KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Select Specialty Hospitals

Is this your company?

Select Specialty Hospitals

Add a Review

Select Specialty Hospitals Employee Reviews about "nurse"

Updated Aug 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 397 reviews

3.3
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Select Specialty Hospitals President and CEO David S. Chernow
David S. Chernow
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, they strive for continual improvement(in 13 reviews)

  • "Working as both a floor nurse and as part of the leadership team, I got to know so many of the staff members at Select(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Extremely demanding and usually short staffed(in 16 reviews)

  • "The hospital treats their employees like they are disposable and there is a high turnover of staff(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Select Specialty Hospitals and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "nurse"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Love my Select Specialty family!

      Aug 25, 2020 - Staff RN 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team work among fellow nurses is far better than anywhere I have ever worked! This could be because most nurses and nurse aides realize how complex our patient population can be, and you need each other to give the best care possible. I’ve worked at 2 Select Specialty hospitals and I can say the same for both places. Best group of people I’ve ever worked with!

      Cons

      I can’t really say it’s a con, but with the complex nature of LTACHs, patients acuities can change fast, but the criteria for which patient acuity is assigned isn’t always accurate and updated. Nurses generally have 4-6 patients with acuities ranging from 1 (least critical) to 4 (critical, most times requires 1:1 care)

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The Team Becomes Like Family

      Aug 10, 2020 - Infection Control Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff at Select become like family. Working as both a floor nurse and as part of the leadership team, I got to know so many of the staff members at Select. They work hard, and they put their all into their job in order to provide great care to the patients at Select. I am thankful for the experience I have received here! I also appreciate that the company is designed in a way that if you want to move up, you can. They also encourage continuing education for nurses.

      Cons

      It is a hard place to work. No matter what discipline you work, it'll be the hardest place you have worked which is why it is incredibly rewarding. I love challenges and I love being pushed to my limit. Everyday I come to work expecting to learn something new.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Learned more than expected

      Jun 12, 2019 - Registered Respiratory Therapist in Grosse Pointe, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training and team work throughout the Hospital. If I ever needed help whether a nurse, RT, environmental services, or PCT I’d always have a helping hand. Good management too!

      Cons

      We carried a phone and if you left the unit, even just down the hallway out of our area, phones didn’t work so you couldn’t go far without finding someone to take your phone

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      There CNA ethnic background is 95% from a particular poor country=low wages

      Aug 20, 2019 - Certified Nursing Assistant in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When management get rid of the day house Supv. and her side kick the charge nurse people would start liking coming to work again.

      Cons

      they run the place on gossip, they write employees up just because they could and dress it up, to make it look like the employee did something wrong.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Turnover Central

      Sep 18, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful Respiratory and Rehab therapists! Wound care nurse is amazing, she seems to be able to heal anything. Very gifted and instinctive in care.

      Cons

      Administration cares nothing about staff. Hires all new graduate nurses to care for incredibly complex patients. Staff works short handed all the time creating dangerous staffing ratios. 2% raise. Smart nurses do not risk their licenses here. Poor PTO benefits. No Ins. Or PTO accrual until after 90 days, then you BEGIN to earn time. Hostile work environment created by Management and never addressed. Constant turnover, so many new people, it is nothing to have 60 people quit within a 3 month time span. No COMPUTER CHARTING!! ALL PAPER DOCUMENTATION!!! YES, IN 2015!!! Cheapest route always with this company...yet they call staff and offer nurses 10.00/hr. Bonuses to work extra shifts because they are so short staffed. Cannot even get enough agency to cover. RN’S having 4-5 ventilator patients with drips!!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      RN

      Feb 20, 2016 - Staff RN in Panama City, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very great team work with other staff, including RT and therapy. The patient to nurse ratios are the lowest of any place I have ever worked.

      Cons

      Stressful at times due to the high acuity of patients. We take care of ICU like patients on vent/ETT and critical gtts.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Over worked employees and unsafe for patients

      Dec 24, 2014 - Registered Nurse in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a fairly new nurse I have learned a lot at Select Specialty Hospital. Co-workers are great and mostly everyone tries to work as a team. Charge nurses help out as much as they can. Some facilities are better than others.

      Cons

      Nurse to patient ratios are extremely high for the patient population cared for. Mandatory overtime occurs a lot due to understaffing and you are constantly calling you on your day off to come in. Due to understaffing most nurses work over their 12 hour shifts. High turnover for nurses and CNAs. Acuity isn't considered throughout select which leads to unsafe patient care.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      mandatory OT/bad management

      Aug 17, 2015 - Registered Nurse in Evansville, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good money, learning experience. I learned alot as a fresh nurse. Very fast paced job if you like being under stress all the time

      Cons

      mandatory overtime, no time for breaks, unrealistic patient load. If you aren't a certain type of person, you won't fit in with the supervisors and will be treated badly.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Staff RN

      Mar 21, 2017 - Staff RN in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative team atmosphere. Great clinical experience - can definitely learn a lot as a new nurse. The challenging work certainly helps with developing confidence and nursing skills.

      Cons

      Leadership and management, less than adequate HR administration, inconsistencies with practice and HR policies, staffing issues.

      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Ko

      May 8, 2018 - Registered Nurse in Mount Clemens, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great experience, especially for new nurse.

      Cons

      Nurse to patient ratio often dangerous.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Select Specialty Hospitals Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Select Specialty Hospitals? Share Your Experiences

    or