Sendero Reviews | Glassdoor

Sendero Reviews

Updated June 15, 2017
95 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

95 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great work life balance at Sendero (in 29 reviews)

  • Upper management maintains an open door policy that is inviting and never pretentious (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • A few growing pains as the company expands rapidly (in 16 reviews)

  • The pay isn't as much as you'll make at bigger consulting firms, but I've found that the work-life balance is well worth it (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time

    Pros

    This company provides a very dynamic workplace

    Cons

    There are no downsides to Sendero


  2. "Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - People are great
    - Management is concerned about the employees and know them all personally
    - Focus is on helping clients in the best and most honest way possible
    - Focus not on squeezing billable hours from clients
    - Incredible company culture

    Cons

    There are no cons for the company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing everything that you guys are doing!

  3. "Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Amazing people
    - Great culture
    - Leadership goes above and beyond
    - Growth potential
    - Employee focused
    - Good reputation

    Cons

    Opportunities:
    - Improve formal training
    - Maintain track of the consultants that are constantly driving +45 mins to a client's site, and rotate each individual to projects that require this level of driving

    Advice to Management

    Refer to opportunities (Cons).

    Sendero Response

    Apr 17, 2017 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We're so glad you've experienced that pros that you shared in your first year with us. We will continue to be employee focused so that the other elements ... More


  4. "Challenging Work with Supportive Leaders"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Sendero is an extremely supportive yet challenging environment. I enjoy getting experience at multiple clients, with the support of a consulting firm helping me obtain the necessary information to succeed. The fact that it's a small company also allows each employee to get a lot of hands on experience.

    Cons

    As we rapidly grow, it's difficult to assess what traditions are part of the culture, and what we have outgrown, but our leadership actively works on this issue.

    Sendero Response

    Mar 8, 2017 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear that the experiences you've had the opportunity to work on have been challenging but fulfilling. We welcome your feedback as we continue to grow. We want to ... More


  5. "Best Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The best thing about this company is its people. The individuals I work with are talented, incredibly bright, trustworthy, and fun. They host a variety of team building events. Most importantly, the client work I have been engaged in have all been highly rewarding. The work is fun and challenging. I appreciate the Career Advisor program where each employee is paired with a Career Advisor who not only helps with career development plans, but also serves as a support system, and mentor throughout your tenure at Sendero.

    Cons

    As any growing company, there are opportunities with 401k plan and wish there was an option to invest in index funds.

    Advice to Management

    Continue being transparent and keeping people, client, and community first!

    Sendero Response

    Nov 1, 2016 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks so much for the review. We appreciate everything you do and bring to our team! As we continue to grow, we will be able to offer even more flexibility and options with our benefits. Keep ... More


  6. "Great Culture, Great People, Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time

    Pros

    - Ability to make an immediate and significant impact, regardless of position or level or experience

    - Locally focused work in both DFW and Houston

    - Incredible attention to growth and development, both professionally and personally

    - Access to leadership and key decision makers

    - Inspiring and rewarding company culture

    - Incredible people

    Cons

    - Small firm, therefore limited by textbook small roadblocks (Limited recruiting resources, smaller starting salary, etc.)

    - Lack of professional degree reimbursement program

    Advice to Management

    Continue to maintain the profound emphasis on development of personnel in accordance with the firm's culture, push toward an established presence in new Texas markets, and strive to achieve manageable growth across all aspects of the company.

    Sendero Response

    Nov 1, 2016 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for the review! As we continue to grow, our resources and flexibility with benefits will continue to grow as well. That being said, we do not require our employees to obtain advanced ... More


  7. "Great people and a company that cares about looking after them!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Sendero is a place that genuinely cares about its people. It sounds like a gimmick that they tell you during recruiting and initially I was expecting the hammer to drop and that eventually the act would be given up. However, everything that I have seen has only reinforced what Sendero has been saying all along. They truly care for their people and they demonstrate this in the initiatives they undertake and where they place value within the company.
    I have also found that Sendero has provided me with an environment that is conducive for personal and professional growth. I am constantly challenged and have ample opportunity to expand my learning and involvement when desired. With collaborative teams and challenging work, I feel that I have been given the necessary support and opportunity to progress my career. Sendero also encourages involvement across multiple areas within the company and this provides its employees with the chance to not only learn multiple disciplines but to feel personal ownership in the company as it grows.
    Sendero is a place that is passionate about its people and works diligently to foster a culture that supports that in tangible ways. In an industry that is known for focusing on the work and not the people, it is nice to be a part of a company that is willing to go the extra mile for its employees!

    Cons

    Sendero should continue to work on adding diversity to its clients - in industry, size, and location.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to make sure that its focus on people and culture is not lost as the company grows.

    Sendero Response

    Nov 1, 2016 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for the review! You are exactly right - we will keep our focus on people as the company grows. As we say, our purpose is to enable the potential of our company, clients, and community. Company ... More

  8. "Amazing company, people, and culture!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Friendly and inviting atmosphere, overall an incredible culture. I have had a great experience working here. Sendero (at all levels) really values and cares about its employees, the community, and clients.

    Cons

    Would like to see more employee benefits or "perks" (aside from compensation). However, as we are growing, leadership/HR is being responsive to such feedback.

    Sendero Response

    Nov 1, 2016 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for the review! As we continue to grow, we'll be able to offer even more to our employees. Current perks include pizza Fridays, free drinks and snacks, month happy hours, reduced rate gym ... More


  9. "Inspiring Leadership, Real Culture, Focused on Sustainable Growth"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Sendero is a place where everyone is energized when arriving at a client because the employees are inspired to work with purpose. The company helps its college hires live out their pursuits by continually providing encouragement and feedback. Monthly one-on-one lunches with a career adviser sets Sendero apart because those lunches are aligned with the goal of the company--to assist with a mindset of shared success. Everyone client I speak with has the same to say. Knowing that your career has unlimited potential is another reason I work for Sendero. The leadership respects feedback from every employee, shown by their encouragement to take on leadership positions within company initiatives.

    Cons

    Some would say the young culture is a con. Sendero's focus on promoting from within places an emphasis on developing college hires into managers. Right now, Sendero's culture is very young and focused on creativity. This could be a con for someone looking for a typical corporate job.

    Advice to Management

    I would advise management to place a greater emphasis on innovation. The firm has the ability to grow beyond its current bearings with the level of talent on board. In order to do so, management should focus more on adapting their strategy to targeting projects that align with Sendero's creative mindset. The project I'm currently on has been a great learning experience, but I would like to see Sendero jump on board with clients who are looking to adapt to this century's innovation.

    Sendero Response

    Nov 1, 2016 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your feedback! We see our youthful culture as a great strength. You're right that we're focused on growing and developing our people, so we're looking for leaders and managers who ... More


  10. "Outstanding people and fantastic culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Culture of service to others.......Clients, Employees and Community
    - Great work life balance......leadership emphasizes the importance of supporting individuals with their work life balance
    - Collaborative approach to work......nobody is left out on an island with no support

    Cons

    - Sendero continues to experience growing pains as our company expands but the leadership team is very open to feedback and working hard to ensure internal operations is focused on developing the necessary support structure for our workforce

    Advice to Management

    - Keep up the great work of growing and expanding our presence in Dallas and Houston
    - We appreciate the transparency and open door policy that allows all employees to have a clear line of sight between their contributions and our success
    - Stay true to our culture and don’t change who we are as we expand


Showing 95 of 95 reviews
Reset Filters