Cover image for Select Specialty Hospitals
Logo

Select Specialty Hospitals

Is this your company?

Select Specialty Hospitals

Add a Review

Select Specialty Hospitals Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 447 of over 479 reviews
3.4
52% Recommend to a Friend
Select Specialty Hospitals President and CEO David S. Chernow
58% Approve of CEO

Found 447 of over 479 reviews

3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Select Specialty Hospitals President and CEO David S. Chernow
David S. Chernow
103 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "pay was good and fair(in 38 reviews)
  • "Nursing staff is great and I'm honestly surprised that some of them have been there for so long because they are not appreciated.(in 21 reviews)
  • "Good benefits(in 16 reviews)
  • "Great patients and coworkers.(in 14 reviews)
  • "Good people to work with(in 10 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management within the team and the hospital it self(in 35 reviews)
  • "With poor leadership as we know it trickles down throughout the staff.(in 11 reviews)
  • "long hours, always seemed like we were going through staff due to burn out.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Unsafe work environment.(in 6 reviews)
  • "CEO and CNO (S High St location) were very unprofessional and spoke very poorly about most employees.(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Select Specialty Hospitals and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    good company

    Oct 14, 2022 - Physical Therapist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was able to work in different areas of PT, including woundcare and ICU and co-treat with other disciplines. Overall good company to work for.

    Cons

    outdated equipment for the rehab department

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Oct 25, 2022 - Nursing Assistant in Springfield, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve been here for 2 years now and I love the patients. It is the hardest job I’ve ever had and I’ve been in the medical field for 7 years now. It’s a heavy patient load at times but all the CNAs and nurses do their best to help one another!

    Cons

    The “fall out rate” is high, but I think it’s because when people apply they really don’t know how hard of a job it is. The medical field is not for the faint of heart. We save lives..we don’t come to work to just sit around. You will SWEAT and work hard here for the good money they pay you!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Select Specialty Hospitals team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Work here if you want to LEARN!

    Oct 24, 2022 - Nurse Assistant in Mount Clemens, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gain skills in a unique and complex health setting. Choose your schedule (mostly). Competitive wages. Abundant supplies and resources.

    Cons

    Very large workload Improperly staffed. 8-10 CRITICALLY ILL patients per 1 nurse assistant. paper charting…..

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good coworkers

    Nov 16, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Erie, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees here in Select Erie are very nice, helpful. Max of 5-6 patient ratio for RN

    Cons

    there are more call off if low census

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Can be a hostile environment, unless you're in the right clique.

    Jun 25, 2022 - RN Staff Nurse in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay was good and I was fortunate to work with some very good nurses who were kind and friendly to the newer staff.

    Cons

    Some of the staff who'd been there for a bit of a long time, thought they knew EVERYTHING regardless of the level of experience of the other nurses or staff. Humility was not abundantly available. Also, and this was more difficult to handle and had a more direct impact on my experience there, was the unabashed almost hazing I'd endure with a select group of the support staff on the night shift. They didn't care for me (or perhaps decided I was new and gullible) and would simply slack off and not fulfill their job duties, leaving me to do them. The patients needed these things so of course my time management was horrific.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Case manager

    Nov 16, 2022 - Case Manager in Augusta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gives opportunities for first time case manager

    Cons

    extremely ruthless money minded corporate. Will fire you in a heartbeat if the hospital is not getting patients.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    A great job

    Aug 12, 2022 - Social Media 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The therapy department was run well. At the Indianapolis location I had a wonderful boss, in fact she was the best manager I've ever had. She made sure the financials were in order and that the employees were caring well for their patients. She also did her best to recognize when you went above and beyond and did a good job of encouraging her employees.

    Cons

    Apparently the business side of things was not being run well because the two Select Specialty Hospitals that I worked for eventually closed.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great!

    Oct 10, 2022 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co-workers are always willing to help.

    Cons

    Short-staff most of the times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    More demanding than advertised

    Sep 22, 2022 - Respiratory Therapy Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Critical illness recovery hospital with rehab services, patients around long enough to see improvement because of our interventions

    Cons

    The safety officer portion of the job can be difficult to handle.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Never again

    Sep 3, 2022 - Supply Chain Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My manager wasn’t that bad. He showed me a lot which helped me now in my career.

    Cons

    The pay was horrible. They have this one line in there handbook under every job title “Any other job/ duties assigned.” Which means exactly that!! If they tell you to do something and you say it’s not in your job description they pull that last one quick! The company is also cut throat they will shut down quick without warning people, and tell the employees we will reassign you. Which they will but they will push the bonus package they offer back if they need the staff. For nurses and everything else the pay is great but the amount of work is not equal.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 447 Reviews
</>Embed

Select Specialty Hospitals Reviews FAQs

Select Specialty Hospitals has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 479 reviews left anonymously by employees. 52% of employees would recommend working at Select Specialty Hospitals to a friend and 54% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Select Specialty Hospitals employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Select Specialty Hospitals. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

52% of Select Specialty Hospitals employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Select Specialty Hospitals 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Select Specialty Hospitals to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be culture, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Select Specialty Hospitals Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Select Specialty Hospitals? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Select Specialty Hospitals Photos

+ Add Photo
Select Specialty Hospitals photo of: Select Specialty Hospital Victorian Village

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Select Specialty Hospitals Job Seekers Also Viewed

Select Medical Logo
Select Medical

3.3

1,167 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 479 Select Specialty Hospitals reviews submitted anonymously by Select Specialty Hospitals employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Select Specialty Hospitals is right for you.