Sephora "free products" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sephora Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Sephora CEO, Sephora Americas Jean Andre Rougeot
Jean Andre Rougeot
78 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Not a professional company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ops Lead in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free products, gratis (sometimes these are actuall DIF products, which is nasty) PTO which legally you have to offer in MA

    Cons

    Management structure, zero accountability, not a company that takes operations seriously, i was told to fight for hours to do my job when four other managers would be sitting in the back during “office hours.” Our director was extremely unprofessional, routinely late, had i care called on her and then proceeded to tell the staff about it and how upset she was? One BA would routinely call out and was late but because she did her eyelash extensions I think she was never reprimanded. Health insurance premiums isn’t bad but the coverage is horrible, i ended up paying out of pocket for everything.

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-03-25
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great experience, if you can handle retail."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Education Consultant in Abingdon, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Connecting with clients and helping them feel confident and beautiful is definitely very rewarding. You get to learn a lot about makeup and skincare, and you get to positively impact people's lives. You also get free products in the form of monthly gratis. As SEC, it is your job to organize and distribute gratis. As SEC, you also gain good management/leadership experience. Working full-time as SEC gave me the business foundation I needed to get accepted into my MBA program. You work in close partnership with the Operations Manager, Beauty Manager, and General Manager (my Sephora was inside a JCPenney). There is pretty good opportunity to advance within Sephora. I began as a Product Consultant, and was promoted to Senior Education Consultant within 4 months. You build strong relationships with your co-workers and managers and they can give you valuable recommendations down the road.

    Cons

    This is a retail sales job. If you hate retail and customer service, you will not like working at Sephora. Yes, you get to be around makeup all day, but this job is a LOT more than just playing with makeup. Since SEC is part of the leadership team, this position can be very stressful at times. You are responsible for on-boarding and training all associates, delivery the monthly education agenda, and driving metrics such as Beauty Studio services, Beauty Insider registration, Love score, and of course, sales. Since this is a retail job, your schedule is going to be all over the place. Unless you have a fully flexible staff and a manager who sticks to a consistent schedule, you never know when you are going to be working until the schedule comes out. This makes it very hard to have a social life outside of work. You are always going to be working weekends, since those are the busiest days. At my location, if you wanted a day off, you needed to request it 3 entire weeks in advance. So if your friend invites you to hang out this weekend, forget it--you need to plan your life at least 3 weeks in advance. The biggest con is dealing with rude customers. People are often impatient when they have to wait for service, even when the store is extremely busy. Customers will get angry with you over high prices, even though you can't control price. They will argue over returns. They will abuse the sample system. They will ask you to do full-face makeovers and take up lots of your time without spending a dime in return. Another con is the fact that my location was inside a JCPenney. Working at SiJCP is different from working at a free-standing Sephora. At SiJCP locations, you are technically a JCPenney employee as your paycheck comes from JCPenney, not Sephora. Since our store was inside JCPenney, we were required to know what was going on outside of Sephora as well. We had customers ask us questions about JCP merchandise and sales all the time, and they got frustrated when we didn't know the answer. The BIGGEST con to working at an SiJCP is that you have to promote the JCPenney Credit Card, which they refer to as iCaps. Our manager was CONSTANTLY bugging us about getting iCaps. We had to ask every single customer, and if they said no, we had to try and convince them to apply. This was extremely frustrating, since most of our customer come to shop strictly at Sephora, and they don't care about JCPenney credit cards.

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-01-22
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Avoid, Especially for the MC role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free products, Brand Events, and Meeting Brand Founders

    Cons

    Where to begin, for starters you’re promised training and then months go by and you’ve barely been trained at all. Sephora has a mean girl culture in it’s merchandising department, the gossip is endless, the dirty looks and whispering are provided on a daily basis. You can report things to HR but nothing gets resolved, you’re told “it’s like this everywhere.” Management is fake and they don’t become concerned about bullying until you report it to HR and then they try to be your “friend.” Also, the MC role is HOURLY, don’t count on recieveing overtime, it is so hard to get all the work done because your days are cut in half by meetings, setting up lunches, etc. How well you’re liked determines how you do here, it’s a draining popularity contest.

    Continue reading
    Sephora2019-02-01
  4. "Great job, career, & family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Contribution through ideas, taken seriously, opportunities to move up are on you, managers & supervisors are fun, gratis (free product), bbq, tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Avg pay, managers stay around for a long time so few opportunities to move up, best ideas win and are implemented

    Continue reading
    Sephora2018-12-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I’m tired of being lied to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Color Consultant in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gratis (free product) Employee discount Use of technology Newest and most buzzed about makeup, skincare, and fragrances

    Cons

    “Training” isn’t actual training, it’s people from brands just reading random facts or statistics off of a piece of paper It is almost impossible to move up within the company and be promoted and/or move from part-time to full-time employment The management will tell you whatever you want to hear to get you to not quit, because it reflects poorly on them and the store you work in when employees quit.

    Continue reading
    Sephora2018-12-19
  6. "Color Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Color Artist in East Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gratis (Free Product), fun creative atmosphere, and plans for growth.

    Cons

    Everyone is a number, and constant goals for each hour dollar amount.

    Continue reading
    Sephora2018-11-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Loss Prevention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LP Agent in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with Sephora a little under 2 years and it has been everything I had ever hoped for. Pay has been amazing, and monthly bonus opportunities and free product (Gratis) are a nice perk. My leadership team (DLPM and RLPM) are accessible and actually visit my store. I've been with companies where I didn't see my DLPM, let alone my RLPM, for months. Here I see both often and I know they are a phone call away and they actually answer their phones. This position is more about just catching shoplifters, it's working with and influencing change within my store and leadership teams, it's coaching our sales teams and being leaders in the building. It's about having the ability to learn and develop myself. My DLPM sits with me quarterly to provide honest feedback so I can focus on my growth and development. The LP Org has created new positions and doubled in size the past 18 months. My DLPM/RLPM have listened to me and implemented some of my new ideas! I love that I am challenged to find internals and have been given access to exception reporting so I can start to learn new things.

    Cons

    There are some "old school" Sephora employees who do not like change. While businesses continue to change and evolve, there are/were some old school employees who do not like change and a new way of doing things. Sometimes we are too slow to hold people accountable, often giving them many chances to right the poor behavior before pen hits paper- I get that b/c we are a peoples based organization but sometimes it can be a very slow process.

    Continue reading
    Sephora2018-10-15
  8. "Operations Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Lead in Seattle, WA
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, fast-paced, team environment. Loads of free products.

    Cons

    Requires open availability, schedule changes every week, working nearly all weekends.

    Continue reading
    Sephora2018-10-29
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work if you’re passionate about the beauty industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Wrap Lead in Bayonne, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free product, monthly store bonuses

    Cons

    Schedule is something to get used to and only gets posted 4 days prior to the shift. Hours will be cut if store does not make its goals Work life balance is a company value but should be taken into consideration more!!

    Sephora2018-08-29
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Education, poor work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skincare Consultant in Novato, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They focus on continuing education to help drive passion for tips and tricks and the products. In some ways I learned more about skincare ingredients at Sephora than at esthetician school. They give a lot of gratis, so you always have tons of free product to experiment with. As a fulltime employee, they do offer benefits.

    Cons

    Very high expectations and sales goals for noncompetitive hourly rate and no commission. Lots of pressure and a very catty work environment with an exhausting focus on personal appearance.

    Continue reading
    Sephora2018-08-04
Found 153 reviews