KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Seneca Family of Agencies

Engaged Employer

Seneca Family of Agencies

Add a Review

Seneca Family of Agencies Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 358 of over 368 reviews

4.0
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Seneca Family of Agencies President Leticia Galyean
Leticia Galyean
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are endless trainings and professional development for all levels of staff(in 23 reviews)

  • "any mental health job can be difficult), you can always count on someone willing to assist you in any way possible(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "low pay, doesn’t justify the work(in 21 reviews)

  • "The cap on salary will eventually get in the way since it is non profit company(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Awesome Agency to Work For

      Mar 5, 2021 - Human Resources in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -my teammates are great -we have a mentorship program, professional development scholarship and lots of room to grow within the agency. -agency supports our clients AND teammates -flexible PTO -our work gives me a sense of purpose

      Cons

      -our clients have experienced a lot in life and that can take an emotional/phsyical toll if you don't practice self-care

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent Employer

      Jul 18, 2021 - Parent Partner in Santa Ana, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They care about their employees and offer benefits

      Cons

      Wages could be more competitive.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Seneca Family of Agencies Response

      Digital Communications Manager

      Hi there! It’s wonderful to hear that you’re having a great experience with Seneca SoCal, and we appreciate your feedback! Your thoughts about more competitive wages are definitely noted and it is something we actively focus on at Seneca. It has been an ongoing priority and we are committed to competitive rates to onboard new staff but also for staff retention, as well. Thanks again for your time and energy in supporting the children and youth we serve! Josie Aye Roemhild, LCSW - Executive Director, Orange County Programs

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to build experience

      Jul 19, 2021 - Family Support Counselor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good experience in social work if you are interested in that as a career; 3 weeks PTO; and competitive salary for the setting

      Cons

      Very variable/inconsistent hours; lots of pressure around paperwork and billing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Supportive Environment

      May 27, 2021 - Clinical Intervention Specialist in Santa Ana, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people you work with are kind (they are thoughtful in hiring), the company as a whole is supportive of its employees and takes care of them when they need help, training opportunities, the offices are in beautiful locations, really good team perspective

      Cons

      At the time, the pay was a bit lower than the average, but I believe it has gone up since then. Again at the time, some of the programs were a bit disorganized, which caused some stress points. Also, due to the nature of being funded by either grant or school district (although most contracts continue consistently), there was pressure to keep contracts which caused stress overall within the program.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Seneca Family of Agencies Response

      Digital Communications Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review! 2020 was certainly an unusual year for all of our programs and your thoughts about our funding, contracts, and how they can impact our staff is really valuable feedback and an area we can better support our staff with. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you want to share other suggestions to enhance our programs. Thanks again! Josie Aye Roemhild, LCSW - Executive Director, Orange County Programs

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Seneca

      Jul 13, 2021 - TBS Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Management, Supervision, Licensure support

      Cons

      High Caseload and documentation turnover time expectation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing place to work!

      Jul 1, 2021 - Employee Experience Manager in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Seneca has provided many growth opportunities to excel in my role and reach my long term goals within the agency.

      Cons

      I do not have any Cons at this time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Jul 2, 2021 - Manager of Operations in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lot's of room to grow.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Seneca Family of Agencies Response

      Digital Communications Manager

      Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Seneca! We work hard to offer our staff many opportunities for career advancement, including annual Professional Development Scholarships, access to our Mentorship Program, professional learning communities, embedded master’s degree programs, extensive training, and more. I am thrilled to hear you feel supported in this way! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      many opportunities for growth, too much socialist jargon, not enough effective action

      Mar 24, 2021 - Mental Health Counselor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      kids are great, many types of trainings, opportunities to get experience with various elementary grades, wonderful staff

      Cons

      obsessed with "anti racist" and "dismantling white supremacy" jargon but doesn't really make sense because if that was truly the mission the school wouldn't exist. if we couldn't handle a student's behaviors we'd call the police and its hard to feel supportive of the students when thats the protocol. should've reopened school in phases, didn't give clear answers regarding reopening and caused a lot of stress among staff that work directly with families and students, too many committees that talk about problems that aren't action oriented or cohesive with other programs that make a difference, admin says they're open to feedback and barely address the concerns directly or clearly kept doing what they had in mind to do (in regards to larger matters). and basically gave us no choice in disguise of choice or "feedback"

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Seneca Family of Agencies Response

      Digital Communications Manager

      We recognize that the systemic racial and social disparities that exist in larger society are also present within our programs and directly impact the experiences of the students of color we serve. It is important for us to intentionally and regularly address these disparities to identify racially equitable solutions for our students that include substantive changes in our practices. Kimberly Wayne - Executive Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great People

      Jul 15, 2021 - Therapist in Concord, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, clients and families.

      Cons

      overworked and unfortunately under paid

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Seneca Family of Agencies Response

      Digital Communications Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to review your experience working with Seneca! It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoy your amazing colleagues as well as the work. If there are any further thoughts you’d like to share about your workload or compensation, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at jessica_donohue@senecacenter.org. Jessica Donohue, LCSW - Executive Director, Contra Costa & Solano County Programs

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jun 20, 2021 - TAY Counselor in Fairfield, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Benefits -Great Leadership -Competitive Pay -Healthy work place culture -Training opportunities

      Cons

      The type of work can be stressful

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Seneca Family of Agencies Response

      Digital Communications Manager

      Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience working at Seneca Solano! While this work can certainly be challenging, it’s wonderful to hear that you felt connected to your teammates and supervisors and supported by Seneca’s commitment to ongoing professional development! Jessica Donohue, LCSW - Executive Director, Contra Costa & Solano County Programs

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 358 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Seneca Family of Agencies Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Seneca Family of Agencies? Share Your Experiences

    Seneca Family of Agencies logo
    or