SendGrid "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

SendGrid Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
95%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
SendGrid CEO Sameer Dholakia
Sameer Dholakia
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Every company you consider joining has a web page that highlights why they have a great culture(in 12 reviews)

  • "Working environment is flexible, creating the ability to have a great work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains consistent across all companies that grow rapidly(in 19 reviews)

  • "Growing fast means growing pains(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "High Growth Company comes with Opportunity and Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to learn and grow. Culture still remains strong even with the IPO and lots of shifts in how we operate as a company. Phenomenal coworkers. Great benefits and office space. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    With high growth comes frequent change, which often takes the form of added processes, which can feel cumbersome and detrimental to fast progress. Communication becomes more difficult the larger the organization gets, and miscommunication can lead to frustration.

    Advice to Management

    Continue focusing on the people. Make sure key stakeholders are informed even at the IC level before announcing decisions across the organization. Do everything you can to retain those that are really making a positive impact, as that passion to make a difference also often comes with little patience for frustration and roadblocks.

    SendGrid2018-08-07
  2. "Amazing Company, Amazing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone here truly cares about each other, the customers, the business and the culture. Working environment is flexible, creating the ability to have a great work-life balance. Benefits are amazing: - Excellent health care plans - Personalized (“Unlimited”) time off - Free lunch every day - Plenty of snacks (both healthy and unhealthy) in the kitchen - 5 weeks of parental leave - Stock/equity grants.... And let’s not forget about the company-wide annual kick-off retreat. Who doesn’t like a few days at an all-inclusive resort? Challenging projects — you won’t get bored.

    Show More

    Cons

    SendGrid went public about 5 months ago. This has introduced some interesting changes that have been necessary. SendGrid’s “Honest H” even extended to the nitty gritty details of how the company was doing financially — at least while we were private. Now it’s a different story, out of legal necessity — which you can tell is difficult for the leadership. They don’t like to keep people in the dark. It’s not so... much a “con” as it is a “growing pain”. Like all companies, there are struggles — be it too much to do in too little time, or with too few people — or turnover due to major changes (going public) — or just not having all the necessary skills on the team. But again, you see this everywhere. SendGrid is no different in this regard.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture, it sets us apart from other companies. As much as being public requires you to focus on the numbers, don’t forget that focusing only on the numbers will fail you. Ensure that your employees are happy and that you’re meeting/exceeding the needs and expectations of your customers — the numbers will follow. It’s how SendGrid got where it is today — don’t let Wall Street force us change what isn’t... broken.

    Show More
    SendGrid2018-04-10
  3. "Love this place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SendGrid truly lives out the 4H culture that they speak so much about. Even as the company grows, they prioritize the 4H values and make sure that all employees are staying accountable to them. There is also, a high level of transparency across all levels of leadership in the company which I really appreciate. I've really enjoyed my time here at SendGrid. There is strong work-life balance, really great benefits,... and they are making great strides to help employees grow in their careers. Every day brings new and exciting challenges, and I'm so glad to be a part of this company!

    Show More

    Cons

    Would love to see my OC and RWC teammates more :)

    SendGrid2017-04-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time

    Pros

    Excellent culture and work/life balance

    Cons

    Sometimes leaders are not willing to question their core assumptions

    SendGrid2017-03-11
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Outstanding company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's a lot of talk around SendGrid being Narnia, and it is. Big opportunities for professional development and growth internally. The culture is strong, the executive team is stacked with incredible experience, the offices/perks/benefits are outstanding, flexible work/life balance, etc, etc.

    Cons

    In my amount of time at SendGrid it's in the best place possible right now.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening and taking action. The amount of care put into the engagement surveys, as well as taking action, has made such a positive impact. It makes us unique and doubles down on caring about employees.

    SendGrid2017-02-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time

    Pros

    -Incredible company culture based on humility, hunger, honesty, and happiness. -Focus on personal/professional growth for employees of all levels -True work life balance

    Cons

    -Some product growing pains as we diversify our offerings

    SendGrid2016-10-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome culture & great technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time

    Pros

    I haven't thought much of the companies I've worked for in the past, mainly due to the actual "company" sitting in a high tower over its employees. It is the complete opposite here at SendGrid. The transparency from the leadership team is incredible and the same happens at all levels of management. You hear about the struggles, the successes, the goals...everything is brought to the table, which in turn really helps... you understand how you are contributing to the companies success as an employee. The people here are awesome and truly want you to succeed in your role no matter what background you come from; having a supportive group of talented individuals around you is rare these days in such a competitive industry. The technologies/languages you get to work with are diverse and the engineering department is starting to favor the micro service oriented architecture, which in my opinion really encourages personal development as you get to work in different tech stacks. Lastly, the perks and benefits are great. I have never worked at a company that was as flexible in terms of work/life balance as this one. The commonly mentioned 4 H's (humble, honest, hungry, happy) really have maintained their presence here at SendGrid all these years.

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay scale which is somewhat below average, but it's hard to persistently complain about this when the perks are great and the culture makes you feel like you're part of one big family.

    Advice to Management

    Look to hiring more engineers for the California offices.

    SendGrid2015-11-15
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Outstanding Product Market Fit & Lack of Ambition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SendGrid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are above average Culture Starting to expand it's presence in Silicon Valley (via Redwood City and SF) TAM is pretty large and challenges are interesting / unique Not positioned to become a $FB, $TWTR or $GOOG, but can still generate a great outcome Stable Company, millions in revenue with a clear path to profitability (not a startup anymore) Possible opportunities for growth given the recent CEO... change Great new CFO / COO that is cleaning up the house in a great way Work / Life balance is great

    Show More

    Cons

    Lack of ambition of the company as a whole Salary structure seems to be extremely different on a person to person basis High School like drama with certain teams Business culture that explicitly hides the negative topics / data HR is just operations for people, not true human resources. Lacks a brave leader. No race diversity across every level of the business Options plan are extremely segmented with... either fantastic packages or artificial options with ridiculous vesting schedules

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to fire legacy, ineffective people or hire some real managers. Stop with so many terrible internal promotions, just for the sake of retention.

    SendGrid2015-10-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great company, wonderful opportunities, needs focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SendGrid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SendGrid is a group of amazing people, very dedicated to personal growth. It's a fun place to be with great potential. For the grand majority of employees there's an awesome work life balance and the company makes sure you enjoy your work environment. Perks and benefits are awesome, although changing to some degree.

    Cons

    The company needs focus and better internal alignment. It also has a number of organizational problems and does not value some employees as highly as it should. However, every problem has improved and continues to get much better.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure everyone knows what they're working for.

    SendGrid2015-01-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of fun so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SendGrid full-time

    Pros

    Having worked for several companies, I think SendGrid is my favorite. Lots of interesting challenges in the engineering area as well as organizational area. The company is quite dedicated in always improving services to the customers and also making sure its people are happy. Since SendGrid is currently in a growth stage there are hiccups but everyone is trying hard. We have an open travel policy between the offices... to prevent silos. So eventually that person you only see in Google hangouts becomes someone you went out to happy hour with. I also enjoy their emphasize on work-life balance. People sometimes work at home but usually everyone's out of the office before 6pm, sometimes 5pm. And finally, even though there are several more cool things about SendGrid, I think this company has the best on boarding process given the complexity of the product. And I love how they make sure everyone nows a little bit about each part of the company. Again, very anti-silos. It's quite unique, really.

    Show More

    Cons

    They're working on it, but there's no consistent standard between the various engineering teams in terms of how projects are setup and even deployed. There's also quite a number of meetings that take place on a weekly basis. Finally, sometimes an overwhelming amount of parties that happen ^_~

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Please enforce some engineering standards.

    SendGrid2014-07-10
Found 10 reviews