Sephora Product Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Sephora Product Consultant Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
60%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Sephora CEO, Sephora Americas Jean Andre Rougeot
Jean Andre Rougeot
2 Ratings
  1. "Product consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Consultant in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gratis, fun environment, lots to do

    Cons

    Low pay, stressful, short breaks, rude customers

    Sephora2018-12-04
  2. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Consultant in Colma, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    gratis was great and the costumers

    Cons

    everything else was horrible and toxic

    Advice to Management

    do better

    Sephora2019-10-14
  3. "Great clients and rewarding work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Consultant in Goodlettsville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relationship building with clients, emphasis on product education, and coworkers.

    Cons

    Lots of responsibility to run the store with little help as a regular employee.

    Sephora2019-09-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sephora"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sephora Product Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free gratis all the time

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities to grow

    Sephora2019-08-25
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Sephora Used To Be A Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Consultant in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Product discount, ridiculous amount of free product, fantastic training, fantastic benefits, access to all the newest beauty products and technology, frequent free food, wonderful coworkers and brand representatives.

    Cons

    You will be promised promotions and told what you want to hear, but you will rarely advance with this company. Micromanaging is unbearable here, your store management will SUFFOCATE you daily. Full-time used to be 40 hours a week, now it’s more like 29 which is quite the pay cut compared to when I started back in 2011. Retail can be tough no matter where you work but clients could be absolutely ruthless. With our hours cut we never had enough staffing to get to all clients which resulted in upset shoppers and unmet goals. Theft got worse and worse and was hard to deal with. No matter how perfectly you do your job management will find fault with it. Management will harp on you to do your job the Sephora way and hurry up to help every client but when the store got busy they couldn’t be bothered to help you because as managers they were above helping clients, but they could delegate them to you and make them wait and wait for your help. It got too overwhelming in the end. They are not flexible AT ALL with scheduling so work life balance is nonexistent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more for all you expect them to know/do. Give them hours so they can make their money and service clients and be happy while they do it. Give your employees the tools they need to succeed. Give them work/life balance and promote from within. Listen to your unhappy employees or they will leave. And offer the fantastic trainings (brand clusters, ENCORE, etc.) that you used to. Keep your employees motivated and excited to come to work.

    Show More
    Sephora2019-06-26
  6. "Great people, ok decisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the cast members at Sephora was one of the most positive experiences I've had. They were always friendly, outgoing folks with a lot of passion and love for the products we sold

    Cons

    Career tracks at Sephora were always ill-defined. Hard to find a path that led to growth.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees when it comes to choices for management. Best example was an amazing lead in our Operations department being passed-over for second-in-command at the store in favor of a woman from an entirely different store. She did not adapt well to our culture and made enemies of pretty much every employee there very quickly.

    Sephora2019-05-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great atmosphere for makeup lovers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Consultant in North Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere! You gain a ton of knowledge about skincare and cosmetics that you can use in your everyday life, not just for consumers in the store.

    Cons

    Long hours on your feet.

    Sephora2019-03-21
  8. "Fast Paced Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty generous environment, get a chance to learn about products and get advice to the customer

    Cons

    There are too many products that do not get in for testers

    Advice to Management

    none

    Sephora2019-03-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company, poor morals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Jcp Sephora Product Consultant in Ames, IA

    I worked at Sephora for less than a year

    Pros

    I LOVED helping the customers look and feel their best! I loved coming into work and getting to do that. My coworkers were amazing and I felt valued as an employee by management

    Cons

    I didn't like that it felt as though we were forced to sell more to customers. If they didnt want something, I was told to still try to sell it to them. And working with JCP was awful because you had to try to get customers to sign up for the credit card and if you didnt get enough people signed up for one you could get fired for that. I just thought that it took away from what working at sephora was all about.

    Sephora2019-01-25
  10. "Horrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Jcp Sephora Product Consultant in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora for more than a year

    Pros

    Gratis, easy job, events, samples, events

    Cons

    poor management, lack of training, low pay, long hours, and JCP benefits

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers with beauty experience. Sephora inside JCP management is always random people without beauty experience.

    Sephora2019-01-20
Found 124 reviews