Share Our Strength Reviews | Glassdoor

Share Our Strength Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Share Our Strength Founder and CEO Bill Shore (no image)
Bill Shore
24 Ratings
  1. "Making a difference!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Share Our Strength

    Pros

    Great company to work for! Making a difference in the lives of young children while working with dedicated and motivated leaders!

    Cons

    If working in a satellite office, there are several daily announcements and emails that only impact those in DC.

    Share Our Strength2017-01-22
  2. "Great Nonprofit, Great Cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

    I worked at Share Our Strength full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart, thoughtful people trying to do the right thing.

    Cons

    Congressional roadblocks and unfounded stereotypes have the ability to impede meaningful work.

    Share Our Strength2017-01-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful Atmosphere for an Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Washington, DC

    I worked at Share Our Strength

    Pros

    I found the environment incredibly collaborative, open, and intellectually stimulating. Management is incredibly generous with its time and willing to take any and all suggestions, irrespective of the origin.

    Cons

    I don't have much to critique with regards to Share Our Strength's atmosphere. I have heard from veterans that there are occasionally a few breakdowns in communication, but not anything beyond what is standard amongst the majority of workplaces.

    Advice to Management

    Management is phenomenally generous with its time and very amenable to integrating you into new projects if you convey interest.

    Share Our Strength2016-09-13
  4. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Share Our Strength full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Solid leadership, great focus and management, healthy, fun yet professional work environment.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the great work!

    Share Our Strength2016-01-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Share Our Strength

    Pros

    High growth potential, well respected, fun, great benefits, important cause, excellent partnerships and brand.

    Cons

    A little removed from work happening on the ground, people can seem distant from the mission, managers can be a little inexperienced.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and promote those who have been with you longest.

    Share Our Strength2015-08-20
  6. "The best place I've worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Share Our Strength

    Pros

    Share Our Strength is a fun, laid back, informal organization. They strive for creativity and think outside the box strategies. Benefits are great, open and colorful work envirnonment

    Cons

    There's not much growth potential

    Share Our Strength2015-08-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Hospitality Captain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hospitality Captain/Taste the Nation in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Share Our Strength

    Pros

    So fun and rewarding. I love attending and working the Taste the Nation Event.

    Cons

    Too many Chiefs, bickering within the ranks.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your Indians...

    Share Our Strength2015-02-12
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Share Our Strength full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, great culture and teammates, good benefits

    Cons

    Some people are unhappy as each job bracket is put into a hierarchy of pay and importance in the organization. Those that are on the bottom can feel a bit slighted or “less” important in the organization. You can be a manager and there may be associates making more money than you because they are in different teams.

    Advice to Management

    Keep expanding benefits, they are not equally accessible to all teams (some can work from home, some can’t, etc). It would be great to see pay increases to match the job market right now

    Share Our Strength2019-12-11
  9. "Very rewarding and multifaceted job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bilingual Program Coordinator (Cooking Matters) in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Share Our Strength full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Varied role- programming in the field, office admin, event management Supportive supervisors, no micromanagement Learned a lot about cooking, nutrition and grocery shopping Saw immediate impact of work with community participants

    Cons

    Not in a position to impact change in program Hard to bring in new ideas Little room for growth in small satellite office

    Share Our Strength2019-10-16
  10. "Good place to work for a few years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Share Our Strength full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment & colleagues

    Cons

    Unclear paths to promotion

    Share Our Strength2019-07-12
Found 39 reviews