Sendero Reviews | Glassdoor

Sendero Reviews

Updated April 14, 2017
94 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sendero Founder and Managing Partner Bret Farrar
Bret Farrar
75 Ratings

94 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great work life balance at Sendero (in 29 reviews)

  • Upper management maintains an open door policy that is inviting and never pretentious (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • A few growing pains as the company expands rapidly (in 16 reviews)

  • The pay isn't as much as you'll make at bigger consulting firms, but I've found that the work-life balance is well worth it (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (5)

    "Too good to be true"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    The people are all very friendly on the outset and sing praises of the family culture at Sendero. The office is in a fairly nice location and most of the business is concentrated in Dallas. Much effort is placed on making Sendero be the 'anti- big four' consulting company (claiming light travel and an understanding of a life/work balance) which, for the most part, does show.

    Cons

    I was drafted to this company because of their insistence on a unique, 'family-like' culture within a dynamic youthful company. This is completely true (the culture part, anyway)- as long as you prescribe to the same lifestyle and personal beliefs of the upper management (many of whom are directly related to Sendero's President or have been close with him prior to Sendero's founding). If you are a conservative, white individual whose professional aspirations reach no further than settling down as soon as possible with your heterosexual partner and 2.5 kids, then Sendero is the company for you. I say this only because many,many work lunches (some with the President of the company) revolved heavily around very specific, and unanimous, theological and political beliefs. I am usually an outspoken individual, but even I would feel extremely uncomfortable voicing my opinion in these situations. I would have continued to put up with this behavior if other aspects of the company were just spectacular, but that is not the case. This is an extremely green company and it shows; do not expect a very competitive salary or benefits. Other things that would be commonplace at a more established firm are overlooked aswell (i.e. parking- I'm not talking paid parking, I'm talking parking period. My offer letter included a 5 year old map of parking areas in downtown Dallas and a note that essentially said good luck). You can, however, expect many family cookouts where everyone can gush over everyone else's children. All in all, all I could think during my employment was 'I feel like my parents should work here.' Sendero may want to believe it is young and dynamic, but believe me it is not. I

    Advice to Management

    There is not much advice to offer, as the management is very set on its ways. I would suggest starting with a more diverse set of employees. I think they also need to realize the family-centric, locally based atmosphere they care so much about, while appealing to the older employees, is not going to help them draw in and retain the younger professionals they are targeting for employment.

    Sendero Response

    Jul 30, 2014 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Hello, Thank you for the review! Although it has been several years, we wanted to take a moment to respond to some your observations. Diversity is very important to us at Sendero, we believe that we ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good place to work, but..."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time

    Pros

    Real work / life balance; access to top leadership; good amount of PTO; great company culture; no required travel is real; genuine, caring people; lots of opportunity to grow skills and wear multiple hats

    Cons

    Pay is about 1 title below competitors; benefits are geared toward older employees, not college hires; training budget is too little to really be useful; non-consultants can do no wrong; feels like empire-building within internal positions; meaningful recognition of younger / mid-level consultants could be better; performance management constantly changes; some people have too much influence over decision making; some people who are bad consultants are kept around (or transfer to internal positions) because they are good culture fits rather than letting them go

    Advice to Management

    Limit influence of non-partners on strategic decisions; make sure internal employees are held accountable (maybe give them SLAs); come up with way to recognize and keep top talent; work to increase consultant pay so it is aligned with competitors

    Sendero Response

    May 27, 2016 – Recruiting Specialist

    I’m sorry to learn you have these concerns. I am committed to our open door policy at Sendero and would like to invite you to reach out to me directly. You may also leverage one of our other ... More


  3. "Great Company, Great Culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Positive, energetic, and friendly employees
    - Work life balance (especially for working in the consulting industry)
    - Openness from Senior Leadership
    - Leadership dedicated to supporting employees both personally and professionally

    Cons

    - Few opportunities for travel. If you want to travel for work, this isn't the company for you. We have several "travel" projects, but for the most part all work takes place within DFW
    - Training isn't at the same level as some of the more established firms, but has improved since I joined
    - Benefits/Salary aren't the same as larger firms but are improving. You get the perks of a smaller firm (no travel, work-life balance, and a fun, family atmosphere) and won't feel like you're "just a number" here. I personally feel that these benefits are greater than working for a larger firm and making more money

    Advice to Management

    Continue hiring people who are culture fits

    Sendero Response

    Jul 30, 2014 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Hello and thank you for the feedback! We are excited to hear that you have experienced the work/life balance we aim for, and know that you are not “just a number,” but a valued member of our team ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Growing consulting firm, not without challenges"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Decent breadth of challenging opportunities (multiple industries, types of work), considering size (50-100 employees)
    - Travel/work-life balance is much better than other consulting firms (90% of work is done in DFW area)
    - Heavy emphasis on "shared success" is a fresh of breath air compared to standard cut-throat consulting stereotype (e.g. repetitive business processes recognize others for their hard work and sharing of knowledge on projects)
    - Senior management has great experience and conducts themselves with integrity and respect for others
    - Fun, supportive atmosphere among consultants

    Cons

    - Growth opportunities can be somewhat limited if projects are tough to come by (firm is still small, so ideal clout level to easily win projects is still not there yet)
    - Much heavier emphasis on technology-related projects when compared to a standard business management / strategy consulting firm
    - Training is better than it's been in previous years, but still not near same standard as industry leaders

    Advice to Management

    - Need more aggressive BD approach ; past business relationships have a limit, need more dedicated sales team to drive growth
    - Heavier emphasis on "stretch" roles for young consultants -- lack of challenges can create untapped potential (some thrive under pressure, regress when not challenged)

    Sendero Response

    Jul 6, 2016 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Thanks for the review! We are glad you find so many aspects of working at Sendero to be positive. The way we have approached business development since our inception in 2004 has been about building ... More


  6. "Great place to work. Great people."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sendero full-time

    Pros

    Trustworthy leadership that genuinely cares about their people and their personal and professional growth.

    Cons

    A bit underpaid, but working on improving.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Sendero Response

    Jul 6, 2016 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Thanks for the review! We are glad you feel that supported and genuinely cared for by the people around you. Regarding compensation, we conduct bi-annual salary analysis to ensure we’re staying as ... More


  7. "Great culture and shared success focused consulting firm"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Culture focused and opportunity to work on becoming a well rounded consultant.

    Cons

    Because of the local model, projects tend to be small, relationship based, and typically not as high-profile as some of the more well known boutique management consulting firms.

    Sendero Response

    Jul 6, 2016 – Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for the review! We are glad that you feel given the opportunity to become a well-rounded consultant. We strive to give our employees opportunities to make a difference both at the client ... More


  8. "Culture sets company apart from other consulting firms, but would like to see more innovative projects"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Sendero is full of talented, motivated and passionate people who share the same values. Being in an environment that promotes work/life balance, great culture, and challenging work is incredibly difficult to find today but Sendero has it all. The local model provides for deeper relationships as well as improved work/life balance. Our CEO and the leadership team truly drives our culture and it permeates every facet of the business. All of the partners know my name and take the time to ask me how I am doing which is just one example of how Sendero's culture truly is special. I spend time with my co-workers outside of work and company happy hours and quarterly meetings foster cons

    Cons

    Salary is less than industry standard, but the great culture and work-life balance make up for it. There are not as many perks due to being a smaller firm such as mileage reimbursement and parking reimbursement. It exists but not to the degree that you see at other firms. Also, since Sendero is a smaller growing company, there is not as vast of a client/project portfolio that you find at bigger firms. While it has been improving, there tends to be a "stick with what you have" trend in terms of taking on more work at existing clients for the sake of having projects rather than prioritizing new and innovative projects even if it means taking some risks.

    Advice to Management

    I think that compensation should trend more towards industry standard and things such as mileage compensation and parking compensation should be improved.

    I think that there needs to be a push for more innovative and engaging projects. I am worried that we are sticking too much to clients we already have instead of taking risks and expanding our project portfolios with new industries and clients. Would like to see more industries and brand new clients rather than more work at existing clients. I know it is a tough thing to balance as business is necessary regardless to keep the company afloat but would just like to see more a push in that direction


  9. "Exciting time of growth"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sendero full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very focused on collaboration ("shared success"); hires very smart, inspirational people; lots of ways to get involved beyond the day-to-day project work, such as recruiting, internal efforts, social events; leadership is very accessible and willing to help

    Cons

    Growing pains now that we have passed the 100-employee mark; it's hard making the shift from knowing everyone's name to seeing lots more unfamiliar faces

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to the values that have made Sendero successful to-date; don't compromise as we grow

    Sendero Response

    Nov 1, 2016 – Recruiting Specialist

    That's great advice! We completely agree that sticking to our values will define our success. Now that we're getting bigger, it's more important than ever to make an effort to reach out to others ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "This company has an amazing culture and team spirit!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends

    Pros

    Locally-focused management consulting; fun; strong core values (integrity, respect, passion, higher reaching, and shared success); collaborative; humble; smart, interesting people; working together to build something really special; strong trust in leadership

    Cons

    There have been some growing pains as the company went from 15 or so employees with a long history together, to 35+ with a mix of new college grads and experienced hires outside of the original network. There's also a lot of work to do internally to grow the company, which, while interesting, can feel like a burden. It's also hard being patient for the company to get big enough to offer some of the things large companies can (in terms of benefits, salary, training, etc.), but in my opinion, it's worth the wait and I know they are giving the best deal they can.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the focus on the company culture; continue over-communicating so everyone knows the strategy and their place in it; confirm priorities periodically.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "A great company that lives their values and invests in their employees and community."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sendero full-time

    Pros

    Sendero Business Services is a great places to work! If you are looking for a company with people who like to work hard but have fun while doing it, then this is the place for you. The home office, located in the center of downtown Dallas, is vibrant and full of color with several painting around the office from one of their charities.

    The client work is challenging and it is exciting to watch the company as it grows and expands. The senior management is invested in the success of the company and works hard to maintain the culture they set out to create. Everyone at Sendero works hard to display the five core vaules of shared succes, passion, higher reaching, integrity, and respect in their work and with each other. Futhermore, there are many ways to make a direct impact and get your voice heard.

    Cons

    As a growing company, Sendero don't have the ability to offer some of the benefits of a larger corporation. However, there are many opportunities to get involved on internal projects and build out a variety of skills that you would not get at a larger consulting firm. Futhermore, the interaction you get with senior management at Sendero is truley unique.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and living out your core values.

    Sendero Response

    Jul 30, 2014 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Hi there and thanks for the feedback! We are delighted to hear that you’re enjoying the office; we love it too. We are also glad that you’ve experienced our core values first hand. We passionately ... More



Showing 94 of 94 reviews
Reset Filters