Sharp HealthCare "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sharp HealthCare Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Sharp HealthCare CEO Chris Howard
Chris Howard
14 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lower pay than other San Diego hospitals(in 19 reviews)

  • "Sad 30 minute lunch, bureaucracy, upper management does not make contact with lower rank employees, hard to move up unless you are in the medical field(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Secretary in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Upper management can be misleading.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Sharp HealthCare2019-11-12
  2. "Good but not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Surgery Liaison in La Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tuition reimbursement, helpful team and volunteers, rewarding work.

    Cons

    Sad 30 minute lunch, bureaucracy, upper management does not make contact with lower rank employees, hard to move up unless you are in the medical field.

    Advice to Management

    Make contact with new employees and give recognition without taking credit.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-08-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "contact Center Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in San Diego, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provide a lot of leadership training

    Cons

    Departments work in silos and are out of touch at times with each others direction of plan or changes. upper management can be out of touch with staff. I had a manager that practice unethically to get desired outcome. He/She would under pay new hires based on experience to save on department budget. was really hard to get support from upper management with outlier staff.

    Advice to Management

    I can only speak to the hospital I was employed at Sharp Grossmont practice what you preach.

    Sharp HealthCare2018-11-30
  4. "Device Deployment Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Device Deployment Specialist in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Job was very easy. If you're the type of person that wants to do one thing really good, this is the place. The culture of Sharp is very friendly.

    Cons

    No room to move up in the company. Upper management favored those they knew outside of work. No cross training and therefore limited amount of professional growth.

    Advice to Management

    Improve your team by recognizing the hard working employees. Many of them are just seeking benefit compensation that is not offered to them. SOC-F 3572 Corporate Court, San Diego, CA 92123 San Diego CA, 92123

    Sharp HealthCare2017-12-18
  5. "oh, sharp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They love to hire new grads, and the care patients receive is pretty great. I almost always ask how my patients are being cared for during their stay and they rarely express a disliking of their care.

    Cons

    The pay is very low compared to other hospitals in the area. They spend millions of dollars on renting the convention center for an all staff assembly to give the impression that they care about us but it doesn't fool me. Only upper management get holiday and annual bonuses. What about the little guys?

    Sharp HealthCare2017-11-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    The Culture of Healthcare provided, the team that you work with

    Cons

    Upper Management treatment of RN staff in the recent contract negotiations in 2016. Lack of experience nurses in specialty departments, poor retention of nurses (this statement will be contested by the employer).

    Sharp HealthCare2017-02-23
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Poor management and hostile work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Auditor in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, health benefits, and salary

    Cons

    Very hostile manager who bullies the staff. Overall negative work environment due to poor management. Upper management unfortunately turns a blind eye to the high turn over and complaints in this department.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees concerns regarding bullying in the workplace. Realize when morale is low and do something about the hostile manager.

    Sharp HealthCare2017-03-05
  8. "Great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Therapist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sharp Mesa Vista as a per diem therapist is a great place to work. Flexibility, structure, great learning opportunities, clean environment

    Cons

    Would not increase pay with my change in licensure. There is some disconnect between upper management and feeling like I can speak freely.

    Sharp HealthCare2016-12-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "employment review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ophthalmic Technician in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some very good co-workers. Wonderful patients.

    Cons

    Politics, discrimination, Poor HR department, Upper management lack of knowledge

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Sharp HealthCare2016-12-21
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Sharp HealthCare is San Diego"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Comprehensive medical and dental coverage. EOE that supports work life balance Committed to delivering outstanding patient care Dedicated to patient safety Active in the San Diego community

    Cons

    Top heavy in upper management. There are a lot of CEOs, Senior VPs and VPs. Despite the adoption of LEAN and Six Sigma, innovation is slow to happen. Employee satisfaction is on the decline.

    Advice to Management

    Be open to innovation. Take the feedback on employee opinion surveys seriously. Invest in real, significant changes. Recognize that there are employees who are truly as invested in the success of Sharp HealthCare as you are.

    Sharp HealthCare2016-09-14
Found 17 reviews