Secureworks "soc" Reviews | Glassdoor

Secureworks Employee Reviews about "soc"

Updated 10 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Secureworks CEO Mike Cote
Mike Cote
97 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Many changes in upper management and premature go to market in sales before new service lines are ready(in 9 reviews)

  • "In the SOC there's very little trust due to the junior nature of the staff(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "soc"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Opportunity at every turn for the right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Internal jobs are easy to apply for and I have received 4 promotions during my tenure. The move policy for Dell is great as you can move around every 1.5 years given the right openings. Working remotely for the last 5 years has been a dream. Many people question whether they could pull it off. I don't have those issues because I'm focused and I know how to do my job well. Being able to move around the country has changed the direction of my life! SecureWorks Managers will take on people who don't necessarily fit the job but can grow into it. There's a ton of opportunity if you can rise to meet the challenges. Certs, Training, SANS etc. Dell has invested in multiple SANS certs and tuition reimbursement for many years. The maximum just went up to $5,250 a year!

    Cons

    I've had 12 managers during my tenure. Many different personalities from counting my bathroom break time to never talking at all. In the SOC there's very little trust due to the junior nature of the staff. I can't say there are any systemic issues honestly it just depends who's managing you. They give a lot of Jr. Managers change so it's double-edged. You may not want to be managed by somebody less experienced. Glue People: I work around tons of people who do exactly what you tell them but nothing else - the company can't or won't let them go. I call them glue people because they tend to stick onto you and collect money as long as possible. Many of them are making 100k+ and do 1/3 of what some of the hard-working people in the SOC do. There are many people getting paid too much for what they put out. They have bad attitudes, defensive, and very egotistical. Mostly that's the 5+ year folks.

    Continue reading
    Secureworks2019-02-20

    Secureworks Response

    February 25, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such thorough feedback. It is great to see both the positive side and areas of improvement that you have observed from your 8+ years with us. We are always looking for opportunities to improve our work environment and provide more positive experiences for our employees worldwide. If you have more ideas that you feel would help us with this ongoing goal, we would love to hear from you! Please reach out to your manager, our culture team, or me directly at feedback@secureworks.com. Thank you! Tom

    Continue reading
  2. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Security Senior Analyst 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Secureworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked in the SOC. It was good experience for me as I was still new to the industry. I was given SANS training and had two days working from home a week. I'm not sure if that's still a thing though as this was in 2016-2017. Management was flexible on snow days and would ask for feedback on what could be done better.

    Cons

    There was very high turnover on my team and no opportunity to move elsewhere in the company (outside of the SOC). I wasn't able to apply to certain positions I was interested in internally even though I held the same role for 2+ years. The job can get stressful sometimes as I didn't always have someone to escalate if I needed help. It definitely felt like it was sink or swim sometimes.

    Secureworks2019-10-10
  3. "SecureWorks Providence offers Career Growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SOC Analyst in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The SecureWorks Security Analysis team is the best there is and what's amazing is how willing the team is to share their knowledge and help you along. The management is amazing and they really take care of you, from helping you set goals to introducing you to all the options for a career in cyber security. They offer training time every single week and ride-alongs so you can learn from other organizations like PenTest, Engineering, Incident Response

    Cons

    The SOC is 24x7x365 so be prepared to take a shift that you may not initially like, but there is always opportunity to change. Also they are strict about being on-time for your shift as you're coming in so another team member can go home and they want to be sure you respect each other

    Continue reading
    Secureworks2019-02-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Services - Culture lacking bedside manner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ontario in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Secureworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Services - leader in MSSP. Excellent product team, SOC Team, vast array of security services. It great to sell Secureworks to prospects.

    Cons

    Produce or be threatened with termination. Soul-less management style, only numbers count to management - people are expendable. Great place to gain sales experience and then leave.

    Secureworks2018-05-30
  5. "Best MSSP!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cyber Security Analyst in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pay (recently revamped Merit Pay Gates) - Get rewarded for accomplishments! - Benefits - People - Management - Numerous teams to move to after SOC

    Cons

    - Shift Work (pro or con depending on individual) - Client communication via phone (can be frustrating depending on client requests)

    Continue reading
    Secureworks2018-04-30

    Secureworks Response

    October 23, 2018HR Leader

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us! We take a lot of pride in our company culture and strive to create an environment that is enjoyable for all of our team members. We are happy to hear that you are excited about our benefits and merit pay changes, that you enjoy who you work with, and are positive about career opportunities down the road. If you have ideas for how we can contiue to grow and improve, we encourage you to bring those ideas to your managers or our culture team. You can also send feedback directly to me at anytime by writing to feedback@secureworks.com. Thanks again! ~Nic

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Leadership looking for Golden Parachute...Hard Impact Crash for Everyone Else..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Analysis Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great for beginners in Data Security. No educational requirements at all. 24/7/365 operation dictates schedules for all SOC analysts.

    Cons

    Lowest pay in the industry. Training is the 13th Century Model...Apprenticeship. Leadership has axed all technical job-related training initiatives in favor of apprenticeships. Layoffs for the training department are imminent. Those who don't measure up immediately are placed on a PIP (Performance Improvement Plan) which is a 30-day ticket to unemployment. Watch the stock price AND your back.

    Continue reading
    Secureworks2016-11-19
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Hurry up and wait, we have to change your employment rules ... Again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Security Analyst in Suwanee, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The other people in the SOC will help as much as they can and the mood is generally laid back. There are adequate resources to get the job done but no real thorough explanation on how to use them. You'll learn tons of off the cuff scripting and there are always people who can help you figure out how to automate something.

    Cons

    Managers are employees who did the job well but this is IT and these people and their social skills lack a lot to be desired. Equipment is simply trash. So locked down by the security team. You may have a brilliant workflow efficiency but trust me, they'll ruin that. Need to install something? Nope. Need a driver update? Nope. Want something to work on that doesn't break your back when you have to pack up at the end of each shift? Nope. (You have a massive, heavy laptop and no assigned seating.) Bait and switch seems to be the name of the game here. Tell you it's one thing then several weeks of waiting and they change it all.

    Continue reading
    Secureworks2015-10-19
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Hello, Training?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time

    Pros

    The culture of the overall company is good, but NOT in the SOC

    Cons

    Severe lack of training (unless you consider making people sit "in the dark" for weeks training). Audits are a means to psychologically torture employees - they *always* find something wrong, and do not help improve.

    Continue reading
    Secureworks2015-10-27
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Apply for anything but a SOC analyst. Not HIT,SA, or DM."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SOC Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time

    Pros

    The individual teams at Dell SecureWorks are great to be on and great overall group of people. Working here can be very fun and your peers are the best thing about the company.

    Cons

    Issues with Management . You will find that many managers are lazy and don't push for your pay or support you. Dell SecureWorks pays you based on what other MSS centers pay their employees but that data is old and doesn't actually reflect the market. SOC Managers have a bad reputation inside the Secureworks division for not pushing better pay for their current employees. Working in the SOC is also uncomfortable. The SOC is a closed off part of the office and the smell is bad and you share desks/keyboards with people who have bad hygiene.

    Continue reading
    Secureworks2015-08-04
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Inhumane treatment, low pay, mental abuse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - A2 SOC Analyst in Lisle, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paycheck, poor insurance and it is a job although you may not want it on your resume as many places have stopped accepting Secureworks "talent"

    Cons

    Everything else. This place exists for the managers and in group to constantly pick on and belittle the our group. Recent management changes expect military discipline on broken antiquated systems never meant to do what they do. You can never do any thing right in the SOC so just come for the paycheck and do whatever they tell you to.

    Continue reading
    Secureworks2015-08-12
Found 15 reviews