KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Seedling USA

Is this your company?

Seedling USA

Add a Review

Seedling USA Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 of over 24 reviews

2.4
24%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Seedling USA CEO Phoebe Hayman (no image)
Phoebe Hayman
16 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great people, Big Vision

    Apr 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We get to make amazing products for kids and make an impact on the lives of families. The office space is creative and there are great perks - lunch on friday, stocked with snacks, and a great neighborhood for coffee, ice cream and lunches out. Great energy around new product lines and big opportunities

    Cons

    Office is big and team can feel spread out. You want space but also requires teams to focus on collaboration as a priority because it won't happen naturally due to office layout.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    StartUp that didn't make it-Not much to say

    Dec 5, 2020 - Key Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great in house perks and fun environment

    Cons

    Lack of long-term strategy and vision.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Closed Now.

    Jul 10, 2019 - Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Seedling has been closed for over a year now. It's worth noting how driven, resilient and talented the employees were; I am lucky to have worked alongside them. Additionally, the company made innovative and meaningful children's products that the team truly believed in.

    Cons

    The company was failing, which caused immense pressure. There were unrealistic expectations and demands put on undervalued employees. The environment was chaotic, stressful and full of mistrust; the instability was palpable.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Completely mis-managed mess, but great product line

    Mar 27, 2019 - Multiple Positions 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fun start up atmosphere and great office location

    Cons

    so many, but it is closed now

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Start up without the Start up culture

    Jan 21, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company has brought on a great team of people. The talent, knowledge and passion is there - especially on the senior team. Healthcare is covered at 95%.

    Cons

    Great people brought in, but not trusted to do their jobs. Mis-utilized senior talent to do menial tasks. Employee morale is low. Benefits are extremely sub-par - with the exception of healthcare which is covered almost 100%. Bad time off policy. Minimum sick days to fit the law (3 per year). No parking (downtown Los Angeles - up to $10 a day to park with no reimbursement). Snacks provided are unhealthy. Expectations are high but trust and appreciation are very low. Do not fix problems before they happen, even with foresight, but wait until they pile up to address.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    The best place

    May 31, 2016 -  in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people here are good, hard working people who like a laugh. They're also making really cool products for kids. There is ALOT to do but this is a good thing. I love coming here and being a part of something this amazing. Everyone is really hard working and caring so i don't know where the other people worked but it hasn't been my experience. It's the best place I have ever worked.

    Cons

    Parking is hard, but this is LA. I hope they are going to solve this, they said they are so I am going to wait. Also there seemed to be some negative energy from people that have left but just ignore it.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Growing Pains

    Nov 22, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting product vision and lots of big opportunities ahead for this company. Lots of work to do always, you will never get bored! Good salary.

    Cons

    Office is downtown and no parking is provided on site which means some days you will pay up to 10$ to park and they do not reimburse. Sick and vacation policy is not at all generous and there are blackout dates. No 401k plan, no stock options. This is not necessarily a tech company but they really want to portray the image that they are, which has created a confusing corporate culture.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    There's not one thing I don't love about Seedling

    Jun 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It actually saddens me to see the reviews posted by previous employees - some who I am sure I have bumped elbows with. My hope is that they are no longer with the company because they totally don't deserve to be in such an amazing place with that kind of negative outlook. - The people we are working with daily are truly a delight to be around. Such a positive turn around in the energy since my start last year. A lot of negative Nancy's have left the building. - You get what you give! If you put the hard work in - it will not go unnoticed. - Phoebe listens and is a true delight! EVERY single morning she personally takes the time to say "Hello/Good morning!" and ask me how I am personally doing or feeling. She truly does have an open door policy - I know because I walk right in and have no problem talking to her (when the door is literally open) If it is not, it's probably because she is busy or pre occupied. How is a CEO expected not to be? I do believe she cares about her employees, I've really felt nothing but love and positive energy to get my job done from her. I have dealt with a bad CEO.... and Phoebe is FAR from one. - Collaboration! We have the ability to collaborate with some AMAZING and TALENTED individuals daily. It's all about what you give in and take out of the day. - Office space is beautiful and well kept. Fridge is stocked. Cabinets have snacks. - Enjoying what you do daily. I would say a good 9/10 of the employees enjoy what they are doing and what they are creating daily. - Senior management team is great: My personal boss is the type of individual who drives me to be a better version of myself both in my personal life and at Seedling. - Opportunity for growth: Seedling is doing nothing but growing and I am along for the ride.

    Cons

    - The homeless man who resides in our window - Some employees really keep to themselves and I wish would branch out more! - Sometimes it gets really cold in the building and we have what I like to call "Thermostat Battles" - Parking (This is DTLA - what do you expect)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    it is really a sad place to work

    Jul 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nothing really, unless you count that the bathrooms are clean...

    Cons

    First off, this place does not take care of their employees. You have to pay $7 every day at a meter to park so you don't get a $90 parking ticket waiting for you when you walk back to your car. They do not reimburse you for this, it's part of your daily expense. You can't get any work done here because no one has any idea what they are doing. All they do is have unproductive meetings after meetings just wasting time and going in circles. Terrible management and it's draining to constantly have leaders who can't make up their minds, are highly emotional, and just don't have enough experience to really call themselves a director or a vice president. When did start ups all become about promotions and big titles for people who really don't have the right experience or enough experience?

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Seedling USA Response

    Human Resources and Office Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback on your experience at Seedling. We value your opinion and would have loved the opportunity to work through some of these issues with you while you were here. We are committed to forging new paths, delivering creative solutions and to developing future leaders and we would have loved to make you a more inclusive part of this experience. We have secured an option for employee parking and are working on implementation of this employee benefit to solve our parking situation, which is a challenge for most DTLA companies. As the vibrant Arts District area develops, we expect this to improve. Our best wishes for future success and happiness.

  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Humble Company, NEEDS Highly Experienced Leadership

    Jun 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A children's lifestyle company that has so much potential to become the best and most respected toy company in the world, if only it was under the right leadership that shares the vision, obsession, and ambition to go BIG. This company holds a core human truth in humanity, so capable of having all children in the world by the palm of their hands begging for these products to fly off retailers shelves. Entering and Leaving still thinking the same: This company holds the power to become the Coca-Cola of the toy industry. Because it's in the name. With solid values, caring-loving employees, there is no doubt that this can continue to grow. These are some fundamental ingredients to a successful powerful company.

    Cons

    But with every hard-working and loving employee, solid values, spoiled with weekly lunches and breakfasts (which by the way, please save that $, they don't need to be fed with such current financial crisis, a dedicated group will understand if they want to keep their jobs), the results are still not being met due to poor leadership direction. The face of leadership gives the company a face of 'a deer in headlights'. Employees will stay super late, while most leadership will leave at 5 on the dot. Employees work weekend events, give their 110% and not get considered for promotions, no paid comp days, or ideas to be considered by leadership. You will hit a wall because Leadership will brush off anything to keep their 'high' status, keep you at the bottom, treat you like bottom, and then you suddenly feel the dark side of this 'once a great' company. Seedling isn't much so 'seedling' after all.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

Work at Seedling USA? Share Your Experiences

Seedling USA logo
or