Sentara Healthcare Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Sentara Healthcare  CEO Howard P. Kern
Howard P. Kern
146 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low Pay compared to for-profit companies(in 26 reviews)

  • "Many units are SEVERELY short staffed, nurses caring for 6 or more patients on an intermediate care unit(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Love Sentara"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentara Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growth and development lunch hour full 1 hour no micromanaging

    Cons

    Have to have experience when trying to moving to a new position

    Sentara Healthcare2019-08-20
  2. "stability and consistency"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registration in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentara Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A healthcare system that is stable and consistent. We get raises each year, bonuses based on our performances and have policies in place to provide clear guidance on what is and is not acceptable

    Cons

    The cons are not prominent enough to note. The pros heavily outweigh the small issues that you will find in all workplaces.

    Continue reading
    Sentara Healthcare2020-04-15
  3. "Great staff and company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physical Therapist in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentara Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to collaborate with different health professions for interdisciplinary approach in helping patients get better. The work environment is great with fun coworkers and motivated people. It's a family feel when you work there. Left the company due to a move with my spouse's transfer. You can say you're proud of being an Sentara employee.

    Cons

    They are not strict as in compromise your salary, but possibly performance review if you don't meet certain units. There are different factors in how you may or may not miss it. The way it's calculated is not always fair with some people having easier time meeting the number. It does put a bit of stress. Financial support towards professional growth or belonging to a professional organization is not the best, but it is there. Be prepared to work some weekends and Holidays! Comp days, compensation is there, so not a true Con. It is what it is. You don't have to get approval for having Holiday off, but you will use your PTO time.

    Sentara Healthcare2020-05-25
  4. "Recommendation for employment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Manager in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentara Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Goal are clearly defined. They care about their employees. Excellent team work. Put patient safety and satisfaction first. Upper Management clearly visible and available. I loved working at Leigh. Felt like a family.

    Cons

    Very busy hospital but with great team work it is a great place to work.

    Continue reading
    Sentara Healthcare2020-05-24
  5. "Ed tech"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Executive Director Tech in Hampton, VA

    I have been working at Sentara Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Team work was really good

    Cons

    Staffing Was often too short

    Sentara Healthcare2020-05-15
  6. "Good Company Brand but Low Pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sentara Healthcare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    respected company brand, adequate training

    Cons

    low pay, poor nurse-to-patient ratio

    Sentara Healthcare2020-05-26
  7. "Scribe review"

    3.0
    Former Employee - ER Medical Scribe 

    I worked at Sentara Healthcare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere for the most part.

    Cons

    Long hours, little breaks, lots of computer screen time.

    Sentara Healthcare2020-05-21
  8. "internal medicine"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Physician in Norfolk, VA

    I worked at Sentara Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    great work environment for everyone

    Cons

    communication could be better for employees

    Sentara Healthcare2020-05-04
  9. "I love working in the hospital"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentara Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits were good Management improved

    Cons

    There was a lot of turnover in the department. Salary could be better for Administrative support staff members.

    Sentara Healthcare2020-05-01
  10. "Pretty decent job"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlottesville, VA

    I worked at Sentara Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    They train you extensively and you get to work regularly with health care providers

    Cons

    It's only a temporary job, also can get a bit slow during the nightshift

    Sentara Healthcare2020-04-26
Found 609 reviews