Shaw Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Shaw Industries Reviews

Updated August 27, 2017
36 reviews

Filter

Filter


1.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Shaw Industries CEO Vance D. Bell
Vance D. Bell
19 Ratings

36 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The people are great and the company really invests in them to make them even better (in 13 reviews)

  • Respects/encourages work-life balance (in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • Not very good job if you're not a fan of rotating 12 hour shifts (in 8 reviews)

  • The upper management group does not give the support that they preach (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Job stinks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tufter in Dalton, GA
    Current Employee - Tufter in Dalton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Industries full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    None. I can not think of anything

    Cons

    Managers don't care about t anything but their next day off

    Advice to Management

    Invest in quality people

    Shaw Industries Response

    Aug 28, 2017

    I'm sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with your experience at Shaw. I'd like to learn more about your situation to see how I can help. Please email me at your convenience. I look forward to... More


  2. "Too much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    People are great and caring, unlike management. Pay is average could be more compatible. Some shifts are better than others.

    Cons

    Where to begin. A lot of management leaving due to politics and r*** issues not properly addressed by corporate (including hourly associates). Management definitely have their favorites and good luck if your not in their crowd. They have around a 40% turnover rate. Plant manager allows other managers to make jokes about internal investigation and doesn't take much seriously. Definitely a lot of issues that need to be addressed!

    Advice to Management

    Allow growth of current employees instead oh hiring someone that doesn't know anything about the process.

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review of your time at Shaw. We appreciate your constructive criticism because it helps us to grow and continually improve. While we are pleased to know you worked alongside some... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Industries full-time

    Pros

    Access to a lot of training opportunities, Six Sigma, TPM, ISO9000 to name a few. Tuition reimbursement as well.

    Cons

    Seriously afflicted in terms of cultural, racial and gender diversity. Promotions occur on the basis of who you know and the opportunities to advance are routinely denied to those who are not in the favored few universe.

    Advice to Management

    Treat others as you wish to be treated.

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on the time you spent at Shaw. I appreciate your honesty, and please know that we take your sentiments seriously.

    Our associates are our most... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Shaw Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Industries full-time

    Pros

    Well, all I can say is that this place at least provides a paycheck.

    Cons

    Promotions based on who you know, and very poor health insurance. Management focusing too much time on numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to consider treating employees like people instead of numbers.

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the effort you put into giving us this constructive criticism because it gives us the opportunity to improve. Our associates are our greatest asset, so I'm... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "less than average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation in Dalton, GA
    Current Employee - Transportation in Dalton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Industries full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Owned by the richest man in the world , and fairly easy to get on with this company

    Cons

    The billionaire owner or his CEO makes small cuts each year saving the company lots of money but usually coming from the workers benefits. they gave us paid vacation and saved them millions but took our bonus checks and acted like they did us a favor. There is a lot of dirt under the floor at this company

    Advice to Management

    every year from the time buffet purchased this company he has made cuts, some i get and understand for profit reasons. but when you don't give a fair wage increase your good workers will leave like so many have, the 401k is sub par and we don't even have the ability to barrow from it. the new paid vacation was really just another way to steal money from the workers by paying straight time on weekend when vacation was used through the week, and it does not add up to the amount we would get if we still had the vacation check policy still in place. it is company's like this why the middle class is almost gone. no pention plan and a weak 401k match, that was better 20 years ago than it is today.

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 1, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to review Shaw Industries. While I'm disappointed to hear about your frustrations with your salary and benefits, I would like to get more information from you so that I... More


  6. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Shaw Industries full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Overtime is mandatory when you least need it

    Cons

    Favoritism, Poor Management, lack of communication from management, Work and home life is not balanced, does not follow Shaw's 3 core values of honesty, integrity, and passion.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management in Dalton need to be more involved with plants that are located outside of Dalton. Listen to your associates who actually perform the work.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer
    Former Employee - Software Developer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Industries full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are reasonable.

    Cons

    Very unorganized with no clear direction or leadership. Unchallenging and unfulfilling work. Office politics rampant.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in serious process improvement for your corporate departments.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "fell very unappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Twisting Operator in Andalusia, AL
    Current Employee - Twisting Operator in Andalusia, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Shaw Industries full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    7 days off in a row. some supervisors are ok

    Cons

    shift work, swing shift, underpaid, unappreciated, insurance is a joke! they don't listen to how the employees feel. no consistent accountability for those that do not do their jobs correctly. no copay for insurance, you have to pay deductible up front

    Advice to Management

    get everybody on the same page across the house. don't be afraid to terminate those who do not perform to Shaw's supposedly high standard. go back to making the trainees start at a lower pay and work their way up to top pay. If they start out at the top they have no initiative to give their all and improve. why should they? they already make top pay..

    Shaw Industries Response

    Jun 1, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback! Shaw truly values its associates as its greatest asset, so I'm disappointed to hear you feel under-appreciated. If you are comfortable doing so, I'd... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "I don't like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler
    Current Employee - Material Handler
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Industries full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    None whatsoever. Job is horrible I hate this place and especially the people. The machines never work and they expect us to make the best of it

    Cons

    Pay, work is physically demanding and they treat there workers like crap. Insurance sucks

    Advice to Management

    Stop being lazy


  10. Helpful (5)

    "It's who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Dalton, GA
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Dalton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Industries full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    If you know the right person(s) you CAN NOT be fired. If you thrive in a dysfunctional, political environment, you should do well.

    Cons

    Advancement at Shaw is 100% who you are buddies with. Promotions are 0% merit based. The managers are clueless, the environment is toxic and dysfunctional, and the employee disengagement is rampant. Every company has politics, but at Shaw, it is overpowering.

    If you have an Engineering degree, do yourself a favor and go elsewhere. Hard work and competence count for nothing. Eventually some clueless Department or Plant Manager will throw you under the bus to cover their ineptitude. If you happen to last more than 10 years, you will be forced out and replaced by some clueless kid out of college. That is the business model in manufacturing.

    The same managers who preach working long hours (with no extra pay) "fer the good of the kumpny", are the same people who straggle in at 8:30 and leave at 4:45 and say "I was at a meetin."

    This place does not deserve your talents. Unless you have no other options, go elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Despite the PR and shameless Facebook posts, no one is really buying the "8th best company to work for" line.


Showing 36 of 404 reviews
Reset Filters