Serco Group "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Serco Group Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Serco Group CEO Rupert Soames
Rupert Soames
285 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing work environment and many things to learn about all aspects of everyone's role(in 64 reviews)

  • "Lots of technology to work with, good work/life balance(in 44 reviews)

Cons
  • "Incestuous senior management throughout uk sites(in 43 reviews)

  • "Everything hygiene management low pay(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Satisfied Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Reston, VA

    I worked at Serco Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers; pleasant working environment

    Cons

    Potential loss of contract and lay off

    Serco Group2019-10-20
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Death Benefits Analyst in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Serco Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, The staff is great and a great environment to work in!

    Cons

    Not in my local city.

    Serco Group2019-04-17
  3. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CyberSecurity Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Serco Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay decent upon employment; good negotiated time off when hired. Possibilities to move into greater areas of responsibility. Left with very positive feedback. Efforts for employee retention

    Cons

    Poor management. Poor employee support. Technical continuing education denied. Poor department morale. No positive feedback/promotion/encouragement/pay raise despite extraordinary achievements. Negative atmosphere. Hostile work environment. Poor leadership.

    Continue reading
    Serco Group2019-03-19
  4. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Serco Group full-time

    Pros

    Great hands on management and wonderful work environment

    Cons

    Contract company so I lost my job because the company was “bought out” by another company and didn’t renew my position

    Serco Group2018-04-25
  5. "Hectic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Serco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Average entry compensation and benefits for positions.

    Cons

    No chance to increase vacation of 2 weeks. No raises, bonuses. Hectic constantly changing work environment. Performance measuring metrics allow people to "game" the system, where hard work can be punished versus working to the performance measure. In short, hard work can be punished.

    Continue reading
    Serco Group2018-02-15
  6. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wentzville, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Serco Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    salary and wonderful benefits too

    Cons

    work environment, management and overall transparency

    Continue reading
    Serco Group2018-01-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Clerk III in Wentzville, MO
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Serco Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None except the starting pay was decent and good vacation pay but not worth it to work here. No one had a clue about health insurance and no one cares about the people they are supposed to be helping.

    Cons

    Very bad work environment and incompetent people in management and also hired on as General Clerks who cancel people's health insurance with out merit to get their productivity up.

    Continue reading
    Serco Group2017-10-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Laid Off For Doing My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - General Clerk in Wentzville, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Serco Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are ok. Awesome co-workers

    Cons

    For the work I do, the pay is not enough. Lot's of bad employees who don't know how to do their jobs and yet they are cherished. Work environment is dirty. Company is unethical.

    Serco Group2017-09-10
  9. "QA Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Analyst 
    Recommends

    I worked at Serco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    supportive staff and work environment

    Cons

    Less Salary, hikes and increments,

    Continue reading
    Serco Group2017-06-22
  10. "nice experience if you work for the right team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Serco Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice working environment; People are nice to each other and most of the time, willing to help . Less politics, more concentration on efficiency.

    Cons

    Pay could be below average

    Serco Group2017-05-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 79 reviews