SendGrid "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

SendGrid Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Nov 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
95%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
SendGrid CEO Sameer Dholakia
Sameer Dholakia
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Every company you consider joining has a web page that highlights why they have a great culture(in 12 reviews)

  • "Working environment is flexible, creating the ability to have a great work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains consistent across all companies that grow rapidly(in 19 reviews)

  • "Growing fast means growing pains(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The focus around culture is real. People treat each other well and always try to enjoy working with each other. Being able to feel comfortable with your peers allows for a much better/more productive work environment. The quality of the people who work here is very impressive. Plus, amazing perks.

    Cons

    No cons come to mind. Normal growing pains with lots of change happening.

    SendGrid2018-11-29
  2. "Revenue Operations Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Revenue Operations in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SendGrid for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing people, workplace, and culture throughout every level of the company - People are approachable and willing to lend a hand - Company commitment to employees drives performance

    Cons

    - Growing pains consistent across all companies that grow rapidly - It takes a while to truly understand the business without a technical background

    SendGrid2018-11-13
  3. "Culture is not just a set of buzzwords"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Engineering in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Every company you consider joining has a web page that highlights why they have a great culture. At SendGrid, they actually mean it. The culture is built into and ingrained in the fabric of getting work done and respecting those you work with. The work is interesting and fast paced. Engineering teams are focused on the latest technologies and there are clear business priorities against which to work on that move the company forward. Executive leadership focuses on the long picture and making appropriate strategic plans that provide a long-term vision for growth for the company.

    Cons

    The company IPO-d last year and is going through the growing pains shifting from startup to small private company, to public company. The company is poised to continue to grow and there will naturally be growing pains as part of that process. Someone who like stability and no change would not thrive in the environment. That said, it's not chaotic, but you have to be comfortable with a growth mindset.

    Continue reading
    SendGrid2018-08-15

    SendGrid Response

    November 7, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for providing your feedback! We appreciate the Honest H review. You’re right that as we continue to grow and hit these major milestones, we experience growing pains and want you to bring those to the table as you see them crop up. Let’s all work together to identify them and then eliminate them quickly. Transparency remains a focus for me and the entire executive team, and we’ll continue striving to communicate all that we can with our employees. Thanks again for your review and advice.

    Continue reading
  4. "Love This Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's rare to work at a place that really, truly cares about each one of the humans that come to work every day but SendGrid is one of those places. We're not perfect but I've found us to be a place where people are honest about what's not perfect (Honest H) and then they work hard to solve the issue. People are genuinely nice. We have amazing office space and lots of perks but I'd work here without them since they are not what makes this place so special. Our CEO and exec team give me confidence and make me feel like I make a difference. Don't want to work anywhere else!

    Cons

    It's not perfect here. We have growing pains that come with going through an IPO, adding more and more people to the team, and having systems that we've outgrown and need to be updated. Lots for us to do!

    Continue reading
    SendGrid2018-08-16

    SendGrid Response

    November 7, 2018Chief People Officer

    We appreciate your feedback! It’s awesome to hear that you appreciate the perks and benefits but are inspired by something more. We’ll be the first to admit we’re not perfect, and we’ll continue working to improve and become more Humble, Happy, Honest, and Hungry. Together, we can do it. It’s true, there are growing pains associated with becoming a public company. We know the process isn’t simple or easy. Innovating and improving the way we operate is a priority moving forward. We’ll need to continue effectively scaling our internal operations, much like we’ve scaled our email program. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Looked too good to be true from the outside...then I joined and discovered it was just as good as advertised!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time

    Pros

    So many pros, hard to list them all but here goes: - Fantastic culture - Amazing servant leadership committed to the culture and employees - Tons of opportunity to make an impact and huge willingness inside the company to improve - Fantastic tech-y perks like free lunches, snacks, beer & wine, and on and on - Great benefits and compensation - Office environment is great - I can't say enough about the culture and leadership - I've never met such a humble yet very smart CEO Can I give a rating higher than 5/5 stars?

    Cons

    Hard to think of any cons - only one that I can think of is that the company is experiencing very normal growing pains .

    Continue reading
    SendGrid2017-12-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time

    Pros

    - The leaders of the company - Amazing communication with team all the way to the top - I feel valued and respected, people listen - SendGrid has done an amazing job instilling the culture in its employees even as we grow - People are quick to adapt with all the rapid changes taking place in a scaling company

    Cons

    - It can be challenging to stress the importance of rolling out features due to the "Way" we approach projects - A growing company means there are growing pains, but we adapt quickly

    Continue reading
    SendGrid2017-10-24
  7. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Revenue Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SendGrid for more than a year

    Pros

    - Culture is real - Promises they make in the interview process hold true - Fun and energetic atmosphere - Great perks - Amazing Senior Leadership

    Cons

    - Typical growing pains - Inbound model makes it very stressful on sales org - Lack of vision and insight into one's career path and advancement opportunities

    Continue reading
    SendGrid2017-08-31
  8. "Talk About Career Defining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been in the workplace for almost ten years and can tell you, without a doubt, that SendGrid is the greatest job I've ever had. SendGrid is not just about the perks and benefits ... it's career-defining, to say the least. You have ownership over your career, your work and opportunities to grow -- as long as you're good and committed. If you're not making the best out of this job, you're not taking advantage of everything SendGrid has to offer. Our CEO, Sameer, is the most humble, honest, happy and hungry human I've ever met, no surprise that he won EY Entrepreneur of the Year. He lives and breathes our culture and makes sure everyone else does as well. Our vision is clear and we have smart people moving the company in the right direction, our engineers are tirelessly committed to our brand and our customers, ELT admits they don't always know the answers but are constantly looking for ways to improve and live up to their promises. We have free lunches everyday, a Wifi Shuttle bus, a great 401K provider (which in the past would have been my greatest complaint), gym stipend, cell stipend, free parking (not the norm in Denver), commuting plans, a best in class office that EMPLOYEES helped design. We're award winning. We're awesome. And you're crazy if you don't want to work here.

    Cons

    Honestly, biggest con is that many of our employees don't realize how good they have it, especially those that this is their first job. You don't get this elsewhere, people, the perks, the transparency, the lovable management, the smart engineers, the committed teams. This is NOT the norm so take it all in and enjoy the ride. Also, growing pains are real but you'll have those in any organization growing at the speed and scale that we are. I say embrace it.

    Continue reading
    SendGrid2017-07-12

    SendGrid Response

    October 23, 2017CEO

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback. It was heart-warming and humbling to read your comments. Rest assured that I and the entire Executive Leadership Team (ELT) will continue to work our tails off to serve this great company and all our awesome Gridders. It brings such joy to know that we're helping our teammates have career-defining opportunities - if everyone takes advantage of that, as you suggest, I believe deeply that our company will continue to succeed. We'll never cease to focus on culture and people -- the hallmark of every great company I know. It's the hardest part of scaling, and also the most important. Sameer//

    Continue reading
  9. "Product Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Smart, engaged teammates - Fast growing company - Lots of opportunities to take on more responsibility

    Cons

    - Growing fast means growing pains

    Continue reading
    SendGrid2017-07-11

    SendGrid Response

    September 15, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share how you feel about working as a Gridder. Love that your experience is a good one. You’re right that as we continue to grow, we experience growing pains and want you to bring those to the table as you see them crop up. Let’s all work together to identify them and then eliminate them quickly. If we can do it proactively - even better! Thanks again for sharing.

    Continue reading
  10. "Best place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible, inspiring executive team. Great managers and employees- I've already learned 1000x more here in just a couple of months than my 4 years of college. Since the company is growing and changing so quickly, I also get to own a ton of cool work that I don't think I would be able to at any other company. I truly believe in the future prospects of this company. Culture is amazing, everyone is so happy. Benefits are great. This place is like Narnia.

    Cons

    Not sure if there are any - growing pains with more thoughtful procedures being put in place, but I don't mind the change.

    Continue reading
    SendGrid2017-07-04

    SendGrid Response

    September 15, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thanks for taking time to share how you feel about working at the Grid. Love that you highlighted the ability to own your work since that’s so foundational to our success. Every Gridder makes a difference when they feel accountable for their work, to their teammates, and to making SendGrid better every day. Thanks again for taking the time to share.

    Continue reading
Found 19 reviews