KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Secureworks

Engaged Employer

Secureworks

Add a Review

Secureworks Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Oct 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 379 reviews

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Secureworks President and CEO Mike Cote
Mike Cote
168 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance has been fantastic and the people I work with have been great(in 24 reviews)

  • "Flexibility to work from home or work off hours(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "All deals had to go through upper management for approval(in 11 reviews)

  • "In the SOC there's very little trust due to the junior nature of the staff(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Secureworks and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work from home"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Work Environment and Work/Life Balance

      Dec 12, 2018 - Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -The ability to work from home. -Great Benefits (including discounts on computers). -Work/Life balance.

      Cons

      -unable to think of one.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      No Trust and Confusing Place to Work

      Oct 15, 2020 - Solutions Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed the ability to work from home. For the most part, the work/life balance was great. For awhile, I did enjoy the work I did. The people are great. There are some really talented and knowledgeable people that work there. I just think they miss out on tapping into that talent effectively. I'm really struggling with this review. I spent a lot of time working with Secureworks. I was hoping to spend many more years at the company. Unfortunately, it didn't work out that way. I don't want this to come across as a flaming session, but maybe it will help the company improve, and hopefully help someone new evaluate if this is the right environment for them to jump into.

      Cons

      There really are a lot to list. In general, though, the biggest con with working here is the culture. Rules, processes, and even career objectives are created by the top managers without input from the people that actually do the work. It seemed like every few months there were new rules/processes put in place. Just when the business got into a rhythm, the processes change. The workers who are "instructed" to follow these rules try to follow them. When someone goes crying to the management about the changes, exceptions are allowed, thus undermining the staff who were trying to follow and adopt them. This happened over and over again to the point of me not bothering to even try following the new processes and instead direct complaints to management. Common statements I heard, "I didn't create the rules/processes, I just have to follow them. If you have complaints, speak to ." Absolutely zero delegation. All deals had to go through upper management for approval. In what world is it 'ok' that the CEO has to approve individual deals on a regular basis? Absolutely ludicrous. I can see "occasional" large deal situations, but this was common practice. New direction to a software company is a huge mistake in my opinion. May help shareholder value but it doesn't help the customer or the employees career opportunities. I really question if the decisions made live up to the Company Values so often promoted internally.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Secureworks Response

      Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience here was not as positive as we'd like for it to have been. We are always looking for opportunities to make positive changes to our workplace environment for our employees worldwide. If you have comments about how your experience could have been improved, I welcome you to reach out to me at feedback@secureworks.com. Thank you!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Growth & Advancement Opportunities; Solid Benefits & Work-Life Balance

      Nov 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Growth - During my time at Secureworks I have had many opportunities to collaborate with more experienced team members on various projects, and through this have gained a great deal of valuable experience myself. -Recognition - My leader(s) have gone out of their way to recognize my accomplishments and hard work. When I express my goals and career interests, I've been given opportunities to grow and learn in those areas. -Benefits - The benefits are through Dell Technologies and are great; the time-off policy is very generous. -Flexible work environment - This likely varies by team, but I've had several different managers during my time at Secureworks and all have been very understanding of the need for flex hours, work from home, time away, etc.

      Cons

      -Tools & Processes - Sometimes we slow ourselves down. There is recognition of this from leadership and work is being done to improve. I can't wait to see how things change over the next year! -Cross-team collaboration - Sometimes communication between teams can be lacking. You have to go out of your way to get to know people that aren't on your team that you may not work with regularly.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Company Review

      Feb 5, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance work from home

      Cons

      too many reorganizations for me

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A company with a good cause, that does the right thing

      Oct 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexibility to work from home or work off hours - Leadership cares about the people and typically works to do the right thing when issues arise - Great benefits and time off - Flat management - Clear message with frequent all hands status meetings - Continually developing new security tools and patents to improve security posture

      Cons

      Some red tape associated with being a Dell company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Product Marketing Manager

      Nov 7, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's easy to be passionate about working for the best MSSP in the industry on the leading edge of innovating new cybersecurity solutions. Employees are able to work from home or remotely fairly frequently. Employees are constantly coached to be self starters and take ownership. You work with the best cybersecurity experts in the industry. Every week service excellence for our customers is emphasized and drilled into everyone's heads. If there is a customer problem, it's a big deal to everyone. -3 weeks vacation minimum -1 week vacation at the end of the year (all employees) -small company culture with corporate benefits -our IT team fixes your problem immediately (unlike Dell's IT team which can result in several days of being offline)

      Cons

      If you aren't prepared to crank out a lot of work, don't even bother applying. You'll be unsuccessful after just a few months. (Work life balance is good so long as you are efficient during working hours and get things done). Still somewhat immature processes for going to market with a new solution as we grow into more than just a services company. Extremely high learning curve. After you've mastered one solution, something else even more complex to learn is on the roadmap. (To me this is a positive that makes work interesting, but some may not think so). Pay is less than competitors in the cybersecurity space.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Operations

      Dec 12, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work from home options, being part of a dynamic industry, some of the benefits of being part of Dell.

      Cons

      Slow to change and improve business process

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not a place that promotes non-white males

      Dec 6, 2018 - Senior Security Engineer in Aurora, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is fairly decent. Employees sometimes get the option to work from home.

      Cons

      Managers don't trust their employees to do the right thing for clients. Putting in a 48-hour work weekend is rewarded, and praised. (People need to REST to survive). There are no clear programs for lower-level employees to rise in the company. People who are not white males can forget having any type of promotion, period. FORGET IT; non-white-males stay at the bottom of the company forever.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Development Teams Undervalued

      Nov 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong work-from-home culture and work/life balance.

      Cons

      Management often more reactionary than proactionary. More and more offshoring, often involving bottom-of-the-barrel developers. Management sees little distinction between over- and under-performers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fast-paced, Entrepreneurial, Cool Technology

      Jul 19, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, stable mid-sized company in cyber security that gets to leverage the positive aspects of a technology powerhouse (Dell Technologies - i.e., latest, greatest technology, solid benefits, good pay, etc.); Smart, passionate people work here; Constant focus on process improvement; Opportunities to give back locally and internationally (i.e., yearly humanitarian volunteer trip to Nicaragua); Learning, growth opportunities; Flexible work options (work from home)

      Cons

      If your role involves partnership with the Dell team, sometimes you have to be very resourceful with navigating the system; SCWS is a global organization so if you work with different parts of the world, sometimes you have to be flexible in scheduling to accommodate different time zones

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Secureworks Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Secureworks? Share Your Experiences

    or