Seiler "tax season" Reviews | Glassdoor

Seiler Employee Reviews about "tax season"

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Seiler Chief Executive Officer and Partner George D. Marinos (no image)
George D. Marinos
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have fun events, and our needs are taken care of during busy season(in 12 reviews)

  • "Fully stocked kitchen, bonuses during tax season(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Several managers left on left in the middle of busy season, more(in 13 reviews)

  • "Long hours on busy seasons, overtime usually runs till midnight(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "tax season"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Litigation Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working at Seiler. Working here has been a great experience: the firm is friendly, accommodating, and genuinely wants me to succeed both personally and professionally. They are supporting me in my business development efforts as well as my professional efforts. The stability at Seiler is amazing as is working with high and ultra-high net worth individuals. I work in the litigation department and work closely with family law attorneys. The relationships they have built, and encourage me to build, with these attorneys is wonderful.

    Cons

    I don't work tax however, as can be expected, the tax-season hours can be long (as with anywhere).

    Seiler2019-01-09
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Worst Tax Season Ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Accountant in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The food during tax season

    Cons

    Unorganized management and support staff. Issues seems to be getting worse easy tax season. Don’t appreciate the long meetings when we can be getting actual work done

    Continue reading
    Seiler2019-09-15

    Seiler Response

    November 4, 2019Marketing Team Member

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re aware that significant recent changes to the tax code contributed to making the 2019 tax season a particularly busy one at Seiler, as was the case at firms nationwide. We will take what you’ve said into consideration – in fact we would truly appreciate having the chance to speak with you so we can better understand your experience and hear your thoughts on how we can improve. If you’re amenable, please reach out to HR and we’ll go from there. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Nice Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Seiler full-time

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen, bonuses during tax season

    Cons

    Not much communication between employees

    Seiler2017-02-12
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great culture makes a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Supervisor in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Biggest pro is definitely being able to work with great colleagues who will become your close friends. Coworkers are always willing to help and will always find a way to make time for you. It's definitely not a sink-or-swim environment here though you are held to a high standard. The benefits package is fantastic (PTO, medical/dental/vision, 401K, etc), and is very competitive in the market. There are also a lot of trainings and CPE seminars available throughout the year. The company is growing quickly resulting in a lot of career advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    You do work long hours sometimes, as that is the nature of tax season, but you will have plenty of opportunities to take time off/vacation during the off season. Also, there are fun events organized during tax season and off season which are always appreciated.

    Continue reading
    Seiler2016-04-29
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Great clients, poor morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time

    Pros

    Growing company, definitely will be exposed to a great variety of work and learn a lot. Good incentives during tax season such as meals, massages, gift cards. Company indicates you can work from home but it seems to be perceived as a negative.

    Cons

    Bring in business or you will be on the outside circle. Long hours even though work/life balance is stressed. Administration seems to be focused in the wrong areas, should be bringing in higher level people to help with the mentoring/training of staff and should be looking to fix outdated technology.

    Continue reading
    Seiler2015-12-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "The Sky is the Limit!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Manager in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Continuously learning technical, client relations, business development, networking, and time management skills. Awesome team and colleagues from all different levels are willing to teach anyone no matter which level you are. The partners and senior management are very technical and very approachable. Always receive multiple days off which includes PTO and earned Tax Days. Promotions and compensation is very reasonable with a great bonus structure and hard work is definitely rewarded. Flexible hours are always a plus! Firm provides resources to help you grow professionally and personally. HR and management looks out for their people well. Variety of clients with different types of projects always makes it a great learning process as you can be a generalist or specialist. I would definitely recommend anyone who has a passion and have the desire to build their accounting career to join Seiler because the team will help you grow and reach your potentials - the SKY is the limit here! One final pro - there are way too many benefits and perks here to list!

    Cons

    More variety and tastier busy season dinners and starting busy season meals at least a month earlier would help the tax seasons to be less stressful. On the same note, minimize the desserts and sweets since the majority of us are health conscious and do not have much time to go to the gym during busy season. It would be wonderful if the management helps even out the workload at all levels. Adding on new clients to management team would challenge and keep excitement in our workload.

    Continue reading
    Seiler2014-11-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Building a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time

    Pros

    Great place to make some long term connections/friends, as well as building your career. The people here are really friendly and always willing to help out or teach you. Perks are nice. Good variety of snacks and drinks to keep your energy up for those days with extended hours. Fun company sponsored events during the off season. Mini bonuses (IE gift cards) for participating in firm goals/objectives. And who doesn't love massages from a professional masseuse? Upper management and HR are friendly and easy to communicate with. Flexible hours; you can manage your own time schedule depending on your current situation.

    Cons

    Stress level is high during the tax seasons, but this is true among all firms. Dinner is provided during the busy season but sometimes not enough is prepared to go around. Plus often it is the same meals; who wants to eat pizza every week?

    Continue reading
    Seiler2014-09-21
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Office Accountant in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pros: Great people and positive work environment. The work is interesting and rewarding with many opportunities to learn and grow. Work life balance is excellent. There is a real sense of team spirit, managers and co workers gladly help each other when they can. Great Management: Managers and Partners take the time to know the employees. Mentors provide guidance as well as learning opportunities. HR: Friendly and supportive. They respond quickly to staff needs. They also work hard to provide a positive and fun work environment. Great benefits: Starting pay is great and hard work is rewarded. There are many perks both during and after tax season (meals, employee appreciation, happy hour and raffles.) PTO days as well as holidays. Education is both encouraged and provided during work hours. Excellent training: Management and co workers take the time to train employees. After the training time is over they are still very helpful.

    Cons

    Communication between management and employees, however this is already improving.

    Continue reading
    Seiler2014-07-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to built your Career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to develop personal growth, Fun and exciting place to work. Lots of great employee benefits, incentives and perks that you get working for Seiler. Fun committee plans various of activities thru out the year to motivate employees to work here.

    Cons

    Working long hours during tax season but it all com

    Continue reading
    Seiler2014-07-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work and gain expirience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seiler full-time

    Pros

    Will get lots of expirience with all sorts of tax issues. Gives new college grads a chance to be successful in the tax industry. Reimbursement for college and taking CPA exam. Partners and managment are very helpful to staff and approachable. Family type atmosphere where everyone is friendly. Alot of fun activities during tax season to lighten up the time After tax season events like trips, dinners and happy hours. The HR department has a great staff and a proven track record to take care of your every need. The redwood shores area is perfect place to work at with lots of restuarants and scenery.

    Cons

    Depending on where your coming from, traffic can be tough especially if coming from the east bay.

    Continue reading
    Seiler2014-07-23
Found 12 reviews