Sephora "free products" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sephora Employee Reviews about "free products"

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Sephora CEO Jean Andre Rougeot
Jean Andre Rougeot
65 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Hours aren’t always conducive to having a family work life balance(in 248 reviews)

  • "If you're full time you should be good(in 119 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free products"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free products, continuing education, chances to advance.

    Cons

    Hard to get full-time work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the excellent work!

    Sephora2019-08-04
  2. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Services Coordinator in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere (depending on your team), lots of free product and training

    Cons

    Still a retail salary even though it’s a multi billion dollar company

    Sephora2019-11-21
  3. "A good place to get a lot of quick experience as an artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Poughkeepsie, NY

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Education, experience with different clients and different make-up styles. Will teach you how to assess, consult, and apply in 45 min- hr. Invaluable product knowledge, and A LOT of free products to try.

    Cons

    No tips, pay is the same regardless if you're doing a makeover or on the floor. There's been a lot of de-emphasis on artistry and education. You'll begin to feel like you're stuck in place within a year or two. Not a lot of advancement opportunities aside from retail management.

    Advice to Management

    LOVE YOUR ARTISTS AGAIN. More education and product awareness, and better pay and advancement opportunities for artistry- you can't expect to retain artists if there are no incentives to stay once you've filled your portfolio.

    Sephora2019-10-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sephora Makeup Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Color Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free products and Creative environment

    Cons

    Management was abusive and unprofessional

    Sephora2019-10-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "False promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get lots of free product

    Cons

    Life balance but that is a lie the only ones that have work life balance our managers if that. Also you will be there for years on and with no raise for only a few cents which is basically a slap to the face with everything you have to do. They recently invested thousands of dollars if not millions into new technology when they could’ve Invested it into their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more money so you don’t lose Quality employees.

    Sephora2019-10-15
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, lots of free products, great teams

    Cons

    Can be stressful dealing with upset clients, on your feet all day

    Sephora2019-09-24
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Amazing Company, Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Communications Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Honestly some of the most incredible, passionate people I've ever worked with. While I can't say that there is strong, capable leaders across the board, I was lucky enough to work with some of the best in the company. I learned so much and am always grateful for my time at Sephora. I was able to hold many different roles within the company and felt supported in my career goals and aspirations. Great benefits.... At the time, I didn't think we had very strong benefits. But since leaving, I've realized that grass isn't always greener on the other side. The package is very comprehensive and I feel as if the company takes care of their people. I miss the free product and Summer Fridays the most (corporate employees leave at 1pm on Fridays during the summer).

    Show More

    Cons

    There's a terrible pattern of behavior where people were promoted in order to retain them --- but they really aren't qualified for the elevated role or scope. Org design is not very thoughtful even though the head of HR supposedly has a background in it. There are SO many VP's who should not be VP's... But in my entire career at Sephora, I'd say there's always been an issue with internal systems and support. I... did not have faith in our leadership when it came to prioritizing programs, systems, and spend to support future growth and operations internally. I didn't personally experience it, but I've heard from trusted colleagues about the toxic work environment in certain teams (specifically merchandising -- there are several "mean girls" whose terrible, bullying behavior is tolerated because they're very talented merchants. They should be individual contributors instead of managing a team).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1) Rip off the band-aid and say goodbye to toxic leaders. 2) Continue to champion employees and give opportunities to grow through side hustles, educational rotations, trips, etc. That's how you retain talent -- not just by promoting them.

    Sephora2019-07-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best Job I’ve ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Charleston, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get tons of free products to try and give your honest opinion to customers. My coworkers are very uplifting and want everyone to be confident in what they’re doing instead of like working at other places where people are always putting you down. You do get to play with makeup and really feel like you’re making a difference, educating customers on what’s best for them and how to use products! At least I feel that... way. It is a very close and fun environment with different makeup events such as celebrating pride by wearing rainbow makeup or Halloween by your best spooky looks. My managers have always been very flexible working with my needs and schedule, and I like everyone I work with! (I work at Sephora in JCP). Also I have heard that there are employee evaluations every spring, and everyone is likely to get a raise. The job pays well for starting off (as a younger person), and I also hear that every month that the team meets goal, we all get bonuses!

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes keeping up with making sure all of the tiny products and multiple shelves are dusted and kept clean can be difficult, but if that’s all I have to worry about then I’m not complaining. Also, my Sephora in JCP just stopped doing the custom makeovers, which I would’ve loved to have done! We just do the minis now.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! I love Sephora even more now that I work for them. I just wish I could do custom makeovers for people.

    Sephora2019-07-15
  9. "Skincare Area Only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Brea, CA

    I worked at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned about a lot of different brands of skincare from company reps Free products Fast paced Provided uniform

    Cons

    Minimum wage Not getting to choose what department you work in Managers and staff can be overly dramatic

    Sephora2019-07-11
  10. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office Free snacks Free Products Competitive pay Performance bonus Diversity

    Cons

    Location Not like a typical tech company

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing ! you’re on the right path

    Sephora2019-07-09
Found 151 reviews