Select Specialty Hospitals Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
48%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Select Specialty Hospitals President and CEO David S. Chernow
David S. Chernow
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, they strive for continual improvement(in 11 reviews)

  • "If I ever needed help whether a nurse, RT, environmental services, or PCT I’d always have a helping hand(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Health benefits are costly, high turnover(in 14 reviews)

  • "Often short staffed and nurse/patient ratio was often 1:7, no matter the acuity(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent training"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Respiratory Therapist in Grosse Pointe, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Select Specialty Hospitals part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training was very thorough! Very good management......and for a small facility, everyone works great together!!

    Cons

    The phones stop working when you leave the area!

    Continue reading
    Select Specialty Hospitals2019-10-16
  2. "Caring hospital"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Select Specialty Hospitals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team players, friendly coworkers Overtime, plenty Very informed staff Great management-staff relationships

    Cons

    Hard work. Days are very busy, sometimes understaffed. Night is much easier.

    Continue reading
    Select Specialty Hospitals2020-05-28
  3. "There is a lot of miscommunication"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant in Gulfport, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Select Specialty Hospitals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a well rounded group of nursing assistants I worked with

    Cons

    Long hours I had up to 18 patients at a time NO HELP FROM MOST OF THE NURSES (not all)

    Continue reading
    Select Specialty Hospitals2020-05-23
  4. "Love the people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Select Specialty Hospitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management at the Durham NC location

    Cons

    Some equipment and materials issues, but improving when I left

    Continue reading
    Select Specialty Hospitals2020-05-22
  5. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Respiratory Therapist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Select Specialty Hospitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Self-scheduling helps me while I am in school. Great team of RTs who collaborate and work together well. Great Respiratory Manager who is fair and unbiased in her leadership of our department.

    Cons

    When census is low, we are often canceled or sent home early. Sometimes disorganized when it comes to transportation of patients. Many of the staff are disgruntled and dissatisfied with the way things are managed. Charting is still done with paper and an EMR is not in use yet.

    Continue reading
    Select Specialty Hospitals2020-05-07
  6. "Culture"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Admissions Coordinator in Camp Hill, PA

    I have been working at Select Specialty Hospitals full-time

    Pros

    Teamwork, patient focused, results oriented

    Cons

    Not many opportunities for growth

    Select Specialty Hospitals2020-04-26
  7. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certfied Nursing Assistant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends

    I worked at Select Specialty Hospitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gave me chance without experience. Staff was always kind, patient and helpful. Very positive work experience.

    Cons

    Long tiring hours, often having to stay longer than a 12 hour shift.

    Select Specialty Hospitals2020-03-27
  8. "Left employer after 8 years seeking more challenge."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Latrobe, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Select Specialty Hospitals full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The staff worked as a team.

    Cons

    Schedule issues at times difficult.

    Continue reading
    Select Specialty Hospitals2020-03-21
  9. "Research the Location"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Select Specialty Hospitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Better pay. Great values, if location follows it.

    Cons

    Extremely angry & unhappy employees. Unresponsive management.

    Continue reading
    Select Specialty Hospitals2020-04-19
  10. "I have experienced of two years as B.Sc. nurse ."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - B SC Nurse in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Select Specialty Hospitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What the best reason to work here.

    Cons

    What are the challenges of working here as a nurse.

    Continue reading
    Select Specialty Hospitals2020-03-12
Found 282 reviews