Sentry "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sentry Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Jan 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Sentry Chairman of the Board, President and CEO Pete G. McPartland
Pete G. McPartland
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company Good benefits great training(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for, I was just too far away then I wanted to travel for work(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Trust of you as a professional doesn't exist, upper management bully individuals to get work done(in 16 reviews)

  • "Remote offices overlooked by home office in WI(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Product Support Processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry full-time

    Pros

    Great company with good benefits. I love that you can move to a new job position within the same company.

    Cons

    You have to wait a year before moving to each new position. Some entry level jobs pay very little.

    Sentry2018-10-03

    Sentry Response

    October 11, 2018Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for your positive review and your work at Sentry. We work hard to promote professional development opportunities and encourage our associates to strive to advance their careers. Typically we recommend associates stay in a position for 12 months before switching roles to ensure they’ve had enough time to learn that role. We appreciate your feedback. Javier Sotelo – Director of Employment and Employee Relations

    Continue reading
  2. "Watch your back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Damage Appraiser in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company Good benefits great training

    Cons

    If they make staffing changes they will find reasons to let people go that are not the real reason that they are letting someone go. They will find quality in work Or other reasons and I don’t believe this is ethical watch your back if they all of a sudden start auditing your files for little insignificant reasons things they have never done or don’t donto other team members that may be looking for a reason to let you go so they look god for unemployment insurance

    Continue reading
    Sentry2020-01-29

    Sentry Response

    February 7, 2020Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I’m glad you found value in our training and the benefits we offered while you worked with us. Our organization is growing and we need good associates. Throughout the company, we strive to ensure that all associates enjoy a work environment that fosters positive relationships with their coworkers and managers. We take your comments about process and management seriously and plan to look further into that information. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Michele Dufresne – Chief Claims Officer

    Continue reading
  3. "A good place to begin a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claim Manager in Goldsboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sentry full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits package, salary is a little below industry average.

    Cons

    Employees in regional offices are not valued as highly as employees based in Wisconsin.

    Sentry2020-01-28

    Sentry Response

    January 31, 2020Sentry Insurance Employee

    It's good to hear you enjoyed our benefits and found Sentry a good place to start a career. Many of our claims associates work from home, in the field, or in other offices around the country. We want to ensure all our associates feel valued, regardless of their location. That’s why we offer certain benefits to associates outside the Stevens Point area. Leadership who work at headquarters also make routine visits to field offices. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Michele Dufresne – Chief Claims Officer

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great benefits, team environment but you are treated well only if you suck up to the right people and there's favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Quality Analyst in Freeport, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentry full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and pay, team environment, like to have food days and fun

    Cons

    Too many close friendships with managers and their direct reports. There is favoritism, if you aren't in the right crowd you're targeted and find things to say you're doing wrong

    Continue reading
    Sentry2018-11-24

    Sentry Response

    December 6, 2018Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m pleased to hear your positive comments about the benefits we offer and the work environment you experienced during your time with us. I’m sorry some of your other experiences were less positive. Please know we encourage associates to speak with their HR representatives when experiencing or observing workplace concerns. We expect our management to treat all associates with respect. Thank you again for sharing your comments. Jim Stitzlein – Chief Information Officer

    Continue reading
  5. "Claims representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company. Good benefits. Sentry bonus. 8% company match 401k

    Cons

    Work load is unmanagable. No time to take breaks, lunch, go to the restroom. High stress. High volume. No compassion for the massive workload.

    Sentry2018-03-22

    Sentry Response

    April 4, 2018Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for sharing your feedback—I’m glad you like Sentry’s culture and benefits. I’m sorry to hear about your workload concerns. The claims profession can experience irregular workloads so we’re continually working to implement process improvements and monitor staffing levels. We care about our associates’ wellbeing, both inside and outside of work, so I encourage you to reach out to your supervisor or HR representative with your concerns. Michele Dufresne – VP Chief Claims Officer

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Current Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentry full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, location and facilities.

    Cons

    Some areas are micromanaged and lack support of associate growth.

    Sentry2017-10-17

    Sentry Response

    November 2, 2017Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for your feedback and recognizing of our efforts to provide competitive benefits, along with excellent facilities. The insurance industry is a regulated environment for the protection of our customers and we strive to provide training and learning opportunities to help associates grow professionally. Thanks for sharing your experience, we appreciate your feedback. Todd Schroeder – Chief Financial Officer

    Continue reading
  7. "Claim Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Claims Service Representative in Westford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sentry for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Continually growing and trying to keep up, good benefits.

    Cons

    Management losses focus on the employee's and continue to overload your case load. There is no where to grow in new england

    Continue reading
    Sentry2016-07-07

    Sentry Response

    July 18, 2016Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. We’re happy to hear that you appreciated our benefit offerings and organizational growth, and sorry to hear you feel your workload was unmanageable. We’re committed to a positive and productive work environment for all of our associates while maintaining an emphasis on the quality service to our customers. We will continue to evaluate this as we move forward. Thanks again for your comments. Mark Trautschold SVP- Chief Claims Officer

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Business Products Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company that cares about their employees. Good benefits. Potential for high income.

    Cons

    Selling a "cadillac" policy to niche markets. Very tough to put companies into Sentry's niche.

    Sentry2016-05-11

    Sentry Response

    May 19, 2016Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and for recommending us as a great company to work for. At Sentry, we’re committed to providing all of our associates with a rewarding and challenging work environment as well as opportunities for ongoing professional development and growth, industry-leading benefits and competitive compensation. Specific to sales, our approach allows our sales producers the opportunity to excel and achieve outstanding incentives and recognition each year. We know the value of investing in our sales team and are always looking for ways to refine and improve our processes and provide more tools and support. Thank you for your service to our policyholders during your time with us and for the vital role you played in our organization’s success. And thanks again for your comments. John Hyland Vice President

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Management Needs To Work On People Skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Support (Transportation) in Stevens Point, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, 401K, PTO. Friendly co-workers. Great CEO,

    Cons

    An Operations Support Supervisor is a micro-manager. Gossips about employees with other employees. Shares confidential information about HR meetings/disciplinary actions with other employees. Is threatened by employees with more education and experience and will find ways to "put them in their place." Never admits any mistakes, places blame on others. Does not train employees (relies on a bible of procedures that change constantly.) Denies requests for re-training. Several employees feel bullied and HR does not do anything about this, instead makes these employees feel that they are the problem. Workload is too heavy, constantly short-staffed, too many responsibilities fall upon the processors and support staff. No real direction or leadership. Supervisor do not truly delegate, claim they spend 90% of their time doing processor work. UW Managers only hire men. Do not hire based on education or experience. Usually hires external candidates. Only hire people who suck up. Say they promote positivity in the workplace but all of the direct reports gossip about agents, co-workers and supervisors but because they are underwriters they are treated like gods. Upper managers clueless about what really goes on in the department. The hardest working employees are ignored, bullied and railroaded. Says they are proud to hire and promote from within the department, but there have only been two of five instances in which this has actually happened. Underwriters talk about how stupid the agents are and how they can't do anything right. They have said they need to have common sense knocked into them. Management overlooks it because they write all the premium. The managers claim they encourage an open door policy and that they want us to come to them with concerns, but if they don't agree with the information, you will be targeted and marked as a problem employee. HR assigned to our department does not respond to requests/concerns; very rude, interrupts often, does not address the issues with management, makes the employees feel like they are "bad employees." Extremely high turnover rate because good employees are leaving bad managers. Those who stay have it "good" in the department.

    Continue reading
    Sentry2016-01-15
  10. "Reinsurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexability with schdule.

    Cons

    Getting top heavy in upper management.

    Sentry2015-07-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 20 reviews