Sephora Beauty Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Sephora Beauty Consultant Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
95%
Recommend to a Friend
Sephora CEO, Sephora Americas Jean Andre Rougeot
Jean Andre Rougeot
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Beauty Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Beauty Consultant in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, good music, great gals!

    Cons

    I wish that there were more opportunities for raises.

    Sephora2016-02-19
  2. "Seasonal Beauty Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Beauty Consultant in Wenatchee, WA

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super fun to work in makeup if you love it and connect with others over the beauty industry, real time being able to make people feel beautiful.

    Cons

    Intense retail job, always on your feet and feeling like you have to be "on", especially because Sephora is so busy and you have to be really knowledgeable on the products to make safe recommendations

    Sephora2019-08-18
  3. "Nice Perks, Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Consultant in Bronx, NY

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free stuff, Co-workers, Music, Cool Products.

    Cons

    On feet for long hours.

    Sephora2019-08-03
  4. "Fun company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Consultant in Newport Coast, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learned a lot, freedom, great people, great energetic environment.

    Cons

    Fast paced, working with lots of women, on your feet all day.

    Sephora2019-05-29
  5. "Fun environment, awful clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Consultant in Aventura, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When working at Sephora, you get a good amount of training. They are great about educating their employees, and very generous with Gratis. Management values their employees.

    Cons

    Clients are the worst I've experienced in any industry, and I have experience in plenty! They are entitled, and will treat you like you aren't even human.

    Advice to Management

    Better pay please., commission would be great too.

    Sephora2019-04-30
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Consultant in Minneapolis, MN

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    , holidays were very busy! Fun for makeup artists or aspiring artists

    Cons

    Management could improve by promoting the right people

    Advice to Management

    Be fair and kind!

    Sephora2019-03-03
  7. "Pretty Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Consultant in Lafayette, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All the employees & management were extremely nice.

    Cons

    They made us come in once a week in the middle of the night sometimes until, 2am to do new stock & then schedule you to open that morning. A little ridiculous. Also!!! Omg, the uniforms, yikes.....hanious, I don't get it. Tacky tacky tacky...so bad. I used to feel so sorry for those girls who worked there before I worked there & I was totally right. Iv never talked with another associate who didn't agree with my sentiment

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have another position for just makeup artists so you can sit EVERY customer down. That's how you give service & build customer relationships & loyalty & then....ring the register...if you build it, they will come.

    Sephora2018-12-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Working for Sephora"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Consultant in Roseville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All the girls have different personalities but make the job more fun. Gradis is amazing sometimes. Education is offered from the actual cosmetics companies being sold within. Not commission based.

    Cons

    They give a "title" to some people that make them think they're above you. Could have lots of drama. Expect you to ask to move around out of area in any situation.

    Advice to Management

    I don't think its right to get buddy buddy with employees to get information of the drama going on. Have management on the floor to a minimum not make up titles to employees you are fond of more than others.

    Sephora2018-02-26
  9. "I loved working there overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Product Consultant in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount was awesome. Education days were great to learn things. I built a lot of production knowledge working there.

    Cons

    Poor management. Short shifts. Barely any hours for part timers. Sephora inside jcpenney is the worst to work for I would personally say

    Advice to Management

    Be more organized.

    Sephora2017-08-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Beauty Consultant in Springfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun industry and very innovative. Absolutely loved upper management at this location. I really love corporates values from my training, but unfortunately did not feel like they were implemented.

    Cons

    Employees (aside from upper management) were very negative, cliquish, lack of education.

    Sephora2017-07-25
Found 42 reviews