The bonuses are good even if pay lags behind competitors.

    Cons

    Creativity and innovation are not only discouraged but actively punished. You will be expected to churn out the same solutions to new problems without ever making improvements or changes of any kind. You will be expected to do things the exact way Secureworks has always done them. You will not be expected to know how to engineer solutions to new problems: you will be expected to know how to copy and paste code. There is a culture of meeting the status quo at Secureworks. Management is lost. I was hired before my project was planned and ready because a middle manager did not want to lose his budget surplus. I was temporarily placed on another team that failed to communicate with me and decided not to assign me work because I would leave them for a new team at some point. On my new team, there was no work to do for the first month because the project goals had never been finalized. About 6 months into my employment, my manager was changed out for a new manager and I was not told. I continued to contact my old manager and eventually the new manager got mad at me for not communicating with him. Our projects had no direction. During my first few months on my project, we changed our goals bi-weekly. We ended up thrashing because we could not settle on strategies, technologies or even end goals. Our managers would rarely pay attention but would attend meetings just to get mad at us for being off schedule. Secureworks is a failed meritocracy. Our managers rarely attended meetings and rarely held 1-on-1s so they relied on reports to make their judgement. The senior most member of the team would take all of the user stories for himself. He would complete enough to claim the story points but left many errors and holes because most of his work was copied from others' work which he did not understand. The remaining work would fall on the team to fix his half-complete job. Then, the manager would praise that senior engineer then chew me out for not completing new user stories. Management should re-evaluate their priorities. A co-worker of mine was sent a very nasty email for missing a meeting because he had an appointment with his doctor, which was scheduled long before the meeting. Working for home left most team members very lonely and depressed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to what is happening on your teams. You cannot be an absentee leader. You cannot conduct performance evaluations if you are not around to see the performance. If you are not present, you will look like a fool to your employees when you ask obvious or irrelevant questions. Have a plan to move ahead before starting movement. Do not hire someone without a project for that employee to work on. When you have a project, have goals and clearly communicate those goals. Make your daily meetings about where you are in relation to your end state. Care about your employees. They are not code-producing robots. If someone is under-performing or absent, talk to them before you discipline them. There may be a reason your employee is not at their best state. Do not blame your employee for the confused mess that is Secureworks culture and management.

    Show More
    Secureworks2016-03-25
  6. Helpful (6)

    "It depends on the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time

    Pros

    Some teams have a lot of strong people and exciting challenges. You might never get bored if you have the right manager and team. You can work remotely.

    Cons

    Excessive technical debt leads to excess of outages. Inadequate testing, process and infrastructure. Good people burn out and leave. Lack of coordination and communication.

    Advice to Management

    Hire real software engineers in test. Have a plan for slashing tech debt. Communicate that plan and execute it. Try to emulate top tech companies in culture and agility.

    Secureworks2016-01-15
  7. "Great place to work, lot of growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Secureworks

    Pros

    Growth, Newer technologies, work-life balance, benefits, team members

    Cons

    location, no training, none, none, none

    Advice to Management

    None

    Secureworks2015-02-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A great work environment with a decent codebase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    comfortable, easygoing work environment; friendly and knowledgeable coworkers; stable job and income; telling people you work for Dell; free coffee

    Cons

    excessive and overwhelming use of email; some internal workflows can be overly time-consuming; lack of focus on UI design and user experience

    Secureworks2012-10-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work, some bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks

    Pros

    Cool technology, meaningful impact, great people

    Cons

    IT Bureaucracy and integration issues (with Dell IT), HR Bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    Make IT issues simpler.

    Secureworks2012-02-12
  10. Helpful (7)

    "You can do better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Secureworks

    Pros

    Company is fiscally fantastic, making money hand over fist. It's Unix systems and services programming. Nice location.

    Cons

    Old school management style. Lots of micromanagement. Rather stingy with programmer computing resources. Management is a little behind the curve on what you can and cannot use in an employee review. Little guidance, because the product managers and engineering management don't know what they want. There is never any push back from engineering when sales or prod. mgmt asks for invalid features.

    Advice to Management

    That engineering group could be so much better if you just removed the old school, 1970's style engineering management and used people that have come up through the security industry instead of bringing in outside people that just know how to manage in general; a mobile marketing app, on-line banking, a phone book web site.

    Secureworks2011-01-03
Found 17 reviews