Secureworks Employee Reviews about "soc"

Updated Aug 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Secureworks President and CEO Mike Cote
Mike Cote
170 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance has been fantastic and the people I work with have been great(in 24 reviews)

  • "Flexibility to work from home or work off hours(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "All deals had to go through upper management for approval(in 11 reviews)

  • "In the SOC there's very little trust due to the junior nature of the staff(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Secureworks and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "soc"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Opportunity at every turn for the right person

      Feb 20, 2019 - Senior Advisor in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Internal jobs are easy to apply for and I have received 4 promotions during my tenure. The move policy for Dell is great as you can move around every 1.5 years given the right openings. Working remotely for the last 5 years has been a dream. Many people question whether they could pull it off. I don't have those issues because I'm focused and I know how to do my job well. Being able to move around the country has changed the direction of my life! SecureWorks Managers will take on people who don't necessarily fit the job but can grow into it. There's a ton of opportunity if you can rise to meet the challenges. Certs, Training, SANS etc. Dell has invested in multiple SANS certs and tuition reimbursement for many years. The maximum just went up to $5,250 a year!

      Cons

      I've had 12 managers during my tenure. Many different personalities from counting my bathroom break time to never talking at all. In the SOC there's very little trust due to the junior nature of the staff. I can't say there are any systemic issues honestly it just depends who's managing you. They give a lot of Jr. Managers change so it's double-edged. You may not want to be managed by somebody less experienced. Glue People: I work around tons of people who do exactly what you tell them but nothing else - the company can't or won't let them go. I call them glue people because they tend to stick onto you and collect money as long as possible. Many of them are making 100k+ and do 1/3 of what some of the hard-working people in the SOC do. There are many people getting paid too much for what they put out. They have bad attitudes, defensive, and very egotistical. Mostly that's the 5+ year folks.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Secureworks Response

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such thorough feedback. It is great to see both the positive side and areas of improvement that you have observed from your 8+ years with us. We are always looking for opportunities to improve our work environment and provide more positive experiences for our employees worldwide. If you have more ideas that you feel would help us with this ongoing goal, we would love to hear from you! Please reach out to your manager, our culture team, or me directly at feedback@secureworks.com. Thank you! Tom

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great personal development opportunities.

      Aug 29, 2020 - Senior IT Security Analyst in Providence, RI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Secureworks SOC is a great place to hone your troubleshooting skillset.

      Cons

      Opportunities to grow are controlled by strict policies that require you to put in a minimum amount of time before you receive the next promotional step.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Senior Cyber Security Analyst

      Jan 31, 2020 - Consolidated Resorts in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Secureworks has some of the best technical information security experts in the field. Initial training is provided in your area. Shift managers are excellent and your time is respected.

      Cons

      You will not typically interact with experts outside of the SOC and opportunities for advancement are limited. Feedback from direct managers is limited.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Alright

      Oct 10, 2019 - Network Security Senior Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked in the SOC. It was good experience for me as I was still new to the industry. I was given SANS training and had two days working from home a week. I'm not sure if that's still a thing though as this was in 2016-2017. Management was flexible on snow days and would ask for feedback on what could be done better.

      Cons

      There was very high turnover on my team and no opportunity to move elsewhere in the company (outside of the SOC). I wasn't able to apply to certain positions I was interested in internally even though I held the same role for 2+ years. The job can get stressful sometimes as I didn't always have someone to escalate if I needed help. It definitely felt like it was sink or swim sometimes.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      SecureWorks Providence offers Career Growth!

      Jan 31, 2019 - SOC Analyst in Providence, RI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The SecureWorks Security Analysis team is the best there is and what's amazing is how willing the team is to share their knowledge and help you along. The management is amazing and they really take care of you, from helping you set goals to introducing you to all the options for a career in cyber security. They offer training time every single week and ride-alongs so you can learn from other organizations like PenTest, Engineering, Incident Response

      Cons

      The SOC is 24x7x365 so be prepared to take a shift that you may not initially like, but there is always opportunity to change. Also they are strict about being on-time for your shift as you're coming in so another team member can go home and they want to be sure you respect each other

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hurry up and wait, we have to change your employment rules ... Again

      Oct 19, 2015 - Senior Data Security Analyst in Suwanee, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The other people in the SOC will help as much as they can and the mood is generally laid back. There are adequate resources to get the job done but no real thorough explanation on how to use them. You'll learn tons of off the cuff scripting and there are always people who can help you figure out how to automate something.

      Cons

      Managers are employees who did the job well but this is IT and these people and their social skills lack a lot to be desired. Equipment is simply trash. So locked down by the security team. You may have a brilliant workflow efficiency but trust me, they'll ruin that. Need to install something? Nope. Need a driver update? Nope. Want something to work on that doesn't break your back when you have to pack up at the end of each shift? Nope. (You have a massive, heavy laptop and no assigned seating.) Bait and switch seems to be the name of the game here. Tell you it's one thing then several weeks of waiting and they change it all.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Apply for anything but a SOC analyst. Not HIT,SA, or DM.

      Aug 4, 2015 - SOC Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The individual teams at Dell SecureWorks are great to be on and great overall group of people. Working here can be very fun and your peers are the best thing about the company.

      Cons

      Issues with Management . You will find that many managers are lazy and don't push for your pay or support you. Dell SecureWorks pays you based on what other MSS centers pay their employees but that data is old and doesn't actually reflect the market. SOC Managers have a bad reputation inside the Secureworks division for not pushing better pay for their current employees. Working in the SOC is also uncomfortable. The SOC is a closed off part of the office and the smell is bad and you share desks/keyboards with people who have bad hygiene.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Leadership looking for Golden Parachute...Hard Impact Crash for Everyone Else...

      Nov 19, 2016 - Président/Directeur Scientifique in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great for beginners in Data Security. No educational requirements at all. 24/7/365 operation dictates schedules for all SOC analysts.

      Cons

      Lowest pay in the industry. Training is the 13th Century Model...Apprenticeship. Leadership has axed all technical job-related training initiatives in favor of apprenticeships. Layoffs for the training department are imminent. Those who don't measure up immediately are placed on a PIP (Performance Improvement Plan) which is a 30-day ticket to unemployment. Watch the stock price AND your back.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best MSSP!

      Apr 30, 2018 - Senior Cyber Security Analyst in Providence, RI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Pay (recently revamped Merit Pay Gates) - Get rewarded for accomplishments! - Benefits - People - Management - Numerous teams to move to after SOC

      Cons

      - Shift Work (pro or con depending on individual) - Client communication via phone (can be frustrating depending on client requests)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Secureworks Response

      HR Leader

      Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us! We take a lot of pride in our company culture and strive to create an environment that is enjoyable for all of our team members. We are happy to hear that you are excited about our benefits and merit pay changes, that you enjoy who you work with, and are positive about career opportunities down the road. If you have ideas for how we can contiue to grow and improve, we encourage you to bring those ideas to your managers or our culture team. You can also send feedback directly to me at anytime by writing to feedback@secureworks.com. Thanks again! ~Nic

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Pseudo Security (0 experience...no problem)

      Apr 14, 2015 - Security Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They pay you, though it is a good deal below industry standard. Also they will take anyone so if you want a job and want it in info security ......and you have 0 idea what you are doing.....welcome aboard. Don't worry though they will not do much of anything useful to train you.... while selling you to clients as the world's top engineers...you will be heavily reliant on the handful (< 5) of experienced engineers....though they will help you from time to time.....most of them aren't local....so you will be out of luck.... If that sounds stressful...don't worry...you can just say to clients, "I'll look into that" then pass the buck to someone else....which seems to be the norm as there is no true accountability beyond what your direct manager thinks of you....from your sporadic and rare interactions.

      Cons

      Low pay. Redundant non-engaging workflow. Huge disconnect b/t upper management asking for quality and middle management cracking the whip for high numbers. You have multiple bosses...all of which will individually ...at different times ask you the same question about the same account for the same reason (much like office space). There is a huge need for a dev team to stream line all the garbage tasks computers were designed to handle. You have numbers to meet and no guidance nor regard for the quality of the work you do, as there is no feed back mechanism. The quantity of work is such that impossible for management to manually review it all. Also if you are going in hoping to work your way up to the coveted Counter Threat Unit or Security Risk and Consulting Team.....it won't happen....there is someone high up who shall not be named that frowns harshly upon, teams external to the SOC taking talent from it. They even have a term for it.... they call it "poaching" and if you poach from the SOC it's bad news for you....so external team leaders shy away from it. (I'm not making this up.) If you like shift differential .....they took that away. If you like premium health care coverage....they reduce benefits each year. If you like a relaxed lunch ....day shift get 30 mins(not enough time to leave the facility) and you are clocked....so you better make it back right at the 30 min mark.....also if you are night shift lunch is "0" mins.(not joking) They don't have enough staff to allow for lunch and in GA it is not the "law" that you get one. If you like comradery, goodluck finding it here, you aren't to be lolly gagging and talking to coworkers as you will be quickly told to get back to work...also the turn over rate is so high that if you stick around for a while (a year or longer) you will look up to realize you are the only one left. Even management will have changed a few times. Don't worry though...instead of raising you up they will tell you about their HR "time in seat" policy which requires that you stay in position...While they hire external non-talent to come in and manage you. The external talent often trying to make a name for themselves are extra overbearing and of course they have no idea what you are doing...but don't worry they will guide the ship.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Secureworks Job Seekers

    SOC Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Information Security Advisor
    Learn About the Job
    Network Security Senior Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    Information Security Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Secureworks? Share Your Experiences

    or