Selfridges Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Selfridges Interim Managing Director Anne Pitcher
Anne Pitcher
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount is absolutely fantastic once you pass your 3 month probation (I am still waiting for mine)(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great luxury environment to work in, great facilities and generous discounts with a vast choice(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of standing for long hours(in 38 reviews)

  • "Floor managers could be rude unsupported and unfriendly to concessions team (especially at the lower ground floor)(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "sales associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Norway, ME
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Selfridges part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and colleagues

    Cons

    working part-time not to many complaints

    Selfridges2017-12-14

    Selfridges Response

    July 18, 2018Resourcing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to greeting you in store soon.

  2. "sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Selfridges part-time

    Pros

    nice environment and colleagues

    Cons

    working hours were long, work during Christmas

    Selfridges2018-09-26

    Selfridges Response

    October 9, 2018Employer Brand Manager

    Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the environment and working with your team - I've made sure to share your comments with the wider team on this. The hours in retail are incredibly demanding, especially around Christmas time, so we hope that you took advantage of your breaks and got enough rest in your downtime. If you've got anything you'd like to comment on further surrounding working hours, do feel free to drop me a message at laura.chetcuti@selfridges.co.uk. It's really important to us that we get the balance right where this is concerned so your feedback is invaluable.

  3. "Sales Associate London"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to make friends, nice enviroment.

    Cons

    Horrible managers, not every gets discount (only if you work under selfridges).

    Selfridges2018-05-17

    Selfridges Response

    June 14, 2018Employer Brand and Communications Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review - as a current employee we highly recommend that you discuss any issues with your HR Business Partner - we strive to ensure that all team members have a great career here at Selfridges. Let’s work together to resolve this.

  4. "Fun place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Selfridges

    Pros

    Fun, Fast, high energy and enthusiasm

    Cons

    Pay not up to industry standards

    Selfridges2017-02-07

    Selfridges Response

    July 19, 2018Resourcing Coordinator

    We love positive feedback, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We shall pass it onto the team.

  5. "wonderful"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges

    Pros

    people enviorment location benefits and commute

    Cons

    hours, mostly just the occassional long hours

    Continue reading
    Selfridges2011-08-22

    Selfridges Response

    July 19, 2018Resourcing Coordinator

    Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you in store again soon.

  6. "Good job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Planner in Amritsar
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges part-time

    Pros

    It's perfect platform for everything

    Cons

    Enjoying my day And night here.

    Continue reading
    Selfridges2020-05-21
  7. "Good for a student"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Selfridges part-time

    Pros

    Great staff discount- mostly 35% off

    Cons

    Managers on a power trip

    Selfridges2020-05-16
  8. "environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Selfridges part-time

    Pros

    time-consuming, less learning, small personal development,

    Cons

    flexibility, trust, vacation, discount, nice manager

    Selfridges2020-05-14
  9. "A workplace"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Administrative in Johannesburg

    I have been working at Selfridges full-time

    Pros

    A good place for working

    Cons

    A bland place for working

    Selfridges2020-05-13
  10. "NA"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Selfridges part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly people, nice environment, good training

    Cons

    staff discount doesn't apply to everyone

    Selfridges2020-05-22
Found 502 reviews