Seiler "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Seiler Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Seiler Chief Executive Officer and Partner George D. Marinos (no image)
George D. Marinos
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have fun events, and our needs are taken care of during busy season(in 12 reviews)

  • "Fully stocked kitchen, bonuses during tax season(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Several managers left on left in the middle of busy season, more(in 13 reviews)

  • "Long hours on busy seasons, overtime usually runs till midnight(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Great culture makes a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Supervisor in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Biggest pro is definitely being able to work with great colleagues who will become your close friends. Coworkers are always willing to help and will always find a way to make time for you. It's definitely not a sink-or-swim environment here though you are held to a high standard. The benefits package is fantastic (PTO, medical/dental/vision, 401K, etc), and is very competitive in the market. There are also a lot of trainings and CPE seminars available throughout the year. The company is growing quickly resulting in a lot of career advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    You do work long hours sometimes, as that is the nature of tax season, but you will have plenty of opportunities to take time off/vacation during the off season. Also, there are fun events organized during tax season and off season which are always appreciated.

    Continue reading
    Seiler2016-04-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Long hours on a busy seasons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is competitive with a complete benefits package. There are company events and activities that gets the employees out of the monotony. Though some people find the activities to be "too much"

    Cons

    Working on your desk all day and everyday, job is monotonous. Long hours on busy seasons, overtime usually runs till midnight. Same with getting a promotion, it runs long and go way past overdue till you get one or maybe not getting promoted at all.

    Continue reading
    Seiler2020-02-12

    Seiler Response

    February 27, 2020HR Team Member

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re glad to hear you are pleased with the competitive pay and comprehensive benefits we extend to all team members, as well as the numerous activities we organize throughout the year so that everyone can enjoy a change of pace. Our aim is to create opportunities to interact with colleagues across the company with these activities, and we find that different things appeal to different people which is why there is such a variety. We are always open to suggestions and hope you will let us know what you’d like to see in the future. For example, what were some of your ideas about additional “facilities in the workplace”? We are committed to providing achievable opportunities for advancement and appealing career paths to all employees. Since you do not feel this is the case, please talk to us so we can start a conversation. We invite you to connect with a firm leader or HR team member of your choosing at any time. We very much believe that our collective success can only be accomplished with two-way dialog. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "No guarantees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Seiler full-time

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are competitive and more than what you expect, with free food and bonuses.

    Cons

    The company structure does not give a lot of chances for a career advancement. With the number of CPA's in the company plus the newly grads, you'll be fighting hard for a position in the company and that's only when the head of the department either retires, left the company, or got fired. After all the long hours, late nights, overtime, and working on a holiday, there is no guarantee for anyone.

    Continue reading
    Seiler2020-01-17

    Seiler Response

    January 31, 2020HR Team Member

    Seiler is committed to developing the skills of every one of our team members. As you know, everyone who joins the firm is assigned a mentor and provided hands-on assistance in planning and executing a career path. Furthermore, we have formal policies designed to ensure our firm is comprised of individuals with diverse backgrounds who have long and rewarding tenures with us. This allows us to serve our clients best. Our business has experienced consistent organic growth over the last 60 years, generating a multitude of opportunities for advancement. Just this month, we had the honor of elevating one professional to partner and promoted 46 other people across the firm in nearly every department. We depend on our employees at every level to provide exceptional service to our clients, and we train everyone to assume increasing levels of responsibility. We also know that this journey toward excellence involves partnering with people to overcome their limitations and perfect their strengths, which requires commitment from both the employee and the firm. Working with individuals to help them realize success takes time and dedication, and it's an investment we are happy to make. This is our business model and ethos, and has been for decades. Therefore, your commentary is deeply disappointing, because it is inconsistent with our deepest held values. One of our other values is communication. We see that you are a former employee. If you were still here, we would have invited you to explore the issues you raise in a confidential conversation with a firm leader of your choosing. Since you are no longer with our firm, we wish you the best on what comes next for you. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  4. "Work here if public accounting is for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Tax Preparer in San Jose, CA

    I worked at Seiler for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly co-workers - Food provided during busy deadlines - The work can get challenging sometimes

    Cons

    - Very long hours during deadlines

    Seiler2019-05-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time

    Pros

    company perks and events through out busy season

    Cons

    long hours with no clear career growth path

    Seiler2018-10-25
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Great clients, poor morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time

    Pros

    Growing company, definitely will be exposed to a great variety of work and learn a lot. Good incentives during tax season such as meals, massages, gift cards. Company indicates you can work from home but it seems to be perceived as a negative.

    Cons

    Bring in business or you will be on the outside circle. Long hours even though work/life balance is stressed. Administration seems to be focused in the wrong areas, should be bringing in higher level people to help with the mentoring/training of staff and should be looking to fix outdated technology.

    Continue reading
    Seiler2015-12-09
  7. "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Staff Accountant in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a great work environment. Most employees are more than willing to help out and assist with any problems you might encounter.

    Cons

    It is a public accounting firm so you will work long hours during busy season, but is still very manageable

    Seiler2014-11-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, great firm!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time

    Pros

    The people here really make this place. I have worked at some awful places before and I feel like the majority of the people are very friendly and supportive. I feel like hard work does get noticed and rewarded. The benefits are also great. It is really nice to be part of a growing firm.

    Cons

    You can expect to work long hours and sometimes it is difficult to get questions answered since management is extremely busy.

    Seiler2014-08-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to built your Career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to develop personal growth, Fun and exciting place to work. Lots of great employee benefits, incentives and perks that you get working for Seiler. Fun committee plans various of activities thru out the year to motivate employees to work here.

    Cons

    Working long hours during tax season but it all com

    Continue reading
    Seiler2014-07-30
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Overworked with bad communication and organization."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Tax Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Seiler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HR was great and very receptive. Location of offices were central and fellow staff are friendly.

    Cons

    Extremely long hours and days during busy season. 40 days straight without a day off. No concept of work life balance and bad communication between management and staff about responsibilities and performance.

    Continue reading
    Seiler2014-07-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews