Sephora Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Sephora Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Sephora CEO, Sephora Americas Jean Andre Rougeot
Jean Andre Rougeot
7 Ratings
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free makeup, gratis, cute uniform, great feeling of making people feel beauitful

    Cons

    Low pay, drama, some lack of hours

    Advice to Management

    None!

    Sephora2019-10-15
  2. "Fun but Inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hattiesburg, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    •creativity •monthly fun events •learn one on one new beauty tricks/trends •fun environment

    Cons

    •varying hours •inconsistent schedule (started full time and due to company giving fewer hours, was changed to part time) *worked at Sephora inside JCPenney and JCP management was very demanding and sometimes expecting you to do both Sephora and JCP duties. •no good health benefits •no easy way to advance in this type of career

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge employees efforts more.

    Sephora2020-01-16
  3. "Fun Place to Work during the holidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make up, Employee discounts, Nice Co-workers, Great Education

    Cons

    Holiday hours but expect this working retail

    Sephora2019-09-23
  4. "Amazing company, fun environment!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    FREE MAKEUP!! You get bags of free make up to try, management for the most part is incredible and so informative. Working at Sephora never felt like a job. Plus who doesn't like playing with make up and getting paid for it.

    Cons

    Not enough hours for part time during slow season.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Sephora2019-08-22
  5. "Incredible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Whitehall, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sephora is such a great company. They are all about work life balance which I saw everyday at Sephora. They like to advance employees which is great and salaries are competitive. Gratis is amazing and even as a cashier I always got a lot. For a retail environment I was treated better here than any other retail company and even some office corporate jobs.

    Cons

    Work life balance is good but sometimes this means they offer less hours. I was part time partial and when I needed a full 40 hours I usually never got that. They had many weeks at a time that they cut hours or shifts.

    Advice to Management

    Keep in mind associates who had background history in makeup as well as have bachelors degrees. I was never promoted and I had worked for Estée Lauder andhad a degree in business which left me leaving the company for better hours and pay.

    Sephora2019-08-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty Awesome Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Buckhead, GA

    I worked at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seasonal employees get: 401k Employee discount Gratis - Free merchandise from vendors worth over $600 Employee appreciation additional discounts Discounts at Fox Theater Great attitudes and environment

    Cons

    Not many hours available

    Sephora2019-07-21
  7. "it was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in New York, NY

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the discount and knowledge you learn

    Cons

    no room for growth and the discount is bad

    Sephora2019-08-01
  8. "nice job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free makeup, Nice co workers, nice atmosphere

    Cons

    not enough money, not enough responsibility for a serious job.

    Advice to Management

    hire people who know about makeup

    Sephora2019-07-29
  9. "Skincare Area Only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Brea, CA

    I worked at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned about a lot of different brands of skincare from company reps Free products Fast paced Provided uniform

    Cons

    Minimum wage Not getting to choose what department you work in Managers and staff can be overly dramatic

    Sephora2019-07-11
  10. "Would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts, education, flexible schedules, and samples

    Cons

    Customer service, dress code, and jcpenney management

    Sephora2019-07-08
Found 96 reviews