Sekisui Chemical Reviews | Glassdoor

Sekisui Chemical Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Sekisui Chemical CEO Naofumi Negishi (no image)
Naofumi Negishi
3 Ratings
  1. "This was a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sekisui Chemical

    Pros

    The people were very nice and my clients were nice as well. I have nothing bad to say, at all, about the company.

    Cons

    The town is very small, but right outside of Lexington. Not bad, overall.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice. This was a good company and I have no advice.

    Sekisui Chemical2016-05-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "No room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Assistant in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Sekisui Chemical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the production side of things with this company. They are able to churn out quite a bit of product everyday thanks to us, you always stay busy, always moving.

    Cons

    Not a job for a human being. Bad communication.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more robots or learn how to treat your employees better.

    Sekisui Chemical2016-11-02
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (5)

    "Never had a chance of success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sekisui Chemical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I honestly cannot think of even one.

    Cons

    Complete lack of management. The Benefits and 401K contributions are lacking due to the Japanese managers not wanting it. There is ZERO chance for career advancement. Good work and productive results go unappreciated while the Japanese management take credit from Japan as they sit back doing nothing. I never had a chance of succeeding with my job since I was never given the tools to do it. Absolute micromanagement... from the start. There are mostly Managers from Japan at this office and they do very little but have all authority while the few locals have all the responsibility but zero authority to do anything. Extremely high turnover rate for local staff, including local Japanese. No chance of moving up within the company unless you are from Japan Headquarters, even then the placement is not based on skill or ability but just "whose available at the time to fill the position." One of the worst companies I have even worked at. Stressful environment with no desire to improve since the Japanese management will all rotate out within a few years. A complete lack of corporate structure with a President who is never in the US and two VP's from Japan fighting for their own power. Look at any other Sekisui Group company review and you will see the same problems running through them all.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Complete lack of ability of managing anything outside of Japanese style. Adapt to the local environment, attempt to globalize yourself. Listen to your local staff since that's why you supposedly hired them...

    Sekisui Chemical2016-02-11
  5. "Fast paced dynamic environment but ultimately operations were shut down in United States"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QC Analyst in Framingham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sekisui Chemical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There was Flexible work/life balance at this company, great people to work with. Very good compensation and benfits. matching 401 k and bonuses

    Cons

    The leadership was a little unorganized at times, there was low personal growth as their could have been a lot more cross training.

    Advice to Management

    no issues here

    Sekisui Chemical2014-03-23
  6. "Conventional classic Japanese company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sekisui Chemical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable business, kind work environment

    Cons

    Little global presence, management is terrible! Lack of expertise in doing business

    Advice to Management

    Be passionate and open discussions

    Sekisui Chemical2019-06-05
  7. "International but not global for overseas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sekisui Chemical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Growing in Europe and the US

    Cons

    still very much Japan focus

    Advice to Management

    Trust local europeans

    Sekisui Chemical2019-01-16
  8. "What a place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sekisui Chemical full-time

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere Management and shop floor workers got on All departments socialised

    Cons

    Not a single complaint from me

    Sekisui Chemical2018-07-02
  9. "Extruded operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Extrusion Operator in Merthyr, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sekisui Chemical full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Exellent company to work for. Bonuses, free annual barbecues, fantastic rates of pay.

    Cons

    There are no negativity with job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job.

    Sekisui Chemical2018-05-13
  10. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sekisui Chemical full-time

    Pros

    very good working environment here. it's challenging.

    Cons

    less manpower, more works. a lot of things to do.

    Advice to Management

    Money (Budget) or Man power

    Sekisui Chemical2017-12-08
  11. "Reseach Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in Sakai, Osaka
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sekisui Chemical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    relatively a good salary in Japanese chemical industry .

    Cons

    Job description is chaos.

    Sekisui Chemical2017-10-03
Found 13 reviews