Sephora "free products" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sephora Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Sephora CEO, Sephora Americas Jean Andre Rougeot
Jean Andre Rougeot
78 Ratings
  1. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company education was great. They care deeply about you knowing your product. Room to move up in the store. Free products for trials

    Cons

    Mall locations can get hectic. High traffic especially in holiday time, but that is to be expected in any retail environment

    Advice to Management

    Incentives and bonuses are great. The environment was fun. Keep it up

    Sephora2018-02-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great start to the beauty industry but Management can be a real problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Short Hills, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sephora part-time

    Pros

    Great discounts, Free products, free product and ingredients education

    Cons

    Long hours on your feet

    Advice to Management

    Please mind your own business when people are off the clock and stop creating drama especially drama between employees, A place that’s ran like a family makes more money and keeps their employees.

    Sephora2018-02-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Depends what team your working with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Contractor in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot and get exposure to a lot of behind the scenes. You're surrounded by amazing talent which is inspiring. Some very friendly people. Free products from time to time. Your experience can vary depending on the team you work with and how their dynamics are.

    Cons

    Zero work-life balance. No proper training or onboarding. Depends what team you are with. One team was a complete mess starting from top trickling down to the bottom-very condescending, micro-managing and making you feel boxed in, on the flip side another team was very positive, motivating and everyone worked really well together. I really wish I could say I had a better experience but unfortunately I didn't. A lot of my coworkers saw how poorly I was being treated and spoken to. Sephora doesn't really value contractors-you're treated like CRAP so the turnover rate is high and a lot of amazing talent comes and goes. I don't recommend working at Headquarters at all unless you are willing to go through the abuse.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train upper management, hold them accountable. Treat contractors better since they make up almost half of your staff

    Sephora2018-02-07
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Color Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Makeovers and meeting other girls who are passionate about makeup is so much fun. Getting trained by brands almost every shift. First dibs on new products. Sephora definitely makes an effort to have structure in the work place regarding hours, zones, custom makeover appointments, break time. When you walk in you know exactly what your day will look like, which i appreciate. Room to grow if you plan on working there for 3+ years. Your cast becomes like a family for sure. Of course, gratis(free product) is the best.

    Show More

    Cons

    some girls get away with murder and are not reprimanded for not following protocol, while the hard working employee's don't receive any recognition for going above and beyond. fighting for hours is something you'll just have to get used too. full time employee's do not receive 30+ hours... try 20 on a good week.

    Advice to Management

    if you don't have enough hours to give stop hiring new employees! People who don't follow protocol should be reprimanded

    Sephora2018-02-01
  5. "Color Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Color Consultant in Lake Grove, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free product, monthly bonuses, product trainings by brand reps were extremely helpful, friendly environment and managers were nice.

    Cons

    not allowed to help clients in other areas than your assigned area of the store, constantly expected to be cleaning the store..not getting schedule until the night before...

    Advice to Management

    More education on specific products would be helpful. Especially in the very beginning, instead of being thrown in (and especially in other departments).

    Sephora2017-12-20
  6. "Great Coworkers, But Intense Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People/coworkers - Everyone I worked with was amazing Compensation - great bonuses Gravitas - 2x a year you get free product

    Cons

    Stressful Extremely fast pace Too much upper management

    Sephora2017-12-14
  7. Helpful (4)

    "6 out of 10"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Consultant in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    gratis (free products), flexible hours, learn about skincare and trained how how to properly use and apply makeup

    Cons

    management was horrible, one was a drug addict/alcoholic that was NOT in treatment and all other employees ignored it.

    Sephora2017-12-02
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Never coming back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is moving fast and expects you to move twenty times the speed of normal. This allows you to gain tons of exposure to many departments in a short space of time. Free products Occasional sponsored lunch

    Cons

    Upper level management is a joke. Only friends get promoted within departments and the rest get left to be forgotten about. Gossiping around every corner and not enough meaningful work getting done. All work is sugar coated to make the company not appear like it’s failing. Pay is not competitive in the slightest. Easily $10-$15k under market value.

    Advice to Management

    Seriously look at upper level and get more technically apt professionals who genuinely care about people.

    Sephora2017-11-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Bad place to work, and ive heard that from a lot of different people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Seasonal Cashier in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora

    Pros

    Gratis (free products) Discount (20% off everything, 40% off Sephora brand) Seeing products before they are released Cute outfits

    Cons

    Seasonal employees not treated equally Poor managment Completely unorganized "Coaching Enviroment" even when you didnt do anything wrong

    Advice to Management

    Get organized!!!

    Sephora2017-11-27
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Mean Girls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Merchant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free product, insight into the cosmetics industry

    Cons

    Everyone’s out for themselves, mean employees

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who treat others with respect

    Sephora2017-10-06
Found 153 reviews