Serco Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Serco Group Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Serco Group CEO Rupert Soames
Rupert Soames
269 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing work environment and many things to learn about all aspects of everyone's role(in 64 reviews)

  • "Lots of technology to work with, good work/life balance(in 44 reviews)

Cons
  • "Incestuous senior management throughout uk sites(in 43 reviews)

  • "Everything hygiene management low pay(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lead technician for the year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Tech II in Yorktown, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Serco Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love the field i work in.

    Cons

    due to the contract world trying to secure a job for the future

    Serco Group2019-11-07
  2. "Avoid. There are much better opportunities in Northern Virginia."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Serco Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All of this relates specifically to working at the North American corporate headquarters in Herndon, VA Depending on your department and position scheduling flexibility is very broad. Telework is common and even encouraged.

    Cons

    Overall given the competitive job market and number of employment options in Northern Virginia I would personally consider working with Serco to have been somewhat of a career misstep. Even among federal contractors Serco has a tendency to significantly underpay. They will offer you the bare minimum of whatever your market rate may be. The organization as a whole and especially the HR department is poorly organized and constantly in a state of instability. Coming in I was met with a revolving door of coworkers, managers, and even executive leadership and when I eventually left a couple of years later the situation had not improved. Performance feedback is few and far between, often non-existent. Mid-level leadership is uncharismatic, apathetic, and sometimes outright disrespectful to employees and other management teams which reflects poorly on the HR department as a whole. There are major issues with under-staffing throughout the organization which creates high strain and high burnout. For the reasons listed above Serco has a bizarre, loosely formed organizational culture and high-performers tend to take other job opportunities within 2-4 years of working there because current leadership does not seem to value career growth or retaining talent. Despite needing to work closely with each other there is no team atmosphere and people who work there are generally unhappy and frustrated. Serco Group has had a number of extremely high profile and concerning controversies within the last 15 years involving humanitarian issues, insider trading, embezzlement, etc.

    Continue reading
    Serco Group2020-02-17
  3. "Exciting and broad range of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical PM in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Serco Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exciting and broad range of opportunities

    Cons

    Benefits are different due to UK / EU standards

    Serco Group2020-01-15
  4. "Wrongfully terminated due to human resources paperwork incorrectly processed and was not held accountable. YRehireable?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Clerk II in Lowell, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Serco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, govt agency environment.

    Cons

    Not sure what the job really is for? Alot of processing for applications to be procssed. Never knew If you do help the customer with their medical cost?

    Serco Group2020-01-16
  5. "Not Bad - Lower Salary Than Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marine Engineer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Serco Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People are excited to work here - Decent resources and trusted industry name - New opportunities with this company in the defense industry

    Cons

    - Low salary for the same job - Medium advancement - High Turnover with younger folks

    Continue reading
    Serco Group2019-12-20
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Systems Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Serco Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I personally have the best manager and the company is pro military which is always nice being that I am a veteran. I love working for Serco. The only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the below comment in the cons.

    Cons

    I think that they should have a hiring bonus (referral bonus). If you find someone to back fill your position or help fill another position there should be some type of compensation to that.

    Serco Group2019-11-01
  7. "Satisfied Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Reston, VA

    I worked at Serco Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers; pleasant working environment

    Cons

    Potential loss of contract and lay off

    Serco Group2019-10-20
  8. "If you want to stay stagnant and not grow, COME TO SERCO!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Military Operations Analyst in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Serco Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They let you come and go as you please

    Cons

    No growth. Underpay. Company does not care about employees

    Serco Group2019-10-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Disrespectful superiors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Serco Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of any. Easy interview process perhaps? Which is more of a con, read on to find out why.

    Cons

    Worked here for 2 years at the Reston/Herndon office. Interviewed and accepted an offer only for them to make assumptions about my background and expect me to perform tasks outside of my job description. Grown men over 50 constantly gossiping about you as a young professional in his 20's can be disheartening. They smile in your face then stab you once you turn your back. Fake compliments and fake thank yous while they constantly undermine you. I walked out once I'd had enough without even lining up another job. That's how much I had grown to hate it there. I refused a send off party only for my boss to squeeze his way into my lunch with a few friends and constantly make sarcastic comments. Yes, even on my last day he couldn't help himself. Landed my dream job shortly after leaving and I get mad at myself for not leaving earlier. Not only am I earning what I deserve, but my new colleagues are amazing with a very diverse group of experts from around the world and some of the smartest minds. Feels like a family while Serco felt like where you end up when you take a wrong turn somewhere in 1800's Albuquerque. Old, disrespectful white men with their Indian slaves who tow the line and challenge no one. I would not recommend this company to my worse enemy.

    Continue reading
    Serco Group2019-11-01
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GCII in London, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Serco Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits/Friendly Management/Helpful Co workers

    Cons

    Constant sitting Training courses do not help

    Continue reading
    Serco Group2019-09-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1501 reviews