KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Sesame Communications

Is this your company?

Sesame Communications

Add a Review

Sesame Communications Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 of over 55 reviews

3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Sesame Communications CEO Frank Fite
Frank Fite
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a great place to get your start but isn't a long term viable option(in 4 reviews)

  • "Because we hands down have to best products and services in our industry(in 3 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The working environment was a bit rocky when Sesame was purchased by Internet Brands, and a lot of tough decisions were made(in 7 reviews)

  • "The work life balance is what you make it - although the place is definitely cleared out on Friday afternoons for happy hour(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    679

    219 Comments

    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome Environment to grow and learn!

      Jun 24, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working with everyone because of the laid-back atmostphere and everyone is passionate about what they do. Company culture is definitely a huge for Sesame. I've learned a lot since working here and its a great company to grow.

      Cons

      elevator is sometimes too slow.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very laid back work environment, but no room for career growth

      Aug 18, 2021 - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Very laid back - Work-life balance is great - Great culture when it comes to celebrating holidays as a group - Org is transparent about how well or bad the company is doing in terms of revenue

      Cons

      - Org is too small for Software Engineers to have career growth opportunities - Very limited on resources, so there is very little opportunity to learn new stuff - Low salary - salary is almost half of the Seattle market

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Fun place to learn sales

      Dec 4, 2020 - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun office culture Small company Great customer base

      Cons

      Sales Management has no training or experience Poor benefits Toxic work environment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Comfortably Adequate

      Jan 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed work environment with a sincere commitment to respecting the work/life divide, found everyone to be pretty honest, open, reasonable and kind. Found it to be all in all, very low stress and so if you can live within the paycheck allowed, it's the kind of job where you can skate by indefinitely just clocking in and knowing you can put in enough work to live your life outside of it comfortably. Management is approachable and friendly, company is 'flat' , and small enough that if you need something you can pretty directly communicate with the person who can help you without dealing with a lot of red tape. Annual raises can equal up to a bit above the norm. Pay for entry level jobs is pretty decent, it's a good starter job for almost anyone, and good long term job if your primary expectations are to be comfortable and not over worked.

      Cons

      The flatness of the company means there isn't really any room for growth/opportunity for movement except for when someone above you leaves, and it's the type of company where a lot of people seem more or less 'tenured' into their positions. Change is very slow, and parent company has made any hope of (getting recognized/changing positions/improving processes/hiring for new positions) a super opaque, slow, and tiresome process. Management can seem more focused on being likable than being managerial, and the general vibe seems to be that you're unhappy with something it probably can't/won't be improved in any significant way. The way things are is pretty set in stone and while it's honestly not a bad gig the only room for improvement is personal improvement and bottom line improvement, not organizational/structural/systematic improvement.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Going downhill

      Aug 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very relaxed environment. Acceptable pay for the work entailed. Good space to learn the ropes and make mistakes.

      Cons

      No structure, and seemingly no plan for the future of the company. Internet Brands owns and operates the company now; they also own DemandForce--a large competitor to Sesame. It makes for a very strange dynamic. For a twenty-year-old company, they aren't a mature, well-established brand. The writing is on the wall, and the company won't last long.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Absolutely Horrible Experience

      Aug 29, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some good people working at Sesame. Work/Life balance is good.

      Cons

      Oh lord, where to start. Management here hands down the worst manager I've ever had the misfortune to work for. Management was but hostile to me the entire time I worked there and actually went so far as to ensure it would be impossible for me to succeed. The rules were constantly being changed on me and these rules affected no one but myself. More than that, I was routinely insulted on a personal level. Members of the team routinely cheat at their jobs in order to get ahead and it goes completely unchecked. The company is spiraling the drain. They fail to innovate, they refuse to listen to feedback, and they do not practice what they preach. I am confident that management has no clue what they are doing. The commission structure is just horrible. With the exception of a few people there, I was never once made to feel as though I was part of the team at large.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible leadership and processes

      Mar 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary and commission structure are OK

      Cons

      Where to begin? The management and HR department are horrible with being transparent. They've said a lot with no action. They should fire the top management and start over with more qualified leaders. The HR department is the worst I've experienced at any company I've ever worked for.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Sesame Employee

      Aug 15, 2016 -  in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been working at Sesame Communications for about a year. Since joining the team it's been a wonderful place to work. I genuinely enjoy coming to work. Sesame is a place where everyone is friendly, creative, hard-working and reliable. Every day I witness our team working together to put the dentist and orthodontist first. Our team is great at problem solving, being innovative and kind.

      Cons

      We are owned by a parent company – Internet Brands. This in itself can have its challenges when trying to accomplish some tasks. Overall the specific people I work with down in El Segundo finish tasks in a timely manner when asked.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Account manager

      Mar 19, 2016 - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growing company, good technology

      Cons

      Hectic, disorganized at times. No clearly defined role.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Love my job

      Jan 25, 2016 - Sales Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with Sesame over 8 years and couldn't be happier. I love the environment & culture, and the leadership team is amazing. I couldn't ask for a better team to work under and learn from. They allow everyone to contribute ideas for growth and customer service. We have great benefits, both transportation & health

      Cons

      If you like to drive to work, parking is expensive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sesame Communications Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sesame Communications? Share Your Experiences

    or