Seventeen Magazine Reviews | Glassdoor

Seventeen Magazine Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Ann Shoket
6 Ratings
  1. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Seventeen Magazine for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned the ins and outs of one the most prestigious teen magazines in the country.

    Cons

    Very centered on appearances, felt as though I was being critiqued on my clothes, hairstyle, accessories, etc. whenever I walked through the glass doors.

    Seventeen Magazine2018-02-09
  2. "Basically invisible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Seventeen Magazine

    Pros

    Great name to have on your resume.

    Cons

    No pay, no attention and basically just an errand runner.

    Advice to Management

    Make better use out of your interns.

    Seventeen Magazine2018-06-18
  3. "Model"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Model/Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Seventeen Magazine part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Because is a great aportunity to start your career,and it's very ispiring.

    Cons

    I don't know yet because it my first start.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it profeccional and confident.

    Seventeen Magazine2018-01-10
  4. "Best Company ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freelancer in New York, NY

    I worked at Seventeen Magazine part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing, fun environment. Really great leaders as well.

    Cons

    Long days, not many cons!

    Seventeen Magazine2017-11-02
  5. "The Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seventeen Magazine

    Pros

    The only way you won't grow with this company or make valuable connections is if you're not trying or you don't want to. Literally, the best working experience I've ever had.

    Cons

    Some editors don't want to see assistants grow.

    Advice to Management

    The Editor-in-Chief should be more hands on getting to know staff.

    Seventeen Magazine2017-08-15
  6. "Great experience, hope to see the magazine improve again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Features Intern 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Seventeen Magazine for less than a year

      Pros

      I felt like I had to make a post after reading some negative ones here. I know time has passed since my spring 2016 Features internship, but I loved my time at the magazine. I wasn't seen as an intern, I was seen as a helpful part of the team. I know there's been a lot of changes since I left, but I hope that the magazine can rebuild itself.

      Cons

      At times there was clear favoritism of certain interns, which wasn't always deserved. I would say open up more opportunity and be inclusive of all of the interns as a whole, especially when they're deserving of the opportunity. Internships are all about new opportunities and learning, your interns may surprise you (in a good way).

      Advice to Management

      Please please pay your interns--or at least cover their transportation/have free Caf lunch for interns. The experience is amazing as a whole but after all, we're struggling college students.

      Seventeen Magazine2017-03-10
    • "Editor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Seventeen Magazine full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      highly engaged, passionate audience, interesting work, great access to talent, and highly motivated staff.

      Cons

      too much corporate red tape, ineffectual EIC (no longer in the role), very little room for innovation

      Advice to Management

      need to cut the volume of proofs and the vague feedback and really focus on what the vision of the publication is. also need to think about how to innovate and test new ideas to get ahead of the curve.

      Seventeen Magazine2017-01-12
    • "Good internship if you want to get into the magazine industry"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Seventeen Magazine

        Pros

        Fun people to work with, freebie table, free issues, occasional free snacks

        Cons

        Sometimes there's not much to do.

        Advice to Management

        Be more organized and open with your communication.

        Seventeen Magazine2016-10-04
      • Helpful (2)

        "Web/social media internship"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Seventeen Magazine

        Pros

        Good name on resume, sometimes you could get cool projects to work on, lots of access to free programs like photoshop on your computer to play with during downtime. Good freebie table finds which were a decent perk considering the three full day internship was unpaid. Lots of free books and access to magazine archives, including folded magazines and rare issues.

        Cons

        Lots of favoritism. The only intern to get promoted to full time status was always sucking up to her managers including giving gifts and getting better work because she passed on the grunt work to others. Hard to make connections because people seem robotic and walk into work looking sad. No diversity in terms of staff. The EIC claimed to be all about "girl power" but never once greeted her own interns and is always on...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Pay your interns even if it means having less of them. Having more than 3 interns a day per department isn't necessary and the down time proves it. Connect your interns with someone in HR for advice and tips if higher ups are too busy to offer some extra guidance.

        Seventeen Magazine2016-06-15
      • "Marketing Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Internship in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Seventeen Magazine for less than a year

        Pros

        - Exposure to a large company - Involved in big department meetings - Supervisors are friendly and willing to teach - Facilities at Hearst are great with a large cafeteria situated inside the building

        Cons

        - Interns do not get to do anything except minimal labor work - In big meetings, interns are not valued (it's as if we are not even there). They do not encourage being proactive and participating in meetings.

        Advice to Management

        Be less top down management. I understand that it's a big company but lower level employees and interns do not get to have much hands on experience.

        Seventeen Magazine2016-01-05
      Found 23 reviews