Sephora "free products" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sephora Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Sephora CEO, Sephora Americas Jean Andre Rougeot
Jean Andre Rougeot
78 Ratings
  1. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office Free snacks Free Products Competitive pay Performance bonus Diversity

    Cons

    Location Not like a typical tech company

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-07-09
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Sephora Used To Be A Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Consultant in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Product discount, ridiculous amount of free product, fantastic training, fantastic benefits, access to all the newest beauty products and technology, frequent free food, wonderful coworkers and brand representatives.

    Cons

    You will be promised promotions and told what you want to hear, but you will rarely advance with this company. Micromanaging is unbearable here, your store management will SUFFOCATE you daily. Full-time used to be 40 hours a week, now it’s more like 29 which is quite the pay cut compared to when I started back in 2011. Retail can be tough no matter where you work but clients could be absolutely ruthless. With our hours cut we never had enough staffing to get to all clients which resulted in upset shoppers and unmet goals. Theft got worse and worse and was hard to deal with. No matter how perfectly you do your job management will find fault with it. Management will harp on you to do your job the Sephora way and hurry up to help every client but when the store got busy they couldn’t be bothered to help you because as managers they were above helping clients, but they could delegate them to you and make them wait and wait for your help. It got too overwhelming in the end. They are not flexible AT ALL with scheduling so work life balance is nonexistent.

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-06-26
  3. "Amazing company that cares about PEOPLE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Company values are lived - purpose of making our clients feel beautiful and confident is felt throughout the company - FUN employee experiences (free product to coincide with brand launches) and events - work life balance is a priority at the FSC - we are working on ways to make it more prevalent in stores

    Cons

    - compensation won’t be as competitive as it is within some Tech companies

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-06-20
  4. "Amazing Comopany - More than just Makeup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Ops Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with intelligent, passionate women. People really care about what they're doing. Has great Diversity & Inclusion department. Intentional company culture. Great work/life balance. Donation matching. Free product.

    Cons

    HR isn't the most helpful when accommodations are needed. Limited options for medical benefits. Constantly changing priorities.

    Sephora2019-06-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "WORST JOB I HAVE EVER HAD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Color Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You got a lot of free product

    Cons

    Horrific management Cliquy Felt put down a lot

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-06-24
  6. "Not great work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skincare Consultant in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free products You get to help people

    Cons

    if you are part-time, even if you work 38 hours a week, you will be given all the shifts that are undesirable because the people coded as full-time get to basically pick their shifts

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-05-22
  7. "You'll get a lot of free stuff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Color Consultant in Annapolis, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of free product, lots of free education

    Cons

    That aforementioned free product and free education is about the only benefits of working there. Low Pay Mediocre management on a senior level as well as store level Aggressive and Rude clients The better you are as an employee the more work they will make you do. I saw this across the board at multiple stores however I only worked in the Greater DC district

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-05-03
  8. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free products on the regular, able to make as many samples you want, learning so much about beauty products, 40% off of Sephora brand, 20% off any other brand

    Cons

    It got very cliquey, almost like high school, management played the favorites game...

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-04-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "BULLYING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free product & great education

    Cons

    empty promises, bullying by managers, no benefits unless you are a manager, favoritism among the managers, managers are INSANELY lazy.

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-05-18
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Bad news. Not what you think."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Merchant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get some free products from the company and a low discount most companies give more.

    Cons

    Constant meetings and phone calls, low discount, You’ll have to kiss your bosses butt to get ahead, No good perks like gym or food or daycare like every other company these days. Can’t take time off without a message something is due that exact day, 2 to 3 hour meetings and calls and you’ll Never eat lunch unless you’re working into lunch

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-04-13
Found 153 reviews