Security Benefit Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Security Benefit Group Reviews

Updated Feb 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Security Benefit Group CEO Michael Kiley (no image)
Michael Kiley
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Great people and benefits offered(in 4 reviews)

  • "Fast paced, diverse, growing company with plenty of learning opportunity(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Location - Topeka Kansas is not that attractive(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IT Support 

    I worked at Security Benefit Group full-time

    Pros

    Team culture Compensation Great leadership on teams I worked with

    Cons

    Finance Industry Line of work not interesting for some

    Security Benefit Group2020-02-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Air Talent 

    I worked at Security Benefit Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and benefits offered.

    Cons

    No training to teach you how to accurately do your job.

    Security Benefit Group2020-01-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not as great as everyone thinks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Associate in Topeka, KS
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Security Benefit Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of your coworkers are easy to get along with. Pay and benefits are decent.

    Cons

    Management can DEFINITELY improve. You are given tasks and expected to do those tasks BUT there is very little build up from there. Very little additional training. Don't expect to move up. You will be hired into that position and then remain there until you quit or retire. If you want to move up, you need to leave the company and return. I saw very few people promote from within without leaving. All your work is due by the time you get it. There is a huge focus on getting things done earlier, but it always seems late at the beginning of the process and then everyone is trying to play catch up.

    Continue reading
    Security Benefit Group2019-08-05
  4. "No teamwork at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Security Benefit Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good benefits and pay, good work/life balance, remote access

    Cons

    Horrible systems and technology, co-workers are only there for themselves, off-shore back office, no team-work, managers are in meetings ALL THE TIME, no feedback

    Continue reading
    Security Benefit Group2019-06-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Location is bad for people who live outside Topeka area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 

    I have been working at Security Benefit Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefit and working environment. Pay is fair.

    Cons

    Don't have many young professions work there

    Security Benefit Group2019-05-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Was good, not so much anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Security Benefit Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Job security, growth is encouraged, additional training provided that can be used in different job markets.

    Cons

    No support, raises are becoming few and far between, no consistency or communication.

    Continue reading
    Security Benefit Group2019-04-29
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Security Benefit Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Facility, Benefits, Industry, People, Location

    Cons

    Limited advancement opportunities; non-officers not paid as well as they should be

    Continue reading
    Security Benefit Group2019-02-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Auditor in Topeka, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Security Benefit Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My specific team is incredibly flexible. Working from home, time off if needed, and very understanding management. As well as management that always fights for you and not against you.

    Cons

    It is hard to be recognized for great performance, as a staff member, you don’t have a whole lot of exposure to upper management.

    Security Benefit Group2019-01-23
  9. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Topeka, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Security Benefit Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful co-workers. Every one is great at working together. Plus the company is always looking at ways to improve processes. Plus they have a cafeteria in the building.

    Cons

    Moving from a position like Staff Accountant I to a II can take some time prodding Management to get it done.

    Security Benefit Group2019-01-22
  10. "Great company for career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Security Benefit Group full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, diverse, growing company with plenty of learning opportunity.

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons

    Security Benefit Group2018-08-25
Found 54 reviews