Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts Reviews | Glassdoor

Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 246 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts CEO Lim Beng Chee
Lim Beng Chee
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "I recommend this company to all people gret opprtunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Afton, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Hours and pay are conducive to success. Organization is key

    Cons

    No breaks. The hours were almost too much.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Opening the new Docs was a challenge.

    Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts2017-09-07
  2. "Time Well Spent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications 

    I worked at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    *Room to take on many projects *Good overall company culture and access to management *Decent budgets to do activations

    Cons

    *Limited room for growth- tend to hit a wall *Sometimes there was lack of vision and long-term thinking

    Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts2019-04-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "sales representiative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts

      Pros

      Friendly atmosphere. Had flexible hours

      Cons

      Boring job, sent emails all day

      Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts2018-04-21
    • "good one"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts

      Pros

      family atmosphere and caring manager

      Cons

      Hr department sometimes too slow

      Advice to Management

      Hire more people

      Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts2017-07-06
    • "Wedding Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts part-time

      Pros

      good working environment and supervisors are nice

      Cons

      retention rate is too low

      Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts2017-06-08
    • "it was ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      good benefits for senior management, good hotel discounts

      Cons

      unfair compensation for extra work, no process to air grievances,

      Advice to Management

      pay your people fairly

      Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts2017-05-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Shangri-La hotels"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts

      Pros

      This hotel brand has very high standards of customer service. Employees work hard to provide consistency and attention to detail.

      Cons

      Employee training is different than what I am used to.

      Advice to Management

      Improve training to new employees and as a result, will create less problems for everybody.

      Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts2016-12-03
    • "Experience as a site employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in South China, ME
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts

      Pros

      Good benefits, generous bonuses, strong brand name on CV, fast pace at the work place, great career exposure.

      Cons

      Relatively frequent change of management and reporting structure. It may take some years to be promoted to managers or senior managers.

      Advice to Management

      Treat your site staff equally i.e. same perks as HQ staff. Appoint more competent project managers for your sites.

      Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts2016-11-19

      Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts Response

      April 19, 2017Human Resources Officer

      Thanks for the great feedback. We always welcome feedback as we care about our colleagues.

    • "Great brands and great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wright, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      One of the best Asian brands and I am proud to work here. Lots of opportunities to build, learn and upgrade my skills. Good salary and benefits.

      Cons

      Some can be traditional in thinking and not able to accept newest ideas fast enough.

      Advice to Management

      None

      Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts2016-08-03

      Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts Response

      August 31, 2016Human Resources Officer

      Thank you for being with us. Wish to have you here again.

    • "Very good company for learning and gettin experience.High pressure and over work hours if you are manager."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Manager in China, ME

        I have been working at Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Learn to handle witt emergency issues and grow up with pressure. Good Training and care about staff and guests.Good working environment. Excellent staff cafeteria

        Cons

        low pay, long hours, high pressure.Service industry

        Advice to Management

        Be more tolerant to staff and offer more professional training. Encourage staff to transfer from different countries to another ones.

        Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts2016-06-27

        Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts Response

        July 21, 2016Human Resources Associate

        Thanks for the great feedback. We're pleased to provide you a good environment to work at. Meanwhile, work life balance means a lot to us. Wish you everything well at work.

      Found 246 reviews