KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Service Corporation International

Engaged Employer

Service Corporation International

Add a Review

Service Corporation International Houston Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 259 of over 1,274 reviews

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Service Corporation International President, CEO, and Director Thomas L. Ryan
Thomas L. Ryan
161 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Service Corporation International and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Growth Opportunities Encouraged

    Nov 22, 2021 - Learning Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great support from leadership for self development. I love the collaborative environment that is provided and encouraged.

    Cons

    Taking time off and truly being able to detach from work. There are always projects going and that means I typically work a few hours on my off days.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company to work for! I am making a different to every family that I served everyday! I love my job!

    Nov 16, 2021 - Pre-planning Advisor in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Company! A lot of families need someone professional to give them the professional advise to make the best decision for their loved one, the company provides a lot of intensive trainings to equip us to serve the families, our clients properly. I am so proud to be part of the team. Great support from management, my manager & directs are AWESOME, give me guidance, went to meeting with me, give me constructive feedback to help me grow! Great rewards if you follow the process and work hard with a plan.

    Cons

    A lot pressures! not for everyone!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love the job

    Nov 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Being able to help people in their time of need is a great job. It feels good to put your head on the pillow at night knowing you did something good. The people I work with (my team and most of the Funerals Directors) are amazing to work with. And management is very supportive and exemplify the company values.

    Cons

    My only con is the pay scale. I have 2 master degrees and think the pay scale should reflect levels of education. Plus the years in my other career should also be reflected in the pay. But I fully understand why the pay is what it is....so this a fairly minor "con" to me. Oh yeah, the benefits are amazing!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    EXCELLENT PLACE TO WORK!

    Nov 12, 2021 - Campaign Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Endless amount of resources for support in whichever role you're in! - Surrounded by a team that truly reflects our core values of Respect, Integrity, Service Excellence, & Enduring Relationships! - There is always constant recognition for everyone in our team! - There is always constant feedback and suggestions given in order to continue improving. - The relationships I get to create both at work and outside of work when I'm at grass roots events! - I'm PASSIONATE that I'm part of a company whose role is protecting families by eliminating one of life's most tragic events by offering pre-planning services to everyone!

    Cons

    I can't think of one!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best management I’ve ever had

    Nov 16, 2021 - Pre Planning Advisor in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve never met a more nurturing management team than the Houston PPA. There is some good money to be made, and it is meaningful work that makes a difference. A lot of time, money, and effort is invested in us to be successful.

    Cons

    It’s a lot of work, a lot of hearing no, and a lot of emotional rollercoasters until you get yourself established.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Dedicated, Engaged and Innovative

    Nov 15, 2021 - Office Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are so many positive reasons to work in the funeral and cemetery industry and be employed with Service Corporation International, (SCI). SCI is a great place to work and an industry leader. SCI takes an active role in improving industry practices and standards and provides unparalleled service to its families and believes that nothing is more important than servicing clients with the highest ethical stands. I can personally attest to this, I have worked in the funeral industry for 23 years, the last 17 have been with SCI. I am an office manager at one of SCI’s funeral home locations. As an employee we are offered continued learning and development, competitive incentives and unique opportunities for growth, both professionally and personally. Dignity University, Mentorship Training, The Inspire Series, are just a few of the available development programs employees can participate in along with recognition and reward programs. We also have Associate Resource Communities, (ARCS). I participate in three of our ARCs. They offer unique insight to better serve our customers and communities and each other. SCI recognizes that diversity of thought, experiences, and backgrounds will lead to better business results. Currently SCI has four ARCS. SCI supports and encourages associates to give back to the communities we serve through volunteerism and the national and local programs we sponsor. Another great part of being an employee with SCI are the employee benefits provided to us, they are innumerable. To share with you just a few, we have a company match 401(k), multiple choice combinations for employer-subsidized medical, vision, and dental coverage. A Wellness Program and Wellness Credit. Annual accruable Holiday, Vacation and Sick, time off, Bereavement and Maternity leave. We have very unique benefits like our Employee Assistance Program, Adoption Assistance Program, Military Paid Leave, and specific to our industry, Employee Funeral and Cemetery Benefits and there are many more. Working at SCI, has allowed me to continue my college education and earn my Bachelor in Business Management, an achievement that will continue to help me further grow and be an asset to SCI. It’s wonderful when people ask me what I do for a living. I get to say that I work at a funeral home, a Dignity Memorial Provider, and I honor and preserve a family’s loved one by creating a meaningful memorial to truly celebrate the life of their loved one. SCI is represented by many department positions - corporate, sales, cemetery, funeral home, crematory, care centers, to name a few. We extend compassion, kindness, and courtesies to families and that may seem old-fashion but these characteristics are very important, especially in today’s times where these values are so profoundly needed. If you are someone who is compassionate about helping others and wants to work with other like-minded individuals, to be a stakeholder with a company that is dedicated, engaged and innovative, then I highly encourage you to apply with SCI. I know the future holds amazing things to come for SCI.

    Cons

    Working one on one with families in the funeral industry you will encounter emotional families, sadness, death but you will need to take these experiences to learn more about them. Educate yourself to be a better listener, a mentor and support.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent company

    Nov 15, 2021 - Location Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company truly cares for it's employees. As we serve families in need, our company is supporting us from every angle to make sure we have the tools to succeed. There is opportunity to progress, and training opportunities for each job role. Our corporate office works hard to ensure differences are celebrated and everyone feels accepted at work.

    Cons

    The funeral industry is emotionally and physically trying at times. The workload varies from day to day and is unpredictable at times, but for those of us who have chosen this, it proves to be extremely rewarding as well.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Lots of Opportunity

    Nov 15, 2021 - Sales Trainer in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positional growth available to everyone Commissions and Bonuses surpass most sales industry standards There are a lot of training resources available You can see weekly tenure announcements showing people with 30, 40, and 50 + years with the company. Where else do you find that today??

    Cons

    The industry is not for everyone. If you're going into sales, know you're going into a non retail sales environment. This is not a bad thing, if you have that understanding. The pay is worth it if you make it work!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Life Changing

    Nov 4, 2021 - Sales Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This has been a life changing experience. We are in a service industry and the attention to detail from our services are second to none. I particularly enjoy the sales side because we help families plan ahead. The families we help have the peace of mind knowing they have uplifted both a financial and emotional burden from the loved ones that are left behind when we pass. It’s literally helping someone leave one last gift of love to their family as well as planning a celebration of the legacy they left through the life they lived. So awesome.

    Cons

    There is always the pressure of doing better and quotas increasing. But who doesn’t want to be better?

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Place to Work

    Nov 11, 2021 - General Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I feel very fortunate to work with such an awesome company. As a long time employee I can honestly say that hard work and dedication is most definitely rewarded. We have unlimited support and training from all levels of management. Our culture is one that is extremely supportive of everyone. Great benefits and the opportunity to grow as much as you wish. I am a very proud and honored to work here.

    Cons

    I really have no cons. SCI is always changing to meet the needs of their employees as well as our client families.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 259 Reviews

Popular Careers with Service Corporation International Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Service Corporation International? Share Your Experiences

or