Sendero Reviews | Glassdoor

Sendero Reviews

Updated August 21, 2018
117 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sendero Founder and Managing Partner Bret Farrar
Bret Farrar
98 Ratings

117 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "I also enjoy being local and have been able to enjoy a great work-life balance" (in 36 reviews)

  • "One of a kind culture based on living out core values daily" (in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company is growing fast, so they have experienced some growing pains" (in 24 reviews)

  • "We are a fast-growing company and as others have mentioned, that comes with 'growing pains'" (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time

    Pros

    There are so many nuances found in this company that are simply hard to describe. It all revolves around the organic culture that Sendero prides itself on. Coming to work is a joy because of the entrepreneurial spirit and the bright minded individuals that encompass Sendero.

    You get a growing diverse set of experiences with the clients Sendero is now getting. It is definitely growing very rapid, and it appears to have no limits for what can be accomplished.

    Cons

    If your not used to constant change this can be a downside. With a growing firm there are always changes going on, but they have been for the most part more beneficial to all employees and in our better interest.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring great people, and always keep considering raising your salaries as the firm grows so that we can hang on to all of the great people we hire.

    Sendero Response

    Jul 16, 2018 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review and for sharing your perspective. We agree the sky is the limit, especially with team members like ours. Our new competency analysis tool is... More


  2. "The BEST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The PEOPLE!!! I have never met such an amazingly kind, driven, caring group of people. This company cares about its people and the communities it serves--we are even given paid volunteer hours each month! I have worked at a couple of companies and have NEVER experienced such an amazing workplace.

    Cons

    I genuinely cannot think of any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Sendero Response

    Aug 22, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! We completely agree - our people are the best!!! We're glad to hear you're enjoying the paid volunteer time. Thanks for your commitment to our... More

  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time

    Pros

    Sendero is a people focused company that invest in growing and developing talent. Sendero is filled with people who are passionate about what they do. This is a great place to grow both personally and professionally.

    Cons

    The company is growing fast, so they have experienced some growing pains.

    Advice to Management

    Be as transparent as possible and keep investing in your people!

    Sendero Response

    Aug 22, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We agree that we've got incredibly passionate people that are growing in so many ways. As our company experiences growth, we will inevitably have... More


  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sendero full-time

    Pros

    There was a lot of focus on coaching new Associates and Analysts with company-developed material, career advocates, and direct managers on assigned projects. For younger folks, it's a good company to start with because of the large group of associates they hire every year. A prime opportunity to network with peers.

    Cons

    Employees are expected to complete several internal commitments that are factored into their annual evaluation. This is in addition to client work. Internal commitments and selling work increase as people are promoted to manager and senior manager levels.

    Management decision-making is opaque. Company policies and expectations of employees do not reflect the company-touted culture.

    Sendero Response

    Aug 22, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review even after you've moved on to the next phase of your career. We agree that seeing our new associates build relationships with their peers and... More


  5. Helpful (15)

    "Current state reality, and a plea to fix it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time

    Pros

    Sendero hires some of the best people I have met in my career - people who are intelligent, strong problem-solvers, collaborative, down to earth, and incredibly fun. Some of my best friends are people I work with at Sendero, which says a lot about the culture. The work and clients are good, and the capabilities are strong. There are a lot of people to learn from in different ways. Our clients hire and rehire us because of the strength of our people, and our commitment to quality work, and our true care for their success. The benefits and healthcare plans remain strong and well-funded despite an environment where it is becoming increasingly expensive. Pay is decent but could be a lot better given the firm's rapid growth.

    Cons

    The past year has brought significant negative change to the leadership of the company. It seems like all of the culture awards are creating facade of happiness, and an overconfidence in leadership that nobody is allowed to challenge without fear of negative consequence. A firm that was once led by all of its employees collectively is now led by a few key people, who are supported by internal ops and not at all by consulting. Transparency and inclusion have all but vanished, and people at all levels and tenures are feeling it. Working at Sendero is beginning to feel a bit like being a soldier in an army, and that's not aligned with our culture. It also feels like people have to be beyond perfect in order to be promoted at any level, and even the slightest slip will take numerous cycles for decision makers to move past - which is not right for a firm that calls itself a meritocracy; also, nobody is perfect. This is all a dangerously slippery slope, and definitely a movement in the wrong direction for Sendero.

    Advice to Management

    Please bring Sendero culture back to the way it was a few years ago. Last year I wrote a glowing review and meant it, and this year I have not felt comfortable referring anyone new into the firm. If no action is taken, it will be hard to attract and retain the quality of people you have been able to in the past, which is the biggest pro of the company. Release some control, decision-making, and ownership downward to the the other senior partners, SLT, management team, and even analysts and associates. Bring back the excitement, the feeling of building something bigger than all of us, the feeling of being part of something great, the entrepreneurial vibe. Those things are starting to become a part of our past, part of who we used to be. They're not part of our present, but it's not too late to make them part of our future. There are a lot of elephants in the room, and it's time to address each one of them head on. Let's just call this a little growing pain and move on.

    Sendero Response

    Apr 9, 2018 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and share your perspective. We're excited about a lot of the internal dialogue/progress that is occurring around our 2017 culture survey, the related... More


  6. Helpful (8)

    "A Realistic View into Sendero"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Amazing people that I will truly call my friends for a time to come
    - Pockets of very intelligent, capable employees that will foster your growth
    - Average good hours (~40 / week) but some people get taken advantage of based on their project (~60+ / week)
    - Some surface level good culture qualities (Happy Hours, Quarterly meetings, etc.)

    Cons

    - Not forthcoming about the reality that most entry positions are staff aug. rather than consulting roles. There are a lot of smart people joining Sendero but they need to be kept intellectually stimulated or they'll leave
    - Inflated image of a great culture. The culture is really good at the surface but once real, impactful decisions start being made, the leadership only cares about the bottom line
    - Hard work and dedication do not seem to be valued (along with intelligence). It seems like billing time is all that is important
    - All decisions are made by a few (three) people and the management team is used to communicate those decisions out

    Advice to Management

    - Be honest with your employees. Don't bubble everything up to some "culture" "initiative" or bold face lie to us. Tell it like it is - we are all business professionals
    - Stop placing so much weight on internal initiatives. We are a consulting company so focus on just that: the consultants
    - Think about the perception of both Sendero and the individual employee when you accept client work / staff people. I understanding "getting your foot in the door" at a client but if you have someone as an admin or editing/shooting videos, it is hard to change the clients perception of the work Sendero IS capable of

    Sendero Response

    Dec 15, 2017 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are glad you have found friendship in the team. It's helpful when discussing opportunities to improve to have... More


  7. Helpful (6)

    "Does some things really well, but has room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time

    Pros

    - Talented, fun workforce with positive attitude that is very focused on community, core values, and recognition
    - Great place for tenured consultants to work without travel requirements
    - Good place for employees to start career through focus on generalist consulting model and frequent feedback
    - Supportive culture with light workload compared to other consulting firms (*exception for those placed on heavy system implementation projects)
    - Generous amount of PTO and medical benefits

    Cons

    - Less balance to industry portfolio compared to larger consulting firms (large niche in utilities)
    - Junior consultants are placed in non-consulting or staff-aug roles somewhat often
    - Centralized staffing model can make it difficult to work on projects that you may have an interest in
    - Very heavy focus on IT and operations consulting (limited exposure to traditional strategy roles)
    - No tuition assistance plan available for employees' formal educational goals (ex., master's degrees)

    Advice to Management

    - Work on decentralizing decision-making/control at senior levels and empowering mid-level management and expansion sites to make more meaningful decisions
    - Allow employees to specialize if they desire, and empower them to do so by de-centralizing staffing process or creating more specialized career tracks
    - Provide more support to consultants with the most demanding client responsibilities

    Sendero Response

    Dec 15, 2017 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We agree that our people are extremely talented!

    Our generalist approach helps us to maintain our local model, which provides the lack of travel and... More

  8. "Fun to Go to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Encouraging and supportive culture
    -Individualized career support
    -Opportunities to be exposed to many different people and parts of the firm
    -Focus on employee engagement
    -Emphasis on work/life balance

    Cons

    -Sometimes a lot of red tape/having to get approval from a lot of people for everything
    -Typical growing pains of a small firm (fine tuning internal communication and processes, etc.)

    Advice to Management

    We are still a small firm, so don't let 'big company' red tape get in the way. As we grow, keep trusting that you have the right people to do the job- that will make it easier to delegate. Keep living out the culture- it is awesome and so encouraging! Definitely makes it fun to go to work everyday.

    Sendero Response

    Oct 31, 2017 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We are so glad you decided to join us and have been experiencing our encouraging and supportive culture. We agree that as we get bigger we need to scale... More


  9. "It's the best of both worlds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    If you want a true management consulting experience - project based work, sharp, diverse people, and lots of challenge and variety - then Sendero has it. If you want to be a active member of your community, have interests outside of work, and sleep in your own bed every night, then Sendero has it. Add in a strong, values based culture and it truly is the best of all worlds!

    Cons

    As growing firm, everyone has to be adaptable and open to change.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward staying true to the Sendero way.

    Sendero Response

    Nov 1, 2017 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We think our employees are best of both worlds too - smart and extremely capable colleagues, but also well-rounded and fun people outside of the office... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Committed to Core Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have worked for Sendero for several years and even though we are a much larger company than when I started and have experienced lots of change and challenges along the way, there is one thing that has not changed - our fantastic people who are committed to living our core values. This is a very challenging and fun place to work, but one where you are surrounded by people you can count on and who create an environment of support and encouragement. There are many opportunities to develop as a professional through our client work, internal projects, and community involvement.

    Cons

    We are a fast-growing company and as others have mentioned, that comes with 'growing pains'. In my opinion, 'growing pains' means that we are constantly having to change and evolve as we outgrow processes, make mistakes, strive to improve, and learn as we go. We are not perfect, but with each mistake comes a chance to learn from those lessons, grow because of it, and move forward.

    Advice to Management

    Keep living our core values in everything you do, be as transparent as possible with our people, continue to admit mistakes and learn from them, continue to conduct culture surveys and forums to hear from our people

    Sendero Response

    Oct 30, 2017 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. Your dedication over time to our people and company is sincerely appreciated. The growth you mentioned, both as individuals and company, excites... More


Showing 117 of 117 reviews
Reset Filters