Sentinel Offender Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Sentinel Offender Services Reviews

Updated Mar 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.1
26%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Sentinel Offender Services Founder & President Robert Contestabile (no image)
Robert Contestabile
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Sentinel Offender Services

    Pros

    You do not have to work on the weekends

    Cons

    Not enough money for everything we have to do.

    Sentinel Offender Services2016-01-23
  2. Helpful (3)

    "OVERWORKED AND UNDERPAID!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worker in Laguna Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sentinel Offender Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people working here are the hardest working employees I've known.. making the job a bit likable.

    Cons

    No raise in over 3 years not even when they want you to be crossed trained in EVERYTHING! No room for growth and if you move into higher position they have currently lowered the salary. Upper management has been promising raises for the past 5 years and nothing has been done. The equipment needs improvement even tho management has stated money has been invested in improving functionality. Not to mention they have hired a communication specialist at 100k a year to help communicate with there employees, how about putting that 100k into our checks and we will communicate all you want. MOTTO: WHEN IN DOUBT SWITCH IT OUT!

    Continue reading
    Sentinel Offender Services2016-01-19
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Monitoring/Call Center Assistant Manager in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sentinel Offender Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Met the hardest working employees.

    Cons

    Poor benefits, poor communication to everyone in the company, never know what is going on or what is the goal.

    Continue reading
    Sentinel Offender Services2016-01-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Happy to be away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Laguna Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sentinel Offender Services for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Sentinel may be better than being unemployed.

    Cons

    Frank Underwood would feel right at home here

    Sentinel Offender Services2016-01-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overburdened"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Probation Officer in Augusta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sentinel Offender Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience and training in a vast number of office skills including but not limited to: Case Management; Interviewing; Preparing Legal Documents; Cold Calling; Scheduling; Etc.

    Cons

    The office management was horrid. There was a lot of drama and little to no oversight. The office manager played favorites and there was definitely some EO complaints and favoritism going on. The officers who had been there the longest had the easier, more entry level positions and the you will never get caught up on your caseload, yet they expected you to. There is literally upward mobility since it is a small company. And, since they keep getting sued there are no opportunities for raises.

    Continue reading
    Sentinel Offender Services2015-10-06
  6. "Probation Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentinel Offender Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great entry way into the criminal justice world. You learn a lot of good trait, such as communication with criminal offenders, how to present a case in front of the judge and how to do various types of paper work.

    Cons

    To many probationers on a case load, once you get get a case load above 350 it makes it very hard to give every probationer enough time to meet with you.

    Continue reading
    Sentinel Offender Services2015-09-20
  7. "Electronic Monitoring Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Electronic Monitoring Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentinel Offender Services

    Pros

    There are none that I can recall.

    Cons

    Very stressful environment with very low pay. Lackluster benefits. Horrible management. No room for growth.

    Sentinel Offender Services2015-08-11
  8. "Good Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sentinel Offender Services part-time

    Pros

    Good learning environment, co-workers were willing to assist with procedures or information I wasn't aware of, and flexible scheduling hours. Worked with some very smart people.

    Cons

    Management was re-organized during the time I spent there and as such, I was out of touch with my supervisor so it felt a little disorganized and communication was scattered and rushed. No upward movement.

    Continue reading
    Sentinel Offender Services2015-05-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Review of Sentinel Offendars Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Probation Officer in Brunswick, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sentinel Offender Services

    Pros

    Very interesng position - no chance for promotion - if they let you go for any reason any vacation time you have on the books is lost - the best part of the job is the time spent in Court.

    Cons

    Poor management - only cares about bring in money - cares nohing abpout helping the individuals that are on probation - onl allowed 15 miutes per office visit.

    Continue reading
    Sentinel Offender Services2015-02-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Apply at your own risk!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sentinel Offender Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got a chance to work with some cool people. Job was close to home and worked a great schedule. They were flexible with me adjusting my hours.

    Cons

    Management is often rude and condescending. Everything here is micro-managed. I even had a Supervisor ask me " Why I was standing?" Treat their employees like they are in grade school. Was not allowed to socialize with my co-workers during work hours. Some people in Management were on a constant power trip and liked to play favorites. This was brought to their attention, but it was quickly ignored and I was labeled a " complainer and not a team player." There were a number of other issues, but this would require me writing a novel.

    Continue reading
    Sentinel Offender Services2014-12-17
Found 54 reviews