Sentry "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Sentry Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Sentry Chairman of the Board, President and CEO Pete G. McPartland
Pete G. McPartland
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company Good benefits great training(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for, I was just too far away then I wanted to travel for work(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Trust of you as a professional doesn't exist, upper management bully individuals to get work done(in 16 reviews)

  • "Remote offices overlooked by home office in WI(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Claims Representative 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Representative I in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sentry full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Plenty of opportunities for advancement within the company.

    Cons

    Downsides are pretty comparable to any job. Communication with upper management could be improved.

    Sentry2017-01-25

    Sentry Response

    February 2, 2017Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re happy to hear your experience with Sentry was positive and that you recommend us as a great company to work for. We take great pride in offering many personal and professional development opportunities to unleash individual talent and to provide paths for advancement. We’re working to grow communication links between associates and all levels of management through our Roadshow Question series with upper management and our associate engagement survey. We sincerely appreciate your comments and the service you provided to our policyholders. Best of luck. Mark Trautschold – SVP Chief Claims Officer

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible environment, don't trust anyone, don't like people from the outside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Stevens Point, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sentry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Life balance, no demand to work extra hours

    Cons

    Trust of you as a professional doesn't exist, upper management bully individuals to get work done. Any effort to collaborate is based on the individuals preference. Just because you are not from around Stevens Point doesn't mean you shouldn't fit in or be included.

    Continue reading
    Sentry2019-09-05

    Sentry Response

    September 6, 2019Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that your Sentry experience didn’t meet your expectations. We take your comments and concerns seriously. Throughout the company, we strive to ensure that all associates enjoy a work environment that fosters positive relationships with their coworkers and managers, regardless of their previous personal or professional experiences. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts. Jim Frank - Chief Information Officer

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company car, gas card 401k with matching save all you can it will be short lived work from home while you look for another job.

    Cons

    Same old sales job 4 tier sales structure and everything roles down hill. Upper management hides behind performance of everyone below them so if you are an acct manager you will be at the bottom. Sales acct mgrs have no say in anything underwriting controls everything acct managers deliver policy and sale what is approved by underwriting at the highest price.

    Continue reading
    Sentry2017-04-22

    Sentry Response

    May 9, 2017Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’d like to learn more about how our sales structure is impacting you in the field. Please reach out to me or your region manager so we can address the issue of problems rolling downhill. It’s great to hear you enjoy our benefits, now let’s see if can iron out the work process issues you’re experiencing. Thank you for your feedback and service to our customers. I welcome the opportunity to discuss and address the specific challenges you’re facing. John Hyland – Vice President

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Disappointing Outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Onsite managers are supportive and try to make work enjoyable. Flex time is available.

    Cons

    Upper management is disconnected. No inline promotional opportunities. Saturdays are now required work days with no regard to prior ongoing commitments and no corresponding salary adjustments.

    Sentry2016-05-09

    Sentry Response

    May 18, 2016Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for your feedback. Our management team is dedicated to providing an environment that’s not only productive, but also supportive, flexible, and enjoyable—we’re pleased you find this to be true. Our customers’ service needs continue to evolve—this means being available and ready to help them during times that have traditionally been non-business hours. To accommodate this, we’ve made adjustments to our scheduling, on a rotational basis. We feel we can deliver on our promise of exceptional service to our customers while still maintaining the flexibility our associates appreciate. Regarding inline promotions, our local claims management continuously assesses the need and opportunity for promotions within their teams. We encourage you to have a follow-up conversation with your manager on future development opportunities. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments. Mark Trautschold SVP- Chief Claims Officer

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sentry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are very nice people to work with. Have I hit the 20 word limit yet?

    Cons

    Terribly expensive health insurance that pays little to none towards medical cost. Low pay Snobbish upper management

    Continue reading
    Sentry2015-10-02

    Sentry Response

    October 14, 2015Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your candid feedback. I would also like to thank you for your many years of service at Sentry. I would agree that we have very nice associates at Sentry who are great to work with. Unfortunately many times in large organizations senior leadership can appear to be unapproachable, but in reality are very friendly and welcome the opportunity to discuss issues and help develop solutions. I would encourage any current associates to take advantage of that opportunity. Thanks again for sharing your experience. We are always striving to improve, so we sincerely appreciate the feedback. Kevin Schmidt Dir-IT-Personal Lines

    Continue reading
  6. "Reinsurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexability with schdule.

    Cons

    Getting top heavy in upper management.

    Sentry2015-07-09
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Change Needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry full-time

    Pros

    401k match, great people, competitive salary

    Cons

    Poor management, lack of direction. The Corporate Marketing area is losing employees due to a severe lack of direction and support from upper management. Personal relationships are valued more than skill and experience. A change is needed before a successful marketing team will deliver what is needed. More talented and driven employees will look elsewhere unless a change happens soon.

    Continue reading
    Sentry2015-06-13

    Sentry Response

    October 5, 2015Sentry Insurance Employee

    Thanks for taking the time to express your concerns. In the past year, we’ve made significant changes to the marketing team’s structure and roles to better serve our business units and provide strategic marketing support in meeting business goals. I know change can be unsettling. I’d welcome the chance to talk with you personally about your experiences. Please, feel free to come see me at any time. Stephanie Smith Associate Vice President - Marketing & Brand Management

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Micromanaged, overworked, and under appreciated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sentry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Variety of responsibilities keeps it interesting. With the former Director and Associate Director, this was a great, fun place to work.

    Cons

    A lot of hard work for naught. This went from an interesting job to a 'claims processor' job where we were just cutting checks regardless of whether the claims were fraudulent or not. A lot of wasted time and expenses because the new upper management was afraid of their own shadow.

    Continue reading
    Sentry2015-03-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "More downs than ups."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Position in Stevens Point, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry full-time

    Pros

    Large company with plenty of room for good people to move laterally or upward. Very stable company. Competitive wages. Beautiful location. Nice fitness center, pool, golf course.

    Cons

    Upper management cannot relate to workers. You are a number. Benefits have been reduced recently. Too political. There was a seemingly baseless and poorly communicated firing of a well respected director. I do not trust upper management. Employee quality of life is not a focus. They pay it lip service but there is no follow through. High turnover in some areas with seemingly no notice by upper management. Cannot change positions internally without your current manager being informed the instant you apply, lending to the loss of good people who fear repercussion and therefore look externally rather than internally. Very top heavy corporate structure but not enough good leaders. In IT it is a pressure cooker where most lower managers are "working managers" and there are no IT Lead job roles. This leads to lower quality and higher stress. IT is also very fragmented and large projects are virtually impossible to pull off.

    Continue reading
    Sentry2014-10-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Worst employer I have ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sentry full-time

    Pros

    - good benefits - great HR

    Cons

    - management is completely incompetent and upper management is completely oblivious to this somehow - technology is moving backwards in time. HQ uses technologies from the 80s and brags about it - for some reason (even though HQ is in the middle of nowhere and they cant seem to hire anyone with any relevant experience) they are letting good people walk out the door and promoting people that add no value to the organization - young managers/directors with no real world experience are running the show, I wouldn't bet on the long term success of the organization (which is already on the decline with its personal lines division closing down)

    Sentry2014-10-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews