Sharp HealthCare Staff RN Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Staff RN

Sharp HealthCare Staff RN Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
96%
Recommend to a Friend
Sharp HealthCare CEO Chris Howard
Chris Howard
0 Rating
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good manager. Good co-workers.

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other hospitals.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-09-11
  2. "Great hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company tries to be the best

    Cons

    Pay should be more competitive with Kaiser or UCSD

    Advice to Management

    They should try to offer leadership classes at least the basic to some staff not just the managers , we grow when we learn , it seems they only train the managers

    Sharp HealthCare2019-07-20
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    try to offer a lot of training opportunities, especially for a new nurse

    Cons

    Doesn't offer a pension like other health care systems and pay is average or slightly below other hospitals.

    Advice to Management

    Need more nurses

    Sharp HealthCare2019-03-20
  4. "Great company with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Coronado, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Values employees, great outlook on patient and family care

    Cons

    protocols inconsistent between different sharp facilities

    Advice to Management

    none

    Sharp HealthCare2018-09-27
  5. "Staff rn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Chula Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    , great benefits , reputable hospital

    Cons

    None that I can think of , like other places , you’re lucky if you work with great people ,

    Advice to Management

    Management should really scrutinize who they hire , sometimes people don’t turn out to be who they say they are,

    Sharp HealthCare2018-06-14
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Chula Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Strong system with good leadership and vision. Great payscale and benefits

    Cons

    Large system can be difficult to recognize the individual

    Advice to Management

    None. Continue the great work

    Sharp HealthCare2018-02-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in La Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great organization and culture. Friendly!

    Cons

    Pay not as great as other organizations

    Sharp HealthCare2018-01-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very updated with regulations.

    Cons

    Too many high paid managers but not enough staff. Very high turn overs of staff due to management issues but nothing is dine about it. This is Sharp issue at almost all locations.

    Advice to Management

    Management only look at profit numbers and under pressure from higher management to make bigger profit margins. However, they overlook at simple work place improvement might initially take more time but in long term make smoother process which will add to efficiency and evetually more productivity not to mention staff retention. DO IT RIGHT AND PROFIT WILL FOLLOW.

    Sharp HealthCare2018-01-04
  9. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Chula Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support staff ratios, i.e. CNA's, RT's, phlebotomists etc.

    Cons

    pay and benefits are not as competitive as other hospital systems in area

    Sharp HealthCare2017-07-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    steady employment, emphasis on behavioral standards, fair to excellent RN-physician communication. reasonable fairness in terms of coaching and disciplining of RNs.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to advance within the system for RNs into management. They have a "lead" position" which is like a charge nurse, but even with qualifications, experience, and skills, once a nurse works as staff, it is difficult to make a jump into administration.

    Advice to Management

    Utilize direct care clinicians for change projects.

    Sharp HealthCare2017-02-27
Found 16 reviews