Sharp HealthCare "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sharp HealthCare Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Mar 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Sharp HealthCare CEO Chris Howard
Chris Howard
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, flexible hours, career growth available(in 30 reviews)

  • "Organized system, well established, good benefits(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lower pay than other San Diego hospitals(in 19 reviews)

  • "Sad 30 minute lunch, bureaucracy, upper management does not make contact with lower rank employees, hard to move up unless you are in the medical field(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company with good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rehab Aide 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Organized system, well established, good benefits

    Cons

    Hard to evoke change sometimes

    Sharp HealthCare2019-02-07
  2. "Administrative jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concierge in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, work with people who care, education reimbursement,

    Cons

    Hard to move up to supervisory position, top- down management, reviews are based on favoritism, pay is low and only increases by .50 cents at most every year, working at the hospital you can get sick.

    Advice to Management

    Kissing up to Administration is obvious to your subordinates, treat everyone equally from janitor to ceo. Reviews should be more fair.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-03-02
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead CLS in Grossmont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits. Sharp invests in its leaders with quarterly leadership development sessions.

    Cons

    ILV policy is abused by many employees. HR seems afraid to touch these people even when many people are absent outside the parameters of their Dr.s ILV. Operations suffers greatly when these people are absent and there are no replacements for them when they are out.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-02-11
  4. "It's a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, great management/support staff. I was there as a pharmacy resident, so while I was only there for 1 year, I can definitely see myself staying on board if offered a position.

    Cons

    Not much to say. My only negative experiences have been with the HR department. I never really felt like I could get a hold of my HR rep or supervisor.

    Sharp HealthCare2018-12-14
  5. "Almost The Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers in all areas of the hospital, good benefits

    Cons

    Management showed themselves to be disloyal to their staff when it came to union negotiations

    Sharp HealthCare2018-09-28
  6. "Good environment and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Surgical Coordinator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Promote within, good benefits, multiple sites

    Cons

    Cost of living pay subpar, nothing else

    Sharp HealthCare2018-08-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Seems to truly care about employees by offering flexible schedules, good benefits and healthy work environments. An emphasis on employee engagement..

    Cons

    No major cons outside of usual workplace issues. There has been high turnover in certain areas but it seems fairly isolated.

    Sharp HealthCare2018-01-30
  8. "Good Company But Management Is Causing Talent To Leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sharp provides a good benefits package. The pay is also good (you must negotiate well in the beginning and start high). Overall nice co-workers and people, including upper management, are approachable. Telecommuting options started being offered in certain departments. Sharp did address pay concerns in 2016 by giving increased raises to non-union employees and changing the pay and raise structure for nurses.

    Cons

    As others have stated, the department and management team will determine your “Sharp Experience”. High turnover was commonplace in my department. Of a team of approximately 25 people at least ten resigned, not including another 5 to 6 temps were hired and released, during my tenure. This created a need to hire temps at a rate of sometimes $90 per hour in order to complete projects. It also meant reducing hiring... standards to fill positions. Management refused to approve training requests claiming the covered subject matter did not relate to my current position, which was untrue. Working from home required a document to be filled out on top of clocking in and out each day, sending the team an email whenever you planned to be away from your desk for an extended period of time, documenting your daily hours, and another monthly document were you described your accomplishments. Team members gossiped about one another and passed around social media photos. Rules were not enforced equitably.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Create a mechanism to track attrition rates and the average tenure on a team. Management should be questioned on the numbers. Three people leaving in the span of one month should spark red flags. This has been mentioned in previous “Ask Mike” emails as well.

    Sharp HealthCare2017-12-29
  9. "PFS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Flexible start times; good benefits

    Cons

    Pay is apparently lower than competition

    Sharp HealthCare2017-11-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Work Harder not Smarter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Sharp Health Plan offers competitive pay and good benefits.

    Cons

    There is very poor training, and when you ask questions you can get different and conflicting answers from different people. Management is not particularly interested in the needs of their employees, so there are a lot of problems with the available tools. If the tools you have aren't good enough to complete the job you need to do, then the response you will consistently get is, "Then work longer hours."

    Sharp HealthCare2017-11-09
Found 24 reviews