Sesame Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Sesame Communications Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Sesame Communications CEO Frank Fite
Frank Fite
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a great place to get your start but isn't a long term viable option(in 4 reviews)

  • "Orca pass employee paid benefits great location(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "The working environment was a bit rocky when Sesame was purchased by Internet Brands, and a lot of tough decisions were made(in 7 reviews)

  • "The work life balance is what you make it - although the place is definitely cleared out on Friday afternoons for happy hour(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Web Production Artist at Sesame"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sesame Communications part-time

    Pros

    Nice people, great location, good product

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Sesame Communications2018-02-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Comfortably Adequate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sesame Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment with a sincere commitment to respecting the work/life divide, found everyone to be pretty honest, open, reasonable and kind. Found it to be all in all, very low stress and so if you can live within the paycheck allowed, it's the kind of job where you can skate by indefinitely just clocking in and knowing you can put in enough work to live your life outside of it comfortably. Management is approachable and friendly, company is 'flat' , and small enough that if you need something you can pretty directly communicate with the person who can help you without dealing with a lot of red tape. Annual raises can equal up to a bit above the norm. Pay for entry level jobs is pretty decent, it's a good starter job for almost anyone, and good long term job if your primary expectations are to be comfortable and not over worked.

    Cons

    The flatness of the company means there isn't really any room for growth/opportunity for movement except for when someone above you leaves, and it's the type of company where a lot of people seem more or less 'tenured' into their positions. Change is very slow, and parent company has made any hope of (getting recognized/changing positions/improving processes/hiring for new positions) a super opaque, slow, and tiresome process. Management can seem more focused on being likable than being managerial, and the general vibe seems to be that you're unhappy with something it probably can't/won't be improved in any significant way. The way things are is pretty set in stone and while it's honestly not a bad gig the only room for improvement is personal improvement and bottom line improvement, not organizational/structural/systematic improvement.

    Continue reading
    Sesame Communications2019-01-27
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sesame Communications full-time

    Pros

    Very relaxed environment. Acceptable pay for the work entailed. Good space to learn the ropes and make mistakes.

    Cons

    No structure, and seemingly no plan for the future of the company. Internet Brands owns and operates the company now; they also own DemandForce--a large competitor to Sesame. It makes for a very strange dynamic. For a twenty-year-old company, they aren't a mature, well-established brand. The writing is on the wall, and the company won't last long.

    Continue reading
    Sesame Communications2017-08-27
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Absolutely Horrible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sesame Communications full-time

    Pros

    There are some good people working at Sesame. Work/Life balance is good.

    Cons

    Oh lord, where to start. Management here hands down the worst manager I've ever had the misfortune to work for. Management was but hostile to me the entire time I worked there and actually went so far as to ensure it would be impossible for me to succeed. The rules were constantly being changed on me and these rules affected no one but myself. More than that, I was routinely insulted on a personal level. Members of the team routinely cheat at their jobs in order to get ahead and it goes completely unchecked. The company is spiraling the drain. They fail to innovate, they refuse to listen to feedback, and they do not practice what they preach. I am confident that management has no clue what they are doing. The commission structure is just horrible. With the exception of a few people there, I was never once made to feel as though I was part of the team at large.

    Continue reading
    Sesame Communications2017-08-29
  5. "Awesome Environment to grow and learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sesame Communications full-time

    Pros

    I love working with everyone because of the laid-back atmostphere and everyone is passionate about what they do. Company culture is definitely a huge for Sesame. I've learned a lot since working here and its a great company to grow.

    Cons

    elevator is sometimes too slow.

    Continue reading
    Sesame Communications2017-06-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible leadership and processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sesame Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary and commission structure are OK

    Cons

    Where to begin? The management and HR department are horrible with being transparent. They've said a lot with no action. They should fire the top management and start over with more qualified leaders. The HR department is the worst I've experienced at any company I've ever worked for.

    Continue reading
    Sesame Communications2017-03-02
  7. "Sesame Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sesame Communications

    Pros

    I've been working at Sesame Communications for about a year. Since joining the team it's been a wonderful place to work. I genuinely enjoy coming to work. Sesame is a place where everyone is friendly, creative, hard-working and reliable. Every day I witness our team working together to put the dentist and orthodontist first. Our team is great at problem solving, being innovative and kind.

    Cons

    We are owned by a parent company – Internet Brands. This in itself can have its challenges when trying to accomplish some tasks. Overall the specific people I work with down in El Segundo finish tasks in a timely manner when asked.

    Continue reading
    Sesame Communications2016-08-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sesame Communications full-time

    Pros

    Growing company, good technology

    Cons

    Hectic, disorganized at times. No clearly defined role.

    Continue reading
    Sesame Communications2016-03-20
  9. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sesame Communications full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been with Sesame over 8 years and couldn't be happier. I love the environment & culture, and the leadership team is amazing. I couldn't ask for a better team to work under and learn from. They allow everyone to contribute ideas for growth and customer service. We have great benefits, both transportation & health

    Cons

    If you like to drive to work, parking is expensive.

    Continue reading
    Sesame Communications2016-01-25
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Slowing-Moving Company that Sometimes Hires Bullies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Web Developer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sesame Communications

    Pros

    I was a web developer at Sesame. Some of my managers genuinely cared about me and addressed work issues when I brought them up. I also got a version of Linux installed on my Windows machine which greatly increased my web dev knowledge. Finally, I engaged in heavy use of documenting web dev procedures on Confluence which greatly cut down coworkers asking my questions on repetitive work processes.

    Cons

    Unfortunately Sesame hired managers who were bullies at times. NOT ALL managers were bullies and my last manager at Sesame was wonderful to work for. However, a previous manager I had was a bully and would often make jokes, at my expense or my teammates' expense, that hit below the belt. Another manager that I had to collaborate with would often not show up to meetings on a specific project I was involved in, and would affect his team. Also, as my team was involved in easier web development, compared to other teams, we didn't engage using common web dev tools or processes like using Git for backups or having daily stand-up meetings. Sometimes website files were deleted without backups and my at one point my team went one or two months without having any meetings so problems were not addressed. Finally, the web developer pay compared to other companies is very, very low!

    Continue reading
    Sesame Communications2016-01-21
Found 54 reviews