Sentinel Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Sentinel Technologies Reviews

Updated September 6, 2017
73 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dennis Hoelzer
52 Ratings

73 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Always try to work with employees to ensure work/life balance (in 12 reviews)

  • The defining principle of a Great Place to work, Sentinel Technologies (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • Work / Life balance can be difficult to manage as you will often be required to work long hours and weekends sometimes with little to no notice (in 4 reviews)

  • There are truly no cons, this is not applicable (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentinel Technologies full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great deployment team, awesome leadership

    Cons

    Pay could be a little better, but its not that far off of the norm.

    Sentinel Technologies Response

    Sep 12, 2017 – Administrator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Sentinel! We greatly appreciate all the feedback we receive, and use it to continue to grow and improve. Thanks again!


  2. "Wireless Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sentinel Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Good work hours and job requirements

    Cons

    Starting pay is lower than expected

    Advice to Management

    Bump the pay up a bit.

    Sentinel Technologies Response

    Sep 1, 2017 – Administrator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your review, it is greatly appreciated!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "IT Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentinel Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    No cons to list at this time

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing everything the same way

    Sentinel Technologies Response

    Jul 27, 2017 – Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review! It is greatly appreciated!


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Downers Grove, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Downers Grove, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sentinel Technologies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There is an onsite lounge area with beverages served on fridays

    Cons

    Where to start...micro-management at its finest. Almost every task completed has to be cleared through a manager. They do not let employees work remote...which is sad considering this is a technology company. Come on it's the 21st century. When you kindly give them a two week notice, they terminate you immediately and HR walks you out that day. They will not paid out your earned bonuses after you have left as well.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to respect their employees and listen to what they have to say. They would keep employees longer, and would have a more competitive advantage in the technology market.

    Sentinel Technologies Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Administrator

    At Sentinel, we strive to have each and every employee with us, no matter the duration, leave with a positive impression. The “Advice to Management” really resonates with us. We have an open door... More


  5. Helpful (6)

    "Unnecessarily Tough Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical in Downers Grove, IL
    Former Employee - Technical in Downers Grove, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sentinel Technologies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you are in a technical role, Sentinel will give you a workout. You will get a lot of exposure very quickly, bearing in mind that most of their clients are small or
    mid-tier. A lot of people have used Sentinel to get a start in consulting. Some of the insiders at Sentinel reportedly make a lot of money. There is some good
    engineering talent, as you would expect at a Cisco channel partner.

    Cons

    I have been around the block, and have never seen an organization with more of a split between the insiders and everyone else. The company is very set in its ways,
    and treats non-insiders as highly expendable. Training consists of throwing you in and seeing if you can swim. Zero perks, and I mean zero. Work conditions are the
    worst that I have experienced in my IT career, and God help you if you make a mistake; the culture is extremely CYA. The issues cover not just the abysmal work/life balance, but how one is treated every day - the organization finds many different ways to telegraph that they really don't value you or your input. I've seen very high level engineers treated this way. And if you wonder why these engineers put up with it, the answer is that many do not, and there is constant turnover. Also, I have questions about the company's long-term viability - the people making the decisions all seem to have 20+ years at Sentinel and are out of touch with industry and market conditions. I would have to say that this is known through the grapevine in local IT circles, too (ask around). For anyone thinking about taking on a technical role at Sentinel, then, I would really urge caution. And look at these reviews carefully and note 5* reviews are generally by current employees, and are generally one or two liners - draw your own conclusions there. Indeed, many negative reviews seem to disappear. We will see if this one survives.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees as assets, not as kleenex. Get some new blood in the director + ranks. Understand that trust and respect are a two way street. I get the sense that you are genuinely puzzled as to why you have this level of turnover, so you had better make an effort to get genuine feedback, rather than soliciting
    cheerleading, or your ability to attract and retain top talent will continue to be compromised. And in the end, you are only as good as your technical talent. Better give them a reason to consider you, or to stay.

    Sentinel Technologies Response

    May 17, 2017 – Administrator

    Sentinel has been in business just shy of 35 years. Recruiting and retaining a very talented team of employees is vital to our ability to deliver an uncompromising customer service experience, and... More


  6. "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Analyst
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Analyst
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentinel Technologies full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I enjoy the challenges and working with the latest technologies. Great work/life balance. Good support from management

    Cons

    Decentralized structure for operations.

    Advice to Management

    Remember to communicate with the operations people in the branch offices. Treat operations as one group.

    Sentinel Technologies Response

    Mar 7, 2017 – Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is greatly appreciated!


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company to Work For if you want a career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentinel Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Through all aspects of the company you are given a chance to voice your ideas, share with others, and work with really smart people. It is very common for employees to start here fresh out of school and stay here for the remainder of their lives, that is great to be a part of. Another positive is it offers the benefits of a very large organization, but people care about you like a small family owned business would be run.

    Cons

    At this point I do not have any cons, as you have a career with a company, all companies have ups and downs and you will not always agree with your employer, however to be honest this company always works to fix any con you would have.

    Advice to Management

    As the company continues to grow always hold true to the values that have promoted this growth

    Sentinel Technologies Response

    Mar 7, 2017 – Administrator

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback! It's great to hear that our employees are having a positive experience with us, and the family atmosphere we hold in such high regard is... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Ann Arbor, MI
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentinel Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good client focus. Great engineers.

    Cons

    Tough market they compete in with multiple Cisco partners..

    Sentinel Technologies Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Administrator

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback, it is greatly appreciated!


  9. Helpful (9)

    "HR is a nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sentinel Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Some people that work there are great!
    If you are in the "in-crowd" you'll make a lot of money and be treated very well
    Benefits are pretty good

    Cons

    If you are a woman, be prepared to take a step backwards. The only career path available to you is as an administrative assistant or in HR.
    HR is mean. They are vindictive and will laugh at you if you come to them with a serious allegation or issue.

    If you notice - any 1 or 2 star ratings are not taken seriously by management. They are argued with (my guess is by HR) and the poster's concerns are belittled.

    There is no way this business will continue much longer. They are a discrimination lawsuit waiting to happen. Minorities and women have no place in this company.

    Advice to Management

    stop discriminating and arguing with people when they bring issues to you. There are several people there who don't deserve their title and rank, yet they continue to lord it over others and make individual contributors miserable.

    Sentinel Technologies Response

    Mar 8, 2017 – Administrator

    We take the opinions and concerns of our employees, both online and internally, very seriously. A common misconception is that technology is not a “people” industry, but in reality, our success has... More


  10. Helpful (5)

    "Perfect blend of professional and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Downers Grove, IL
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Downers Grove, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentinel Technologies (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The management and executive team genuinely care about the employees well being. I am one of many that have been with the company for over 10 years and have always felt that the company were on my side and wanted me to grow personally and professionally. They try to keep the family culture going with a company that is continuing to grow. Classic work hard play hard too

    Cons

    Business is business and sometimes decisions have to be made for the company well being that can't be helped. When it comes though I have seen Sentinel try to help out individuals as much as possible

    Advice to Management

    onsite company gym or some kind of game/relaxation room

    Sentinel Technologies Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sentinel! We are proud to have employees, like yourself, who have grown their career with us. The family atmosphere you mention is a key... More


Showing 73 of 79 reviews
Reset Filters