Sephora Skin Care Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Sephora Skin Care Consultant Reviews

Updated Nov 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
96%
Recommend to a Friend
Sephora CEO, Sephora Americas Jean Andre Rougeot
Jean Andre Rougeot
0 Rating
  1. "Wonderful Way to Network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skin Care Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    GRATIS! J/k lol. In all honesty, in all of the time I have been a cast member, I have noticed the changes we've requested. They've really been listening.

    Cons

    I have none. I believe they have been listening.

    Sephora2017-10-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, Fast paced, great team, really encouraged great work life balance values /management was great in the beginning

    Cons

    management at my store location did not develop you unless you were a favorite

    Advice to Management

    please look at the numbers your employees are pulling in and their customer satisfaction reviews when they are looking to grow in the company and don't play favorites

    Sephora2019-11-09
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, lots of free products, great teams

    Cons

    Can be stressful dealing with upset clients, on your feet all day

    Sephora2019-09-24
  4. "little room for growth if you dont want to be a manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of free full size products

    Cons

    lots of rules to follow, like asking permission to use the bathroom, poor hourly wage, high expectations from management

    Sephora2019-06-21
  5. "Seasonal-Skin Care Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Riverside, CA

    I worked at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, gratis, friendly staff and management

    Cons

    High demand in product knowledge in a short period of time, part-time hours, pay

    Sephora2019-03-24
  6. "Skin consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Skin Care Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sephora for more than a year

    Pros

    One job you can honestly say everyone really works together and are friendly

    Cons

    Barely any Benefits if you are part time

    Sephora2018-12-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "it’s just alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Gilbert, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -lots of free merchandise -decent discount -flexibility when it comes to schedule

    Cons

    -obviously this depends on the store, but generally the management causes lots of issues -management is passive aggressive -little to no raises -if you’re looking to grow within the company, there are not many opportunities -no commission. the entire “team” bonuses together based on whether or not you exceed your stores sales goal. this leads to a good hand-full of other co-workers taking advantage of this system and doing the bare minimum while other employees do the bulk of the selling. -if you’re good at your job, be prepared to be forced into picking up the slack of your less efficient co-workers -management definitely chooses “favorites”

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop picking favorites and hold employees who are dropping the ball accountable. Give better raises, and not just once a year. Commission needs to be a thing within Sephora, 90% of the job is selling. It’s incredibly frustrating to know that you are making bonus money for your co-workers who don’t work as hard.

    Sephora2018-05-29
  8. "Good Company Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Innovative Great Customer Service Awesome Training Leading in expertise Fun environment

    Cons

    Not a lot of recognition Super low raises Lacking Advancement opportunities since they hire from outside instead of within

    Advice to Management

    Develop your people so that they will be able to carry this company into the future

    Sephora2018-04-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "skin and color consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Nashville, TN

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free makeup and skincare, great education on products, fast paced environment

    Cons

    low pay, terrible retail hours including working all weekends from November to January due to the holidays, takes forever to move up, bonus based on surveys

    Advice to Management

    promote within and really cultivate the talent you have instead of always hiring outside. Keep your promises to your employees and don't drag them along

    Sephora2018-01-10
  10. "Skincare Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With the extensive training at Sephora you will have confidence in your ability and expertise to help clients.

    Cons

    Managers can be rude in asking you to do something or if you ask a question. Not all of them are like this.

    Advice to Management

    No reason to be mean. That doesn't help someone who is busy, working very hard, and who's been a good employee who has even gotten a raise.

    Sephora2017-11-29
Found 49 reviews