KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Secureworks

Engaged Employer

Secureworks

Add a Review

Secureworks Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 379 reviews

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Secureworks President and CEO Mike Cote
Mike Cote
169 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance has been fantastic and the people I work with have been great(in 24 reviews)

  • "Flexibility to work from home or work off hours(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "All deals had to go through upper management for approval(in 11 reviews)

  • "In the SOC there's very little trust due to the junior nature of the staff(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Secureworks and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Direct Sales

      Jul 30, 2017 - Direct Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome support with great earning potential and proven methodology.

      Cons

      Many changes in upper management and premature go to market in sales before new service lines are ready. Just be careful not to project something as available until service is ready to be sold. No big concerns here. Pros outweigh cons considerably.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      No Trust and Confusing Place to Work

      Oct 15, 2020 - Solutions Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed the ability to work from home. For the most part, the work/life balance was great. For awhile, I did enjoy the work I did. The people are great. There are some really talented and knowledgeable people that work there. I just think they miss out on tapping into that talent effectively. I'm really struggling with this review. I spent a lot of time working with Secureworks. I was hoping to spend many more years at the company. Unfortunately, it didn't work out that way. I don't want this to come across as a flaming session, but maybe it will help the company improve, and hopefully help someone new evaluate if this is the right environment for them to jump into.

      Cons

      There really are a lot to list. In general, though, the biggest con with working here is the culture. Rules, processes, and even career objectives are created by the top managers without input from the people that actually do the work. It seemed like every few months there were new rules/processes put in place. Just when the business got into a rhythm, the processes change. The workers who are "instructed" to follow these rules try to follow them. When someone goes crying to the management about the changes, exceptions are allowed, thus undermining the staff who were trying to follow and adopt them. This happened over and over again to the point of me not bothering to even try following the new processes and instead direct complaints to management. Common statements I heard, "I didn't create the rules/processes, I just have to follow them. If you have complaints, speak to ." Absolutely zero delegation. All deals had to go through upper management for approval. In what world is it 'ok' that the CEO has to approve individual deals on a regular basis? Absolutely ludicrous. I can see "occasional" large deal situations, but this was common practice. New direction to a software company is a huge mistake in my opinion. May help shareholder value but it doesn't help the customer or the employees career opportunities. I really question if the decisions made live up to the Company Values so often promoted internally.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Secureworks Response

      Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience here was not as positive as we'd like for it to have been. We are always looking for opportunities to make positive changes to our workplace environment for our employees worldwide. If you have comments about how your experience could have been improved, I welcome you to reach out to me at feedback@secureworks.com. Thank you!

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      C level management out for themselves...

      Jan 14, 2020 - Sales in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Used to be a great organization 2017/2018... new VP’s and directors took over- they don’t recognize hard workers and Côte promotes a good ole boy culture.. to all the amazing hard workers left... get out, there’s a life after secureworks.

      Cons

      Manipulating, political driven upper management. None of them want to get anything done, but want to get ahead by stepping over the hard workers- no direction, or culture.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Secureworks Response

      Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience here was not as positive as we'd like for it to have been. We are always looking for opportunities to make positive changes to our workplace environment for our employees worldwide. If you have specific comments about how your experience could have been improved, I welcome you to reach out to me at feedback@secureworks.com. Thank you, Tom

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Management Disarray With a Complete Inability to Install and Support

      Mar 17, 2017 - Security Specialist in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CEO is a honorable man with solid business accumen Good benefits Great research team ("CTU") with brilliant research leader Company COULD be great, but doesn't seem to know how to support growth

      Cons

      middle and upper management incompetency, executive is sound too many customers, inability to scale install team has no motivation to finish jobs operations too busy, missing alerts and causing massive customer issues The buddy system (good ol' boys) runs RAMPANT here Used to have a great inside sales focus, went downhill. Current inside sales management trying to fix it, but outside sales management and up tend to ruin things

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Old-Fashioned and Toxic

      Jul 18, 2015 -  in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can get some first-hand knowledge of the security industry. Depending on what department you're in you may have the opportunity to perform a broader range of tasks than you would at a larger company.

      Cons

      With few exceptions, it's a toxic organization. It's very old-fashioned in how it operates internally for a technology company. Upper management is a combination of machismo, salesmanship and aw-shucks faux-southern charm. Also of note is how the entire company is run by sales with almost no real effort to bring in business by simply attracting it. I witnessed a steady exodus of talent in my time there and an increasing inability to attract impressive candidates.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      I was warned I wouldn't learn anything and after several years I've learned very little.

      Jun 22, 2011 - Software Developer II in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice location. Sharp people. Flexible hours.

      Cons

      Management too conceited over success. Upper management is very good at finance and sales but terrible with software development. Software goals are too short sighted and too ambitious. Many projects get developed and fail. Quality is bad because of doing too much with too little and it shows in the amount of production support required. Many of the grunts are more concerned about chasing shiny new tools than doing a good job. Overall lack of experience. Basically a ditto of the comments from other engineers.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Pseudo Security (0 experience...no problem)

      Apr 14, 2015 - Security Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They pay you, though it is a good deal below industry standard. Also they will take anyone so if you want a job and want it in info security ......and you have 0 idea what you are doing.....welcome aboard. Don't worry though they will not do much of anything useful to train you.... while selling you to clients as the world's top engineers...you will be heavily reliant on the handful (< 5) of experienced engineers....though they will help you from time to time.....most of them aren't local....so you will be out of luck.... If that sounds stressful...don't worry...you can just say to clients, "I'll look into that" then pass the buck to someone else....which seems to be the norm as there is no true accountability beyond what your direct manager thinks of you....from your sporadic and rare interactions.

      Cons

      Low pay. Redundant non-engaging workflow. Huge disconnect b/t upper management asking for quality and middle management cracking the whip for high numbers. You have multiple bosses...all of which will individually ...at different times ask you the same question about the same account for the same reason (much like office space). There is a huge need for a dev team to stream line all the garbage tasks computers were designed to handle. You have numbers to meet and no guidance nor regard for the quality of the work you do, as there is no feed back mechanism. The quantity of work is such that impossible for management to manually review it all. Also if you are going in hoping to work your way up to the coveted Counter Threat Unit or Security Risk and Consulting Team.....it won't happen....there is someone high up who shall not be named that frowns harshly upon, teams external to the SOC taking talent from it. They even have a term for it.... they call it "poaching" and if you poach from the SOC it's bad news for you....so external team leaders shy away from it. (I'm not making this up.) If you like shift differential .....they took that away. If you like premium health care coverage....they reduce benefits each year. If you like a relaxed lunch ....day shift get 30 mins(not enough time to leave the facility) and you are clocked....so you better make it back right at the 30 min mark.....also if you are night shift lunch is "0" mins.(not joking) They don't have enough staff to allow for lunch and in GA it is not the "law" that you get one. If you like comradery, goodluck finding it here, you aren't to be lolly gagging and talking to coworkers as you will be quickly told to get back to work...also the turn over rate is so high that if you stick around for a while (a year or longer) you will look up to realize you are the only one left. Even management will have changed a few times. Don't worry though...instead of raising you up they will tell you about their HR "time in seat" policy which requires that you stay in position...While they hire external non-talent to come in and manage you. The external talent often trying to make a name for themselves are extra overbearing and of course they have no idea what you are doing...but don't worry they will guide the ship.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Luster's off the rose

      Mar 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people there. They're sometimes ego blinded though. Their competitiors aren't lacking in smarts.

      Cons

      Sheer upper management chaos Market puffery - smoke and mirrors

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Dell SecureWorks

      Jul 29, 2015 - Senior Computer Security Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great CTU team. Very talented group.

      Cons

      SIEM Product is not very good. Middle and upper management are out of touch with what is going on on the ground.

      9 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Software run like a marketing company

      Feb 4, 2010 -  in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is stable, easy profession if you have no passion for what you do.

      Cons

      The upper management are MBA mentality and have little software experience. If you want to live in the Mythical Man Month this is the place to work.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Secureworks Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Secureworks? Share Your Experiences

    or