Shaw Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Shaw Industries Reviews

Updated June 21, 2018
437 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Shaw Industries CEO Vance D. Bell
Vance D. Bell
252 Ratings

437 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "there is no room for advancement if you are over 25" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Bad leadership and long hours on your feet" (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "20 Year Anniversary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Trainer
    Current Employee - Corporate Trainer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Industries full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have just celebrated my 20th Anniversary with Shaw Industries. In my time with the organization I have found that Shaw values thier people, they invest in our development and provide growth opportunities. It is a large organization but the culture is more like a small family business. It's a great place to work

    Cons

    Slow to change with limited growth opportunities in current role.

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jul 10, 2017

    Congratulations on your anniversary! It means so much to hear you're happy with your experience, and we're certainly glad to have you onboard! As a trainer, your work is crucial to advancing our... More


  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Industries full-time

    Pros

    Product training pay 50% match time off

    Cons

    poor communication ageism too many chiefs

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 1, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We would like to hear more. If you would like to share your story, please reach out to Heather Canada Smith, director of HR compliance, at (706) 532-2414. Best wishes in... More

  3. "Plant Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Plant Engineer in Chickamauga, GA
    Current Employee - Plant Engineer in Chickamauga, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Industries full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Each facility offers a very diverse work environment. Due to the company being concentrated in the North Georgia area, there is a lot of opportunity to move to different locations for a diverse work experience.

    Cons

    Management tends to rotate between locations often causing instability with the general work force. This provides difficulty with making sustainable changes.

    Advice to Management

    Reward the team members that are willing to stay at locations to truly make a difference at that facility. This will promote the lasting changes needed to keep the company on the leading edge.

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 13, 2018 – Human Resources

    We truly value your feedback and acknowledge that needs are changing at Shaw, and in this rapidly changing environment, we must also think differently. We appreciate the effort you put into giving us... More


  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good environment, very good place to work.

    Cons

    Drama, sometimes too much drama.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up good work


  5. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dalton, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dalton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Industries full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great management! Easy job! Great Pay!

    Cons

    The job can be monotonous and stressful when call volume is high.

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 13, 2018 – Human Resources

    We are so glad that you enjoy your time here. Thank you for your dedication to the company.


  6. "Its a ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tennessee in Chattanooga, TN
    Current Employee - Tennessee in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Shaw Industries full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for..love the schedule

    Cons

    Pay is low..insurance is high for the amount of employees that they have

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 22, 2018 – Human Resources

    We appreciate your feedback and would really like to improve your time here at Shaw. Please contact your HR manager to provide additional feedback about your experience.


  7. "Territory Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Industries full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, great work life balance, good culture, great 401k. You dictate your schedule, not a hard or pushy sale but relationship based selling. Shaw is a brand name and reputable company.

    Cons

    You are compensated based on product category sold. The best selling category with highest margins they pay you the least. Half the time you’re competing against your counterpart for the same business.

    Advice to Management

    If you’re going to give carpet reps the same products as hard surface reps to sell commercially, how are you going to pay them more? Not a good look if you want employee retention.

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 22, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We value your transparency. We feel our culture is great too!

  8. "Almost there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing/Reception/Sales in Saint Joseph, MO
    Former Employee - Marketing/Reception/Sales in Saint Joseph, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Industries full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Under my boss at the time, I was working with the web development department, coordinating website changes and capabilities. They were always willing to look further into a new customer retention method regardless of how new.

    Cons

    While the company has an acceptable "build a location" system, the flexibility vs support of Geofencing and other online efforts hasn't caught up yet to what a new location needs. Either there needs to be more corporate assistance in local online media, or they need to allow new branches to test the water with thier own efforts including social media, custom websites, google and more.

    Advice to Management

    Learn something new every day and keep moving forward, give your followers the tools & recognition and they'll build you a kingdom

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 1, 2018 – Human Resources

    We appreciate your candid feedback. We agree that preparing our associates with the proper tools and training will certainly drive the company toward success. Good luck with your current and future... More


  9. "Salaries don’t comesurate with locations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distribution in Dalton, GA
    Current Employee - Distribution in Dalton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Industries full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Big company with growth potential, nice employee discount on floors

    Cons

    -The same salary scales are used regardless of your location. Managers working in areas with a high cost of living make way under what they do at other local companies. Shaw managers working in lower cost of living areas can live quite comfortably. It’s hard to start over and I like the career potential that I have at Shaw, but I need to consider my family finances.
    -Hours expected of salaried employees are ridiculous. I am expected to manage two shifts. My phone rings around the clock, and I regularly work 18 hour days. For that amount of stress and time away from my family, I should be able to support them comfortably. Instead, I make considerably less than others do in this industry.
    -Outdated systems. Shaw does not adequately invest in IT infrastructure. Customer satisfaction is impacted. In this day and age, it shouldn’t be so difficult for customers to know where their orders are, or for employees to manage that information.
    -Health insurance options aren’t the greatest, but few are these days.

    Advice to Management

    -Invest more in your people. Offer raises and incentives that keep up with the cost of living where people are located.
    -Grow your leadership teams at your larger facilities to adequately support employees and customers.
    -Invest in better technology, and a stronger IT department.
    -Offer better health insurance.

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review of your time at Shaw. Your constructive criticism is greatly appreciated because it gives us the opportunity to improve. We would really like to improve your time here at... More


  10. "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Territory Manager
    Former Employee - Territory Manager
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shaw Industries full-time

    Pros

    Day-to-day flexibility. Corporate admin is very supportive.

    Cons

    Management is out of touch yet extremely self important.

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 1, 2018 – Human Resources

    We highly value your feedback and aim to maintain a very supportive workforce. Good luck in your current and future endeavors!


Showing 437 of 466 reviews
Reset Filters